We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RJ65213
Nantwich, United Kingdom

It can feel like you're being 'processed'

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2013
Nothing wrong with the hotel and, following a small disagreement with the receptionist about what was/wasn't included in my rate (there was an error on their system, but I had to force the point), I was checked in.

However, it just feels like one of those places where people continually rotate (probably very good for a hotel's P&L), a bit like an airport terminal, and I think that's what I dislike about it.

Otherwise, location is ok, rooms are ok, food was good (room service on the pricier side) and breakfast was very good.

I've stayed here more than once, but only based on price as opposed to choice. Don't rule it out, but consider others if within budget.
Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review
Responded 13 Feb 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt you did not receive the service to which you deserved and please accept my sincere apologies.

I have spoken with the Front of House Manager to ensure that further training is commenced as clearly, given your recent check in experience, it is necessary.

I do hope that you continue to choose Hilton London Kensington as a place to stay when in London and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£255
  • Expedia.com
    £296
  • Vio.com
    £191
  • Hotels.com
    £296
1.6 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£200
  • Priceline
    £188
  • Vio.com
    £167
  • Expedia.com
    £234
1.6 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£160
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
4.4 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Bar/Lounge
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
£177
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
6.0 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
£190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £185
  • Skyscanner.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
    £158
4.0 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£204
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £204
  • Canopy by Hilton
    £187
  • Hotels.com
    £204
6.0 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£137
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £137
  • Expedia.com
    £152
  • Hotels.com
    £151
3.2 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£150
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
9.1 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£253
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    £210
  • travelup.com
    £259
  • Vio.com
    £211
5.6 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Restaurant
£206
  • Priceline
    £137
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Vio.com
    £137
4.0 miles from Hilton London Kensington
Free Wifi
View more hotels in London
Reviews (5,835)
Filter reviews
5,835 results
Traveller rating
1,314
2,125
1,398
595
403
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,314
2,125
1,398
595
403
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holland park westfield shopping centre shepherds bush the executive lounge central line notting hill tube station bus stop an upgrade twin room west end kensington concierge olympia heathrow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,085 - 4,090 of 5,835 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

After visiting family in Glasgow this holiday season, my husband and I stayed in London for a few days to do some sightseeing. After looking around at a number of hotels, making reservations, then cancelling them, we selected the Hilton London Kensington.

The price was great for the season, about $120.00 dollars a night and with my Hilton Honors, we were able to get a room upgrade to a king size bed, free internet and access to the executive lounge for free breakfast, tea and evening drinks. The staff also left a bottle of wine in our room each evening. This was a great touch as we had come over to celebrate our recent marriage, having a Ceilidh in Glasgow just a few nights before.

Another huge plus is that Hilton London Kensington is just across the street from Sheppard's Bush Underground/Overground stations. This was the reason we had changed our reservations originally as hotels really don't give you a good idea where they are in regards to public transit. Staying at the Keningston and our Oyster pass, we were to short subway rides away from Trafalgar Square. It was fantastic.

The only suggestion I would make is that they need to upgrade their wireless network and get a pool. :)

Room tip: Across the street from Sheppard's Bush Underground/Over ground station and Westfield Mall.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

I was absolutely thrilled to read your review on our hotel and am delighted that you had such an excellent stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

The entire team hear and heard of your satisfaction and we all very much hope that you will choose to come and at Hilton London Kensington next time you are in London!

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very convenient for Shepherd's Bush tube station and Westfield shopping complex. Typical anonymous hotel. Check-in pretty appalling with receptionist unable to offer suggestions for the problem encountered and pretty unhelpful and unfriendly on the whole.
Room was fine - small but clean. Bed comfortable. Bathroom small but water reasonably hot. Mini bar well-stocked but, as always, very expensive - and, be warned, if you pick up an item you pay for it.
Surprised that no free wifi in guest rooms - you have to pick up connection in the lobby.
Staff (other than initial receptionist) were friendly enough.
Initial experience of booking in probably coloured this experience. As far as hotels go,it was fine.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with invaluable feedback on your recent stay. Whilst I was pleased that you had a pleasant stay, I was horrified to learn that you did not feel you received a warm welcome. I have spoken with the Front of House Manager to ensure that the necessary retraining is conducted within the department. We pride ourselves on living the Hilton Values in ensuring that every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and on this occasion, we did not deliver this service. Please accept my sincere apologies, but rest assured we are doing everything we can to ensure no other guest feels the way you did in the future.

I do hope that you will come back to Hilton London Kensington in the future and it will be evident that the experience you had with us is not reflective of the high standard of service we provide our guests.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Fantastic hotel located in Kensington London. 5 mins walk from Holland Park Underground.
We arrived at the hotel at about 4pm and checked in quickly. As this was the first Hilton we had stayed at we were asked if we wanted to become loyalty club members which we agreed to. This had good benefits including a paper delivered to the room each morning. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful. The receptionist who checked us in was a trainee but she was excellent. We walked into Oxford Circus one day from the hotel walking through Kensington Park and onto Hyde Park. There are a number of shops en route where you can pick up some breakfast. You can also get the 94 bus into Piccadilly Circus from directly outside the hotel!
Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel more! Excellent hotel and facilities, staff and location.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

I was absolutely thrilled to learn that you had an excellent stay with us here at Hilton London Kensington! Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for sharing some tips on where to go and how to get there – I am sure this will be most useful to those who are coming to stay with us!

Once again, many thanks for posting a review and we all very much look forward to having you back!

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of days between Xmas and New Year. Our room was 1093 on the first floor.

The hotels is perfect located. Only a 4 min walk to Sheperds Bush Station and a 6 to 7 minute walk from Holland Park Station. If you're not familiar with London/the area, it's much easier to find from Holland Park Station than Shepards Bush (you just walk straight down the road).

The Westfield's shopping centre is only a short walk away, which has millions of great shops and surprisingly good restaurants (not only basic chain ones).

We tried the lunch menu in the cafe there and the food was good and the service was also very good. We didn't bother with the breakfast (approx £17) as there is Giraffe restaurant and 2 cafes which all provide breakfast at very reasonable costs (cafes approx £6 pp and £8.25 for brunch at Giraffe). All 3 are less than a 5 min walk away on Holland Park Road.

The room was nicely decorated and had all the modern things you'd expect. There is a variety free tea, coffee and shortbread biscuits which is nice (love shortbread!)

The service was all very good. When we arrived in our rooms receiption called us to make sure everything was ok and generally everyone was very helpful throughout our stay.

The only things I wasn't so keen on: -

In the cafe in the hotel, they automatically apply a 10% tip to your bill. This, to me, is distasteful. It's like asking for a present. That said, I did pay the tip without questioning it as the service was good.

Internet access is a whopping £15 a day from your room. This is way too high and there is no way that the hotel pays anything near these cost to provide this service. Having internet access in your room is quite important to me, so this one was a bit of a downer. On the flip side, there are 3 computers in the receiption area that you can use for free to access the internet. The only problem is, these computers are rarely free and are often used by children staying in the hotel. If you have a Hilton membership card the internet in the room is free.

The size of our room was very small. There was almost no gap between the end of our bed and the wall. If you are overweight there is no way you'd be able to walk between the gap. The bed was also very small. You can just about have 2 people sleeping on it, but there's not much room left. Again if you were very overweight this bed would be too small. Neither my partner or I are large, so it was fine for us. The bed was, however, very comfy. I suppose with space in London being a premium, it's harder to provide the medium size/larger rooms?!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WonderWahine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,
I was pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and I appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. Your feedback on our location will no doubt come in very handy for guests who are staying with us and I am delighted that you enjoyed all that our wonderful area had to offer.

I very much hope to see you and your partner back at Hilton London Kensington in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel and can confirm that the service and staff attitudes were excellent. We brought our three grandchildren into the hotel with push chairs etc...they made us welcome and were very good with the young children. I thank them for their patience.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I was delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us!

We all very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hilton London Kensington in the future.

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews