We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$492
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Langham Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
172
314
163
66
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
314
163
66
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinchley roadhampstead theatrejubilee linetube stationprimrose hillbelsize parkcamden townquiet locationsuperior roomcooked breakfastbreakfast stafflarge roomwould stay againvery pleasant stayshower roomfamily roomfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a one night stay with 22 friends. We needed 1 disability access room and were assured we would get ine. They could not offer anything you could say met any disability criterior exceot a bathmat on request and a lift to our floor. it was a shower over an enamel bath, a toilet set into a walled recess that would not even have accomidated any large person let alone disabled. The lift has a heavy safety door as did our room so it was almost impossible to manage it without help and it's definitely not wheelchair big enough. The bathroom was long and narrow. Do not book this hotel if you have access needs. I even ticked a box on the sign in sheet asking if we needed a special help for fire evacuation and if so the staff would speak to us on booking in- nobody did.
Together with the very rude curt Asian night man who seemed to get a lot of pleasure from shouting at guests and shutting the bar at 10pm and 5pm it was an experience not to repeat!
Food was fine though there is inadequate table spaces for the demand which meant we queued for 15 minutes.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogusz T, Front Office Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lorna A,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations.

We only have one accessible room at the hotel and it is a Double room which was not available at the time of your arrival. I understand that you have made a request for an accessible room to be allocated to one of your guests, however this information does not seem to have been passed on to our Reservations department, and as a result we were not able to comply with your request. The team on duty at the time of your arrival tried to allocate your guest a room with the least amount of walking involved. Unfortunately, the room you were given was the best they could do and I am sorry that it did not meet your requirements.

I am also disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the capacity of our breakfast room. I would like to offer my apologies for having to kept you waiting and I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Unfortunately, our bar area is surrounded by bedrooms and we are not always able to provide bar service after 10:00 PM as we have in the past received complaints regarding the noise. At night, we also have very limited staff on duty and it is up to them to make the call whether they can look after a larger group and still be able to perform their duties. I am sorry that on this occasion we had to disappoint you, but it is important that we provide maximum comfort to all guests in the hotel. Sadly, at times it comes at a cost of not being able to provide all services. I hope that you understand our decision and that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bogusz T, Front Office Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel in a great location. I had an amazing time in this hotel. Very close to Swiss Cottage tube station and with many shops etc just up the road this is a lovely, traditional yet well facilitated hotel for a trip to London. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in London.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogusz T, Front Office Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Simon M,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests left the hotel happy.

We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If your understanding of a ‘Victorian style hotel’ is a place with squeaky uneven floors, uncomfortable beds, windows that do not close, shower in which the water can only be set to icy cold, or scalding hot, then this hotel may be for you.
If you are lucky to get a room right under the roof on the fourth floor, do not expect the elevator to bring you all the way to the top – it only goes to the third floor, and you will have to carry your bags up the steep long shaky steps.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Regi612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogusz T, Front Office Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Regi612,

I am very disappointed to read that we fell short during your recent visit and that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. If you would like to further elaborate on your experience, please contact me on roomsrevenue@swisscottagehotel.co.uk or by telephone on 02077222281 and I will be more than happy to assist you.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cozy hotel near the underground station. Nice location outside the city center, but it's only a short trip with the underground into the city center. Good hotel, good standard and nice atmosphere. Breakfast was nice with good selection. They serve freshly brewed coffee and tea at the table. In addition, you can choose between all types of eggs, bacon and sausages.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank chriterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogusz T, Front Office Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear chriterj,

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and that you found the neighbourhood pleasant.

We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews