We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #886 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked this hotel without reading the previous reviews.It is in a great location with easy access to tube approx 7 minute walk.It does look tired,furniture and decor does need sprucing up,the breakfast was edible and the staff friendly.
The room was clean with fresh towels.
This is not a top end hotel,it is cheap and cheerful in a good location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john770176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 4,065 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I guess reading the other reviews that some people's expectations are higher than others. We had our room 714 for Saturday night, meeting friends coming from France for the weekend. A Groupon deal, it included breakfast which was something for everyone and all you could want, and well cooked & presented, a bottle of wine, leisure access and our room. On checking in the upgraded us to a very lovely room and we were more than happy. Good views over the Wharf, very comfortable bed and good bathroom with clean towels, TV and drink making facilities. Staff friendly and extremely helpful. A great stay at a good price. Thanks.

Room Tip: Not sure as we only stayed in one and had no access to others, but 714 that we were in was great wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lynnc185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Some of the reviews have really made me chuckle. One said that the hotel was too far away from the O2 arena. Maybe the poor staff should move the hotel 'a little to the left', as Basil Fawlty would say!

Anyway, let's get in the real world... This hotel cost me less than £80 for one night. It's located next to stunning Canary Wharf and is dead easy to get to.

The hotel has an impressive frontage and a plush reception. The reception staff were efficient, albeit a little wooden.

The rooms are 80s inspired, my room had a chandelier lol. Cleanliness was OK. You're not going to catch any diseases and it's not for the perfectionist lol. However, I've stayed at worse and this is adequate.

The room has a comfy bed, decent TV, good lighting and an adequate en-suite. Air con is not great, but for a budget room I was glad to have something.

This hotel is not suitable for a lengthy stay, but for a one or two night stopover absolutely fine. Don't stress, just enjoy!

Tip : best not to eat in. The restaurant is not great and deserted on the evening that I ate. Shame because the staff tried hard, the kitchen really let them down (for the first time in my life I had to add lots of salt to a restaurant curry. Need I say more...)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE.

We stayed here one night after flying in late from Greece. It was the worst hotel I have stayed in since college (20 years ago)... disgusting, inconvenient, with paper thin walls and dirty rooms. I was mad at my boyfriend but it wasn't his fault given the website is so unlawfully dishonest in its portrayal of the hotel.

The room was sick. Dirty with dirty windows and a bathroom that was stained with rust. The worst part is that we had twin beds pushed together... With individual sheets. I felt 80 years old tucked in a separate bed next to my guy. Terrible.

We layed down after a whole day of traveling from Greece to hear sounds all around from rooms and the hallway by our room. Walls so thin we could hear distinct conversations. A woman in the hall talking into a phone so I had to go tell her to go somewhere else.

No bottled water. No one to help order or hail a taxi. I could NOT wait to get out of there!!

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed from the 21st July...Had a room on the 11th floor number 30 which was spotless and lovely views over Canary Wharf. Rooms cleaned daily and always fresh clean white towels. High temperatures, so very pleased we had the air con. The staff were lovely as usual and although breakfast was chaotic, I really enjoyed the fruit. Have been to this hotel several times and always enjoy our stay. All the people we chatted too enjoyed their stay, apart from the disorganised breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PippaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was so very disappointed by this hotel. I stayed here about 12 yrs ago & I have to say, that the decor seemed the same. Very dated & very gloomy. On check in - the staff where very friendly & did change my room when I mentioned that the view I had was of a concrete city. That room was on the 9th floor, decor was dreadful. They change my room next day to the 10th floor, yes I had a better view & room was better, but still dated. I stayed for 4 nights. It was quite humid at night, so I had the air con on........big mistake!!! see pictures. The breakfast was a farce, so very badly organised & quality of food, well think you would get better at a truck stop, no kidding. None of the staff smiled, so to me that says alot! Everyone I spoke to over that 5 days, where complaining, even people in the lifts. Hotel, just appeared dirty, even simple coffee/tea splashed where over restaurant walls could have been wiped clean but wasnt & the windows in restaurant & lounge are rusty & need replacing. I have stayed in premier lodges & Ibis hotel & have found their standard of cleanliness much higher & less expensive than this supposedly 4* hotel. This was a treat to myself & part of my bucket list & what a waste of my precious time & money. I wont be staying here again :-(

Room Tip: 10th floor & above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bubs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night as we were going to a concert at the O2.

Even though you can see the O2 from the hotel it's a distance to walk and I wouldn't do it. It's also a little walk (5mins) to the DLR and slightly further to river taxi. We opted for a taxi from the concert which cost us about £20. The following morning we walked to the river taxi to take us into town which was a trek with our cases.

The hotel reception is nice. The service we received from reception was not! After 3 trips down to reception after checking in we were finally able to get into our room. On one occasion our key card being programmed to the wrong door and we walked into someone else's room, luckily they weren't in there!! We were also blamed for the key card being kept by a phone which interfered with its programming!

The rooms, we stayed in a twin, are scruffy and dated but clean. However, it was extremely hot and even though we turned the thermostat down and opened the only window that would, on a restrictor, it was quite unbearable!

Breakfast was a nightmare. All laid out in an area far too small for the amount of guests. The queue for breakfast snaked right through the resturant. The food itself was obviously mass produced with cheap ingredients.

Would I stay here again? Never!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Suzywooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,701 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#134 of 1,077 in London
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#571 of 1,077 in London
133 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands Lodge
#579 of 1,077 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#404 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £47 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing