We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a hotel in London - nice size rooms, well appointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadogan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cadogan Hotel
Ranked #599 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Reiser1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel in London - nice size rooms, well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I spent over a week in this beautiful, historic hotel. The rooms were a nice size and well appointed (I had 210, so I assume 110, 310, 410 will also be the same and I would request this room again). Nice bed and nice sheets. The dining room and bars downstairs are also beautiful and great to meet friends/colleagues.

I was a bit nervous when I saw the hallway carpeting, but beyond this the rooms are tastefully done.

The breakfast is nice and the staff always helpful.

The location is also amazing.

The only complaints-comments that I have are:
1. The towel rack is way to hot
2. The room service food is a bit disappointing

A hotel to recommend in London!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that your overall experience at the Cadogan was a positive one and I am particularly happy to read that you would recommend us to others.

The issues you mention regarding the towel rack and room service have been addressed by management. Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you plan a trip to London so that I may personally take care of your reservation.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski

Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    166
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
107
263
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

As experienced Afternoon Tea-ers we were disappointed with the Cadagon Hotel. There are far better Afternoon Teas available in London. There were far too few sandwiches for two people, and none more were forthcoming (we asked). The cakes etc were good but no better than we've experienced elsewhere.

The cost was probably less than elsewhere but much better overall value can be had elsewhere. The atmosphere isn't Afternoon Tea like either. Service is OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I was pretty close to giving this hotel a 5 star rating. We have spent 5 nights in a room on the second floor.
First up, the front staff are professional and friendly. The foyer is small with a quaint elevator. Colours are warm but could do with a little bit of vibrancy.

The room with wooden floors was warm upon arrival, clean and spacious for a London hotel at this price. Bed was comfortable, nice big windows, clean bathroom and up to date TV. Porter brought up luggage and showed us TV controls, safe, etc. There is no mini bar (we never use one anyway) but a tray with chips and choccies.

Breakfast was included and the dining room, tucked downstairs through the lounge and bar. Tastefully decorated, very good wait staff and nice continental style breakfast with added bagels, toast or porridge (super) if needed. Cooked brekkie available for extra cost, the continental was quite sufficient for us.

Perhaps the only little criticism is - no tea and coffee in the room? You can ask for it, but you have to remember to ask each day as room cleaners remove the kettle, cups and tea bags each morning!

Super location, would recommend it and will certainly stay here again... by the way, our room was very quiet, no bathroom noises, traffic muted and no noise outside from passing traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Cadogan. We value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and negative as this allows us to constantly improve on our product and service.

Your main criticism regarding the tea and coffee making facilities, both as a potential permanent fixture in the room, and the replenishment thereof, only if asked, has been discussed amongst management.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable stay and please do not hesitate to contact me so that I personally may take care of your next reservation.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just had a wonderful meal at the Cadogan with 3 friends. The environment was cosy and welcoming with friendly and attentive staff. Foodwise, I recommend the plaice which was fresh and tender. I also tasted the feta, spinach and poached egg pastry which was delicious and quite satisfying. My friends had the meat option which they said was excellent. In summary, I have no hesitations in recommending this dining experience!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Galactic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team at the Cadogan are happy to hear that your recent dining experience at ‘The Great Taste at the Cadogan’ restaurant was a memorable one.

I have forwarded your comments to Richard, our Restaurant Manager, and his entire team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We popped in for a Sunday afternoon high tea and it was absolutely delightful. We managed to get a deal that included champagne so we were very pleased. Lovely sandwiches, delicate pastries, pleasant and lovely staff, really helped to make it a special afternoon for the two of us. Walking distance from Sloane Square and Knightsbridge, great location and easy to find.

The hotel itself was immaculate. We didn't stay in the rooms but we were keen to see the bar and building that Oscar Wilde was arrested in. He mentions it in one of his prose.

The Cadogan has a sister hotel around the corner that I tried and although it was very lovely, it wasn't nearly as perfect as the Cadogan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlingink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your previous visit for Afternoon Tea at The Cadogan.

Our Executive Chef, Oliver Lesnik, has created our very own version of this special treat. It features the teas from Partridges, Royal Warrant Holders as grocers to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

The Chelsea Bun, which now features on our menu with a few Cadogan twists, was created in the 18th century at the famous Old Bun House, located not far from the Cadogan.

As you have mentioned in your feedback, Oscar Wilde, one of our most notable of guests, was a fan of the Cadogan and was arrested here in room 118 on the 6th April 1895.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Really impressed by everything about our visit (9 people) to the Cadogan Hotel in Knightsbridge this Sunday. We had a private room, champagne and a huge supply of sandwiches, scones and the most delicious cakes and pastries you could ever hope to find.

Service was friendly and attentive without being fussy or over-familiar - perfect.

Warmly recommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLWreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Cadogan I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent Afternoon Tea experience.

Our service throughout the entire hotel is one of ensuring that all guests have a personable individual service and ensuring that their visit is most memorable and we take great pride in our ever popular afternoon tea service, which has been awarded best afternoon tea in London on numerous occasions.

Over the years the tea menu has changed and I am pleased to announce that we have added a few new additions to the menu. One of these is the Chelsea Bun, created in the 18th century not far from the Cadogan, in nearby Pimlico. We are now also serving various luxurious leaf teas from Partridges, located on the nearby Kings Road.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We loved our stay, and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, from arrival to departure we were impressed by them all. My room was spacious and well set out, I really liked having a wooden floor. Such a good idea to use award winning foods in the menus, a delicious and individual concept. I would definitely recommend the hotel, to both families and business travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 846CharlesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadogan9, Front Office Manager at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. I have passed your comments to the entire team and it has brought a smile to their faces, knowing that we once again exceeded our guest’s expectations.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski

Reception Manager
mkaminski@thecadogan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#102 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#28 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#509 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#324 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadogan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadogan Hotel

Property: Cadogan Hotel
Address: 75 Sloane Street, Knightsbridge, London SW1X 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#325 Romantic Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cadogan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadogan is the epitome of genteel English luxury. With its prestigious Knightsbridge address, The Cadogan luxury boutique hotel is perfectly located in London amongst famed designer boutiques such as Chanel, Gucci, Prada and Hermes, and is just a short stroll to Harvey Nichols and Harrods. This luxury London hotel offers 65 elegantly decorated guest rooms and suites, along with a delightfully rich history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cadogan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing