We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Ranked #127 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed during the weekend of 16th September 2011 with my wife. The hotel is great and the location is perfect with Canary Wharf on the doorstep. The hotel is immaculate and the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. However, I was disappointed with three things:

(1) Having paid £240 per night I would have expected wi-fi to be included and not another £17 extra per day
(2) The breakfast was very bland, we had continental, japanese and even a mix and it was all very tasteless.
(3) Parking per night was £35, which is ridiculous when you can park on the streets outside the hotel for zero cost

Apart from these points I would say the hotel was room and stay was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRALAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    203
    64
    22
    8
See reviews for
180
291
40
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Excellent service and a truly brilliant restaurant. Pricey but it delivers.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed at the four seasons with work but was made to feel as though on holiday! The staff were great down to the finer touches such as check in and out, I wish this could be my next holiday stay with the family!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband, 12 year old son and I stayed here for 7 nights the first week in August. We were a bit worried that the location would be challenging, but the fact that we got two nights free and were in an executive suite for the price of a very small hotel room in central London was too good to pass up. It ended up being a good choice for us. First, I will say that it turned out to be a warm and sunny week in London so that made it great being right on the Thames and a bit removed from the craziness of central London in the summer.

We took hotel organized car service from Heathrow. It is a long ride and expensive, but worth it. And actually a nice drive right through London so you see all the sights along the way.

Our room was ready when we got there about 8 a.m. which was fantastic. A roll away bed was set up in the living room area of the suite for our son. Later in the day they delivered snacks for us, popcorn and soda for our son and fruit and sparking water for us.
We thought the rooms were nice, definitely not as plush as other Four Seasons but I thought they were well done, enough closet and drawer space, great to have an extra half bath, and the views from the window of the Thames were amazing. The business center in the hotel was great, open 24 hours and I used it every day to buy tickets online for theater or attractions which really helped us avoid long lines. Also in the suites internet is complimentary, which was a nice perk.

Everyone was super friendly at the hotel. The concierge was happy to recommend hotels in the area, and give us any other information we needed. The gym and pool near the hotel were beautiful, though we never swam in the pool because the hours for children are 9 to 11 and we were usually out sightseeing at the time.

We only got room service once for breakfast. Being American everything was very expensive in London so we tried to save money on breakfast by purchasing items at the M&S store in the tube station (smoothies, fruit, croissants and yogurt) and keep it in the fridge in the room. There is also a very nice cafe right next to the hotel where you can get delicious coffee, pastries if we felt like it. We did eat at several restaurants near the hotel. There are a few right down the steps by the Thames and as the weather was beautiful it was fun to sit outside there as the sun was setting. We enjoyed the Chinese restaurant, Royal China as well as Zizzi's, an Italian/pizza place. We also heard that Gaucho is supposed to be very good. There are also restaurants by the Canary Wharf tube stop. We particularly liked Jamie Oliver's Italian Kitchen and we ate at Pizza Express a couple of times. (Remember we had a 12 year old with us). There is also a lot of shopping around the tube stop. Anything you could want to buy is right there.

Before we arrived we had planned to use the Thames Clipper in front of the hotel as our main mode of transport into central London, but actually ended up using the tube a lot more. The ferry was comfy and not crowded, but we really only used it if we were going to things right along the river, such as the Tower of London or Tate Modern. Otherwise we found it easier to walk to the tube. To be honest the tube station is a bit of a walk, probably a good ten minutes and it can be extremely crowded during rush hour, but we didn't like the idea of taking the boat and then changing to the tube. It was just simpler to take the tube exactly where we needed to go. Also we bought travel cards, which were very cost effective. Again, this was a relatively easy walk with a 12 year old, and because it wasn't raining. Also Canary Wharf is a beautiful area and the walk is pleasant. We enjoyed seeing all the Londoners instead of tons of tourists as in central London. I know that some reviewers said they didn't like walking back to the hotel late at night because it is relatively quiet once work hours are over, but we went to the theater three times and took the tube home each evening and always felt completely safe and comfortable walking anywhere in the area.

One of our favorite things to do was letting my son chill out in the room in the late afternoon while my husband and I would go to the pub, The Cat and the Canary which was up by the Docklands stop along the wharf. Speaking of the Docklands train....we only used it once and just because we wanted to experience it. We didn't find it was nearly as convenient for the places were ere going as the Clipper or the tube.

All in all I would say don't hesitate to stay here when you are in London. The hotel is beautiful, the service is wonderful, the views are amazing, the area is new and exciting, there are plenty of restaurants, and it is easy to get into central London. It is well worth the extra distance for the comfort and space you get here.

Room Tip: Suites are the best rooms with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beladublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast City, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We would certainly go back and loved the staff's attention - not overwhelming, but it met all our needs. The fitness facilities are excellent and the beds and baths luxurious.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyajooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Only gripe was that we tried to upgrade our room upon arrival only to be told that they had prepared something special for us in our room so we decided to stay with what we had ordered. it turned out the something special was 3 plums on a little plate!? a tad disappointing but the room was lovely non the less! it was actually quite amusing!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenHasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hotel is really excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are perfect, comfortable and large. Lovely bathroom. Everything you need to relax and enjoy. Breakfast was served to you in the restaurant - most unusual these days in 4* hotels where it is generally buffet style. The breakfast was large and really good. We took Sunday brunch which surely is a must for all who stay on a Sunday. The hotel is near the Thames Clipper stop so London Central is a delightful and easy/cheap way to get to London and back in comfort and style.
This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. We will go back many, many times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#80 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel

Property: Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Address: Canary Wharf 46 Westferry Circus | Canary Wharf, London E14 8RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#94 Family Hotel in London
#95 Business Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#109 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Canary Wharf
Four Seasons Canary Wharf
Four Seasons London
London Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing