We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Leinster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duke of Leinster Hotel
Ranked #701 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

due to business, i had to stay around paddigton area for a week and i've end up choosing this hotel because it was one of the best choice with a good quality/cost ratio founded while browsing booking.com -

so i've picked the Duke for my stay but i want's pleased with my move .

the service at the reception was good and i've enjoyed guides and instructions while talking to whoever was on shifts. good Personell and pretty competent.

instead i've got unlucky with the accomodation itself : infact the hotel assigned me a room at the ground floor just behind the reception which i've reckoned to be small and a bit oldish . it was indeed clean, which was the most important thing, but i always forget what it takes in uk to get a good room: money !!!

the bathroom was small and cheap : i didn't enjoy my showers and the sink was minimal and too little even to think to wash up my face. the sink was that small that even for brashing my teeth i had to get into the shower to find some room and not hurting myself while doing it.

the bed was good , firm and hard , long enough , while the curtains in the room were always closed because the view out of the window was simply awful .

I've spent around 200euros a night for a double bed room included breakfast and wifi : the signal needs to be improved while the morning breakfast was simply not good enough : the room at the basement is tiny and while it gets crowdy, becomes noisy and the entire breakarea feels small and smaller . the internationl breakfast instead is minimal and the quality was not amazing.

i hope you will get a better room the next time i show up at Dukes'.

ciao

Epi

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Epi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    192
    137
    69
    101
See reviews for
169
153
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed one night here with my 22 year old son, we were on our way to Devon and were forced to stay overnight in London. Picked this hotel as it was cheap and walking distance from both Paddington and Queensway. I would say that this hotel is not for long stays but great for the one night

Pluses
The room was clean and tidy
We were able to leave our bags in the luggage room (a cupboard) even though we had booked out, so we could have a long walk round Hyde Park, at the end of the road.
Breakfast was very adequate
Location was great
Restaurants nearby

Minus
Bathroom was amazingly small, and we were given a family room.

I woulddefinately recommend this for brief stopovers not for a holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thabelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is in a lovely area very close to Hyde Park. The sevice was exelent. Everyone was really nice and helpfull. They helped us book transportation and museums. It was our first time in London and the staff made the etire stay a success.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 370Lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights. A few blocks from Paddington Station and the Underground with access to everything. Very nice area with loads of little pubs and restaurants, steps from Kensington Park. The twin room was not what was shown in the photo when we booked but we were moved to a larger room after one night. Guest rooms are in need of some maintenance but are serviceable, clean and relatively quiet. Staff are welcoming and accommodating. Minimal bathroom amenities but lots of towels. Basic continental breakfast is included in the room rate but full English breakfast is available at no extra charge in the basement eating area or delivered to your room at no extra charge. The (small) lift is temperamental.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice clean, good value hotel. The room was a bit small but very clean. The location is pretty good a short walk from Paddington station. Breakfast is a bit chaotic but what you got was very good for a continental breakfast. It's not the Ritz but if you just want a good, basic, clean hotel in central London that offers value for money this is the place for you. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed twice in June/July 2013 for 10 then 6 nights. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are small, especially ground floor. We asked to be moved to a larger room which was done without any fuss, our luggage was evened moved for us. Breakfast was good and enough to start your day. It is in a great location,and good value for money,especially if you book well ahead. Room 404 was a good size for a couple, neat and clean, with windows you can open. A good place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, 404 and 303 were a good size for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a great time at The Duke. Very central location and beautiful neighbourhood. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but good. Clean, neat and with all the necessary facilities. Also a fan, iron and free wifi. We read reviews with complaints about the small breakfast room. This problem is more than solved with the free 'breakfast in bed' service. Great! I'd surely recommend this hotel. It's ideal for a citytrip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinier82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Brunel Hotel
#750 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#570 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#528 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Henry VIII Hotel
#800 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Leinster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Leinster Hotel

Property: Duke of Leinster Hotel
Address: 20 Leinster Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Leinster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel belongs to Crystal Hotels chain. Duke of Leinster is an elegant hotel based in Bayswater, London. It is just a short walk to Hyde Park and Bayswater Tube Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Duke of Leinster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Leinster London
Hotel Duke Of Leinster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing