We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #882 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed recently at this hotel for 5 nights. I was a big concern before arrival, because the mixed reviews but we were pleseantly surprise with the excellent location, nice and spacious room and friendly staff!. the train and tube into central London are both easily accessable from the hotel. Due to problems with the air condition we had to move to an other room after 2 nights. We were up graded to a executive suite with jacuzzi. The room was large with a beautiful view of the dockland. The spa and swiming is in desperate need of a refurb. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana7072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    1,041
    1,021
    610
    633
See reviews for
470
1,338
257
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Four of us stayed at this hotel for a mini break in between Christmas and new year to go to the sales etc.
Very large hotel was very busy and the guests were a variety of ages.
Had bed, breakfast and evening meal food was plentyful and the was a large variety something for everyone.
Bar area was small but leather sofas in the foyer area.
Lacked atmosphere would have been nice to have some music in the background.
Over looks Canary Wharf and restaurant looks on to this. Was nice to see the trees with white fairy lights in them very Christmassy!!
Need to catch overground train or tube into central London but both easily accessable close to the hotel.
Rooms were warm and comfortable. Our room had a bath and a shower and our friends room had a jacuzzi bath in it (as well as a shower) !!
Tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV in room.
All in all we had a great time, so don't believe everything you read!!! If you want a posh, luxurious hotel if wonderful suroundings you need to pay upmarket London prices!!
We will be returning again this year!!

Room Tip: We were omn the 3rd floor and both our rooms had ample room and good wardrobe space with an ironing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooles168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner booked this through a voucher deal, which was actually very good - we got an overnight stay, dinner with wine, spa access and breakfast.
However, there's no way we would stay here again, even with a deal. The hotel was very 1980s in style and decor - lots of brass and mahogany, which in itself is fine but not to everyone's taste.
The first room they put us in (a standard) stank of stale cigarette smoke and was very hot - you couldn't open the windows and the air con didn't work. To be fair, they did move us to an 'executive room' (pretty much the same as standard, but perhaps a little bigger with a nicer bed!), but it was still very hot. When we enquired, apparently the air con was set to heat as it's still winter, so we were unable to change it ourselves. A maintenance man came and unbolted a window for us in the end.
The room was clean enough, although the carpet had seen better days and the bathroom door didn't shut.
The spa facilities are dreadful - very dirty and in need of serious maintenance. There was a cast iron spiral staircase to access the pool, so absolutely awful if you are unsure on your feet. There was damp in the sauna and the paint in the pool area looks disgusting and is flaking off.
The breakfast was awful and so glad we didn't pay for it!
We managed to make the best of it and still had a lovely time, although I think that was more to do with the company than where we stayed! The location is pretty good for Canary Wharf and right by the water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Woucher deal!
Upgraded to an executive double,when we arrived the hotel upgraded us to an executive suit
The only thing that was clean was the lobby hand dryers in the gents
Had a drink in the bar and all u could smell was the chlorine from the Spa
Meal was included but ate out
Would NEVER return and if I could give a negative score it would be -10

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank X123auto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here on a coach tour so of course we didn't pay the full price. I had doubts about the location, being so far from the city or West End, but in fact the location is superb. It's only a five minutes' walk to the Underground or Docklands Light Railway so there's quick and easy access to Greenwich (O2, Maritime Museum, Royal Obtservatory etc), and city or West End.
All the staff that we met were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The dining room is buffet service and the food is good with plenty of variety, (though perhaps not for veggies)
The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water.
WiFi reception was patchy, OK in our room (703) but none in the dining room (No reading at the table!). Better than most hotels where there is reception only in public areas.
Canary wharf shopping centre is two or three minutes' walk away where there area restaurants, coffee shops, and all the usual retail outlets.
We would be happy to stay here again, especially on a holiday deal!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this hotel due to location as travelling to London with my family celebrating my daughters 21st birthday. I wanted something a bit more special than a basic hotel as it was a special occasion however a cheaper budget hotel would have been better. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived despite our arrival time time being 2pm it was gone 3 when we got in. There was a bar full of people all waiting to check in so this must be normal. We lost an hour of our day which when it's your 21st birthday that's not great, we decided to take a swim but was informed it would be charged at £16 so we didn't bother. Our room was dirty and the bathroom had a ceiling grill with parts missing. The room was freezing cold so I voiced my disappointment the the hotel manager who said he would come back to me and never did so my daughters slept in their coats! I will never visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here recently, but was disappointed, location was great but my partner could not gain access to the room until I had turned up two hours later and paid up front, eventually I had to pay over the phone and email to confirm the payment. In addition, the wifi didn't work in our room, told it was too far from the router, we were told we had to pay extra for the gym and pool and the room was quite dirty, other negatives included no biscuits with the in room tea and only one small pot of milk. Not what we expect for £300 a night.

Room Tip: Lower floor might have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#76 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#102 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#485 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Property: Britannia International Hotel
Address: 163 Marsh Wall | Docklands, London E14 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing