We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Charge”
Review of Cadogan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cadogan Hotel
Ranked #656 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My sister and I returned to The Cadogan for Sunday lunch after many years absence, we have not been since the Hotel and Restaurant was refurbished (We remember when Lionel was working in the Bar).
First of all we ordered a bottle of wine in the Bar as we had arrived early. The wine was delightful and the ambience so nice.
We had the 3 course lunch which was very enjoyable and retired to the Bar Lounge to have our coffee.
The staff were attentive but not overly so which was nice.
What we did feel however, is that the way the Restaurant has been refurbished has lead to it loosing some of its 'warmth', especially if there are not many diners as on the Sunday we dined..
However the real reason I am writing is because of the 12% service charge.
I worked in the Hotel Trade for 17 years after completing a 2 year Hotel & Catering Course.
I know how important tips are and how they boost staff morale as they know the service they have given is appreciated. But I feel 12% is to much.
For a lunch that was so well priced at £28 for 3 courses, likewise the wine. It was a shock when presented with a bill for that amounted to nearly £100 beecause of it.
We always leave a generous tip - which we would have done on the Sunday we dined, but not as much as 12%.
We would have left it because we wanted to and not because it was included in the bill.

Regards

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank India010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights during the Queen's Jubilee weekend. We arrived on an overnight flight from Philadelphia, and were pleased to find our room was ready early so we could freshen up before sightseeing. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was much larger than expected. It was clean and quiet in the back of the building. I didn't feel like we were in the heart of the celebrations, as the hotel is in more of a residential area. We enjoyed that, and liked meeting locals at the nearby pub.The hotel is just a few blocks from the tube, and there are fabulous shops in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank su432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

There were 10 of us. Very nicely laid out table in a cozy room at the back of the hotel. The food was better than ok, although portions were on the dieting side! Delicious breads which padded things out a bit. Not surprisingly, a good wine list and reasonably priced. What is outstanding here is the service and the atmosphere - convivial, relaxed - just very pleasant. I didn't want to leave. I can't believe I had never been here before and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed eight days for a vacation from the US. The hotel is a little quirky as the old cage-style elevator did not always work, the rooms were small by US standards and the decor is a little worn. However, this was more than offset by the friendly and helpful staff( Joe, Richie, and Mike at the front desk and Eva, Olivia and Renalato at the bar, and others). I called the day before and asked for rooms away from the elevator and traffic noise and our beds were comfortable and we slept well. We ate one night at the restaurant and it was very nice. The couple we were with had breakfast the first morning and reported that is was a little pricy but very good. The location on Sloan Street is within walking distance of Harrods, Hyde Park,Kings Road, and lots of nice eating and drinking places. We took the front desk's advice and found the nearby Racines and The Enterprise very good.

If you are a fussbudget and want everything new and shiny, this may not be for you. The Cadogan is more of a little boutique hotel with a charming patina. We would stay again and would highly recommend The Cadogan to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSaxSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What a fantastic Hotel the Cadogan is ... we stayed here to celebrate a few very special days in London ... and what a stay!!

From the moment we were greeted in reception by Antonio, to the moment Richie hailed a cab as we left, nothing was too much effort or hassle.

The Hotel is lovely, quiet, and discreet and the quintessential English feel, we had the most amazing suite, with Champagne and gifts on arrival, we had dinner in the “Great Taste” restaurant which was lovely, especially with all the home-grown produce. Breakfast brought to the bedroom was just pure decadence.

The Hotel, staff, location and general friendliness made for a fantastic few days … we will definitely stay again.

(Richie did warn us to be careful if Chef offers Battenberg cake ... !!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We enjoyed our four nights at the Cadogan. Our primary reason for choosing it was its central location in Knightsbridge. Our Superior Double was on the third floor and the windows faced Pont Street. It was relatively quiet. We basically used the room for sleeping as we were out enjoying the sights most of the day - the king bed was actually made up of two twin mattresses, and it was quite uncomfortable attempting to sleep in the middle of the bed. The room was small and a bit tired but clean and cozy. The breakfasts were wonderful - lots of fresh fruit and cereals (I didn't have a cooked breakfast but they looked quite appetizing). We really enjoyed a drink at the bar each evening. A great place to unwind. The bartender made the best Cosmopolitans my wife has ever tasted! The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing seemed to a chore for them and they were quite knowledgeable about everything we asked about.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I booked this hotel expecting a quality, clean, maybe a bit conservative place to stay in one of London's best shopping districts (Knightsbridge, Sloane Street). I was pleasantly surprised. This is a real boutique hotel, with staff going out of their way to make your stay pleasant for us, and for our 5 and 7 year old children. Recommended!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C, check when booking in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#86 of 1,081 in London
917 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#32 of 1,081 in London
733 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,081 in London
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,081 in London
1,014 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#277 of 1,081 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadogan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadogan Hotel

Address: 75 Sloane Street, London SW1X 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Romantic Hotel in London
#377 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £245 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cadogan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadogan is the epitome of genteel English luxury. With its prestigious Knightsbridge address, The Cadogan luxury boutique hotel is perfectly located in London amongst famed designer boutiques such as Chanel, Gucci, Prada and Hermes, and is just a short stroll to Harvey Nichols and Harrods. This luxury London hotel offers 65 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites, along with a delightfully rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cadogan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadogan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing