We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location however a little crowded.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #897 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location however a little crowded.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We visited this hotel over the weekend just gone. It has a really good location, located a few minutes walk from the tube station. When you first go into the hotel it does look very inviting. The decoration and the reception are very well looked after and we felt welcome. The room it's self was good value for money and everything we used was in working order. The views were great actually as we could see the Thames river from our window.

The downside to the room is that we were unable to open the windows in the room. It wasn't broken, it just wasn't designed to open. If you get claustrophobic, the idea of being in a room without the ability to open the window may not be very inviting.

The food in the Indian restaurant was very nice. The waiting staff were very polite and very helpful. With our booking we got the breakfast in the morning too. This included a good variety of choices which included continental breakfast options, and also options for a full English breakfast including black pudding, sausages, and a choice of scrambled or fried eggs. There was many other options. The downside to this however is that we felt incredibly rushed. The breakfast room was very overcrowded and it did feel like we were all rushing to get to the food. They also didn't have any caffeinated coffee - just decaf.

Overall great location and service and I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzie448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    1,019
    985
    601
    611
See reviews for
452
1,305
249
1,009
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel as the location was convenient and it was the cheapest in this area at £88.
On arrival I was told there were no twins available in the non-smoking rooms. I had to stay in a smoking room, which smelt awful, all my possessions still smell. The room was shabby and dark, the view conducted of a wall and an electricity cupboard.
The bedside light didn't work, not helpful when there was no natural light. The bathroom was in desperate need of a refurb. The beds were very uncomfortable and whenever I turned over it creaked. The room was very noisy, at one point I could hear another guest coughing something up and spitting it out! The staff were ok, until the chambermaid just walked into the room in the morning, at 9am.

Overall an awful hotel, not worth the money and I couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unluckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Am writing this to help reassure people who may be doubtful of visiting after reading some reviews here.... a fair star rating would be 3+; only a need for some refurbishment prevents a true 4 * rate imho...Location is ok with the Jubilee Line just 7 minutes walk away; Food better than average for the price, with good main course buffet choices at dinner; breakfast average but plentiful. Awful tea and coffee - virtually undrinkable ! - and alcohol prices too expensive, but food a good 7/10. Facilities ( sauna and pool ) and staff service, including cleaning, also very good, polite and helpful. Lifts are efficient but can get busy at peak dining or checkout times so plan for this. Single beds in the twin room were a little too narrow for me but otherwise fine.
Spent two nights as part of a National Hols. package trip and would do it again.

Room Tip: Non smoking; 5th floor plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galleon586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyme regis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great position for visiting canary wharf,very comfortable room with great views towards the shard and tower bridge.
My only complaint was the huge queues for breakfast meant the staff struggled to look after you and therefore it took ages to queue for the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieLyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in February. Great location ideally situated for Docklands and the arena. The hotel reception staff friendly and helpful. Room itself was tired and grubby. I was on a high floor so great views and not particularly noisy.
Breakfast was a free for all. It was very busy and the staff were very rude. Quality of hot breakfast was average but good selection of cereals fruit, etc. there just did not seem to be any organization. Got fed up of waiting for cutlery after asking several times. Helped myself then got told off by a staff member! Felt a bit like school dinners.
Overall great location, but not cheap at £110 inc breakfast. Stayed in far better hotels for less.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank greecelover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night late December via a Groupon. Was upgraded to a suite free of charge. Dinner was included - there was a choice of Italian or Indian restaurants. After eating a fantastic Indian meal I was happy I had made that choice.

Used the river taxi to get to the London Eye and that was brilliant! So much better than the nasty tube/trains!

Very friendly staff make up for the fact the place is a little tired.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here whilst my husband was on business, the staff were all brilliant. They went out of their way to allow myself access to the room before check in time. We had dinner in the Indian restaurant, we used the bar, we had breakfast, and they were all very good. We enjoyed it so much we have booked again. The location is fantastic Heron quay, Canary wharf are just a few minutes walk. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey2Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#79 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#440 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Property: Britannia International Hotel
Address: 163 Marsh Wall | Docklands, London E14 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#396 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing