We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged me twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Plaza Kensington
Ranked #642 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hotel charged me once when I made the reservation, and once again during my stay there. They have not (as of the date of writing) refunded the money.
Other than that, rooms are clean, but noisy ,very small and chilly (windows allow air to come in).
DO NOT eat at the hotel. The hotel is situated in a very good area, with very good restaurants 5 minutes away.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Awkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for Eden Plaza Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at the Eden Plaza during a recent 3 day break in the capital. The room was a tad on the small side but it was ample for a base from which to explore London. The room was very clean and the staff were really helpful and polite. The bed was positioned up against one of the walls which restricted the movement somewhat.There was no actual wardrobe just an alcove to hang our clothes. It was very handy for the tube and for shopping in Kensington and beyond. I would recommend it as a base for short sightseeing breaks but it may be too cramped for longer stays

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

On the positive side, staff were polite, room was clean (both minimum expectations) and hotel is in central location
On negative side, hotel has on 2 sides large roads with heavy traffic day and night with the noise clearly audible and distracting throughout the hotel. I paid £60 per night for a single room (no breakfast) and got a cupboard in the duncheon (=the cellar) which they for convenience call floor1. Room size was less than 2m by 4m, with en-suite bathroom no bigger than a large toilet with a shower cramped in. Under the shower (with luke-warm water at best) it was difficult to wash my hair, because my elbows didn't have sufficient space to reach up. Wash basin was the smallest I have ever seen: my clenched fist fitted in there, but my spread-out hand did not (and I am not that well endowed). Finally, at around 7am the cleaning ladies start, making so much noise that the loud traffic noise during the night felt like a bliss. If you understand eastern European languages, it might be interesting to listen to small talk between cleaning ladies while working in different rooms, but if you have been awake all night because of the traffic roar outside, you are hardly in the mood for more unnecessary noise. In otherwords: don't even think about going here

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToninNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, on arrival the staff were very helpful and welcoming and even though we arrived early they allowed us into our room. The room that we were allocated was very very small, you could hardly swing a cat in it, but the room was clean as was the bathroom. There wasn't much space to hang anything up and the wardrobe was an open space built into the wall. We only used the hotel to bunk down at night so it was idea for what we wanted and all linen and towels were changed daily, the room was modern as was the hotel! It was great value for the money we paid, we booked through booking.com and got an excellent deal £189 for 3 nights for 2 people, if I had paid there asking rate of £299 a night I wouldn't have been happy at the size of the room, but no other complaints, would definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

we spent 5 nights in this hotel from the 16th to 21st january. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to book in early for an extra £10.00. the staff also advised us on where to go and where to eat. after looking on trip advisor, we were a bit worried after seeing all the bad reviews however we didnt have any problems at all. close too all the main attractions and a short ride by tube to the theatre. the rooms are small but if you are there to see london, it doesnt matter how big the rooms are as it is somewhere to lay your head!! hotel was very clean and the maids would clean the rooms on a daily basis. didnt hear any of the traffic. we also had two more guests join us for one night and the staff were very helpful arranging another room on the same floor for them at short notice. the staff were very helpful in printing off our boarding passes and the wifi WAS free!! we would only be too happy to book with them again. All the staff were friendly as was the manager who we met on our last day. thank you for a lovely stay. we will be back!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor. it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 465guest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and have only positive things to say about the hotel. The location is very convenient to two different tube stops, and is very very close to the Natural History Museum and the Victoria & Albert Museum (both free attractions).

The staff were friendly and provided us with a map of the city and information on our arrival, and there was always someone at the front desk whenever we left or returned to the hotel.

The room was clean and modern (a bit small, but that is what we expected for the location and it didn't impact on our stay at all), and was reasonably priced when compared to other hotels in London.

In short, very good value for money accommodation, would highly recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

perfect hotel for London attractions, museums, nightlife, Gloucester road tube close by. staff very friendly, hotel very clean, , double room small , but hey we only slept in it , after being out all day and most of night. clean towels every day, hardly any noise from traffic, which i thought there would be, unless we were tired lol and didn't hear it. bed very comfy. bathroom and shower were very clean, great little gem will use this one again on future visits. Well done and a good price for 2 nights , we didn't have breakfast because we wanted to sleep in but 5 mins walk and you got all the usual eatery's

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#637 of 1,072 in London
1,301 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#402 of 1,072 in London
799 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#516 of 1,072 in London
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#826 of 1,072 in London
461 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#503 of 1,072 in London
765 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,072 in London
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Plaza Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Plaza Kensington

Address: 68-69 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #642 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £74 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Plaza Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Queens Gate, South Kensington, this newly refurbished 3 Star Deluxe Hotel offers a chic yet comfortable atmosphere in a fantastic location.Set opposite some of the most famous Museums in London - the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums, the Hotel is just moments away from the shopping of Harrods and Harvey Nichols, the Serpentine Gallery, the Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court as well as Hyde Park and Kensington Palace/Gardens. So whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, the Eden Plaza Kensington is an ideal base for your stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden Plaza Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Eden Plaza London
Hotel Eden Plaza
Eden Plaza Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing