We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #503 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Wow we really did not have a good stay here. As we walked in the hotel we as the men at the bagde check in a questin and thier responce was a grunt. I mean i do not speak grunt..... paying 15 - 20 pounds for in room internet is a total rip off. Also a very dodgy tv struggled with the remote. Not worth the money at all or the 15 pound per person breakfeast...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

I was devastated to read your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us but i would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. Please accept my sincere apologies for the service you received and the way which you were treated on entering the hotel. This is unacceptable and I have spoken to our department heads to ensure that all team members are fully trained and that this does not happen again.

With regards to the internet, there are various ways of using the internet at our hotel. Not only do we have internet in our guest rooms, which is charged at £14.99 for 24 hours, we also have computers in the Business Centre and the bar. There are of course also computers in the Executive Lounge which provide free internet. I wonder whether you are a HHonors member? If not, then I would thoroughly recommend signing up to the scheme. It is completely free to join and you gain points with all stays at any Hilton brand hotel. The more points you earn, the more benefits you get. Once at Gold status, this automatically entitles you to complimentary internet access.

Perhaps when you next come and stay with us, one of our receptionists could assist you in enrolling which they will be more than happy to do. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hilton London Kensington in the future.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    1,668
    1,002
    365
    197
See reviews for
639
1,479
321
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for one night.
I requested for a quiet room and was given one on the 7th floor. It was at the back of the hotel so extremely quiet... so that was good.
The room was quite small; I suppose most rooms are. The bathroom was clean but could have been cleaner, i.e. sparkling.
When we booked on the list of facilities was 'high speed internet access; I later was told it was an extra payment. This is not specified anywhere before booking. The fridge was locked.
The breakfast was great. Even though it was similar to most hotel breakfasts, eggs are freshly cooked the way you want them and the waiters look after you well.
The are is good. There is shopping, cinema and quite a number of restaurants in the vicinity.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for quiet because it is on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvyDaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing a review on our hotel and providing feedback on your recent stay. I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the breakfast and the team treating you well. I have shared your comments with the whole team here and they too were pleased that you had a good stay.

I very much hope that you come and stay with us here at Hilton London Kensington very soon.

With best wishes,


Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We has just spent an amazing weekend with my husband in this hotel. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and got a super and warm service from whole hotel personnel. This kind of unique service is very har to find in similar big hotel chains. Hotel is having superb location next to Westfield shopping center and only couple minutes to underground.
Must for us to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

I was absolutely thrilled to read your TripAdvisor review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am very grateful for you taking the time to share your experience with us and I have shared your wonderful feedback with the entire team. They were all as pleased as I was that your special weekend was made even more so because of the service you received.

I wish you both many congratulations on your wedding anniversary and we are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington soon!

Kind regards,


Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

hardly any difference between standard room and executive room. Same size, higher floor, some extras but much more expensive. Nice place to stay, cleaning basically okay but bit sloppy on changing towels, soaps etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

I am most grateful for you taking the time to write a review on Hilton London Kensington. I was pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us, however I must apologise for the experience you had with regards to replenishment of the towels in your room. I have spoken with the Executive Housekeeper who has carried out further training within the department to ensure that no other guests are inconvenienced.

I hope that you choose to come and stay with us again in our great location and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a good hotel; rooms are on the smaller side but comfortable enough. The rooms were quiet and clean. I ate at the restaurant and had a traditional meat pie which was excellent! The concierge staff were very friendly and there are umbrellas you can borrow on rainy days. The hotel is 5 mins from Sherperds Bush Tube Station and the Westfield shopping centre, where there is plenty of shopping and restaurants to choose from. Good place to stay!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteshell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel and your recent stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed one of our excellent pies! I have shared your very kind comments with the whole team here and they too were pleased to hear of your satisfaction.

We all very much hope to see you again at Hilton London Kensington in the near future.


Kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I had a decent room on the seventh floor. the room was definitely not large, the bathroom the same. but they were both serviceable for the 4 nights I was there. breakfast was good but rather frantic with service staff rather overworked and not attentive but the food offerings were good and lots of it and fine quality. Internet was good this visit.The housekeeping staff had a sudden change and the new person in charge of the floor seemed to forget I had asked to be cleaned at 9am and was still not touched at 6pm. But she did confide rather frantically that it was her first day. I talked with the floor manager and was offered a free bottle of water and the access code to the internet at the bar for one hour as I waited for the room to be serviced. the hotel is very well located for my work so I stay there and appreciate the nice people who work there. However I think the hotel would do well with a total renovation.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

I am most grateful for you taking the time to provide your invaluable feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was devastated to learn of the difficulties you encountered with regards to housekeeping not servicing your room. I have spoken to the senior management in the housekeeping department and can assure you that this is an isolated incident. We have individual supervisors assigned to each floor to ensure the efficiency and quality of servicing of the rooms, but clearly failed you on this occasion. I can only apologise for this and please rest assured that this matter has been dealt with and the procedures have been reviewed. I have also spoken with the Food and Beverage Manager with regards to the service at breakfast who has assured me that retraining is currently underway as she has read your review and was most disappointed with its contents.

As a frequent guest, I am sure that you will agree that this does not reflect the usual high standard of service which we provide. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when we can prove to you that we provide a first class service.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed on at least five separate occasions over the past three years. The hotel is located in a great neighbourhood (Holland Park / gardens just a short walk) and is a five minute walk from the Holland Park tube station on the central line. Buses to Oxford Circus at the door. Priced reasonably for a Hilton, rooms small but clean and comfortable. Great range of shops including small supermarket, a local pub, patisseries and restaurants. Plenty of options so I rarely eat or drink in the fully priced hotel bar or restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Holland Park Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your review regarding your various stays here and that you chose to return to our hotel! I am most grateful for you taking the time to provide useful information with regards to our location and I am sure that readers will find it very helpful when they come and stay at our hotel.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington once again for another satisfactory stay.

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#425 of 1,069 in London
9,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing