We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #889 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good location in a once grand hotel. Good sized rooms with powerful shower and a bath. Clean, but in need of new carpets. The whole hotel needs a refresh, breakfast very busy with large parties. Good room rate at £84 per night

Room Tip: Dont choice a room at the back of the Hotel, to close to the DLR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,045 - 2,051 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mayzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was nice enough, and very generous in size - a little dated as many other reviews have stated but not too bad.

The bed was comfortable but our sleep was interupted by noise a lot; trains, the tv in the next room and in particular a very loud conversation between room service staff and a guest in a nearby room - it was past midnight and we could clearly hear what both parties were saying.

The worst part of the stay was definitely the food, everything was hugely over or undercooked and the beef was really chewy. We ended up leaving our food and jumping on the train to the nearby O2 arena where lots of restaurants can be found, a waste of money as our dinner was prepaid, but worth it. I had seen other reviews mentioning this but I decided to ignore it as I am not a fussy eater but this was the worst I've ever had and I've eaten a lot of cheap rubbish! Don't make the same mistake as me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked this hotel for a Christmas weekend break in London. The location was fine and as expected. However nearly every other aspect disappointed. The approach to the hotel sort of summed it up - looked the part from a distance, but rubbish and smells near the entrance, and various metal containers spoiled it. Check in was ok, but when we had a problem with the air-con (non functioning), the response was useless, with the final solution being to open the windows - 9th floor, so had to be unbolted, then awake all night with the railway outside. The whole building is worn - chipped wood paneling etc - and staff reflect the tired feel. When we responded to the 'hope you enjoyed your stay' at checkout, the response was aggressive. Breakfast was ok, but when we asked for a couple of things (tea for instance), the response was at best apathetic. Would definitely not book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptripsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hurrah !!!
At last a most comfortable hotel in London at a very good price.
I was on a coach holiday for four nights, I noticed that most guests at the hotel seemed to be part of group bookings.
The Buffet breakfast and evening meal were delicious and offered a good choice.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful - The Bar service was the only "let down" as I had to queue at the bar in order to buy a drink !!!
The Tube station and Thames Tripper (river taxi) are a short stroll from the hotel. I do not recommend using buses as they take "forever" to travel to Knightsbridge etc
My Tip: Peter The maintenance man can be called upon to open bedroom windows if it gets to warm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago, what I paid for this hotel I cant complain, hotel is very clean, and rooms were lovely, had everything in from ironing board to tea/coffee making facilities. I am reading previous reviews about people complaining and cant understand what they are on about, I don't think they were in the same hotel as me!! location is fab, I will defo stay here again !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We went to London for the weekend and decided to choose an alternative to a Travelodge. The Britannia Hotel was a pleasant surprise and better than our expectations. For the money we paid it was good value. Yes, it does need a lick of paint and an update, here and there but apart from sleeping we were hardly there. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsarahsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#119 of 1,077 in London
454 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#594 of 1,077 in London
116 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#274 of 1,077 in London
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#405 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £48 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing