We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #896 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spot on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Before I booked the hotel I went on trip adviser to view the comments I was a bit dubious about making the booking but I was pleasantly surprised! The staff were friendly, on arrival I asked if I could have a view of the docklands which was not a problem, the view was lovely! The rooms were very clean but dated, it could seriously do with a re-vamp but then you would pay more! Overall no problems at all! If you pay The Ritz prices then you expect the best but it's a good quality budget hotel for your money!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmabolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    1,019
    985
    601
    611
See reviews for
452
1,306
249
1,009
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed with partner. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was very good. Only downside was the room was hot, even with the air con full throttle. Overall, very impressed with the hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were kept couple of minutes at the reception because they weren't able to find our booking. When they finally got it, a guy named Abdul who was like a supervisor told us we've been upgraded to an executive room. Very nice. Except the room we got was actually a standard. One with windows that wouldn't close. They sent someone to lock them. Forever, as they wouldn't open any more. So we ended in a sauna. Very poor. I wouldn't stay at Britannia again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was surprised by some of the reviews because I rate this as my favourite place to stay in London, it is a big hotel, the lobby is impressive with a view over the docklands and the rooms are quite spacious. The air con does need looking at but I found that instead of switching to the lowest level it would start working fine at 18c.

The breakfast is nice and the staff are very friendly and the rooms are kept clean as well as constant cleaning outside.

South Quay DLR station is 300 metres up the road, take a left when you come out the hotel and it takes you straight to Bank or Canary Wharf.

Excellent value for money I would say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DibDibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this hotel as a family as our children were visiting the O2 Arena for a concert. The position was ideal as we were able to travel to and from there and also Greenwich using the water bus. Also travelled up into London to Convent Garden in the evening

Room Tip: ask for a quite room,higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

stayed over night at this hotel and wasnt impressed......the room was like a sauna - all the other reviews were spot on in that regard. and the staff couldnt even provide room service. as the room was so hot we asked for some bottles of water......rang reception.....had to go down and fetch it as there was no one available to bring it up..........poor service in my view......wont stay here again......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have just paid £210 for a night in a very run down and basic hotel. It is hard to get value for money on Canary Wharf, but don't be tempted to try the Brittania. This is not to blame the hotel staff - the ones who locked my window and tried to sort out my air-con were really helpful and polite, the check in was efficient, though the lady didn't say the price out loud (and it doesn't include breakfast) - I had to look over her shoulder to see it.
The bed was tiny, unstable and very hard. The plumbing banged and you could hear the water from next door echo up the pipes in my room. How dare they not refurbish or charge a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclinglady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#79 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#444 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Property: Britannia International Hotel
Address: 163 Marsh Wall | Docklands, London E14 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing