We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #470 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed one night at the hotel, so that I could attend a gig at the O2 Shepherds Bush. I booked and paid for a Single Room in advance through an online hotel website, and I was aware that the place has received mixed reviews on here. But the excellent location close to the venue and to Shepherd's Bush tube station were the deciding factor.

Well, I can't say that I have any real complaints. Check in was fast and courteous, and the gentleman on duty assigned me a single room with a walk-in large shower (no tub), looking out onto a side street, which was just what I wanted.

The room was not huge - but it is a single, and has a large double bed, which inevitably takes up a lot of space. Nevertheless, it left room for a desk and a small chair and table, and enough room to move around. It was considerably larger than some other single rooms I have stayed in, both here and abroad, usually for longer than one night, so I found it perfectly comfortable.

Cleanliness was of a good standard, and there were plenty of towels and a good selection of toiletries. (In case you are curious, they supply shower gel, facial soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion). Water in the shower was of a good pressure and easily temperature controllable.

The room was equipped with a mini-car, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, TV, alarm clock/MP3 speaker, small safe, and a kettle/teamaking items. I only used the latter three, and had no problems with any - there was plenty of tea and coffee and a decent selection of free-to-view TV channels..

The bed was extremely comfortable, and as far as I could tell, the air conditioning worked just fine (I didn't need to do much with it since the temperature outdoors wasn't extreme). The air conditioning WAS a little noisy, but I didn't have it on during the night so that wasn't a problem for me.

The hotel itself was quite busy during my stay as it seemed there was some kind of black-tie event going on downstairs. Nevertheless, all the staff I encountered were polite and helpful, and the concierge in particular gave me clear directions to the O2 on request. Check out the next morning was equally efficient.

I did not order breakfast, and nor did I use the spa/leisure facilities..

If I had any complaints at all, it would be that given the cost of the rooms, having to pay an extra £15 per day for in-room Internet access seems excessive. In the modern age, This is a problem in hotels throughout the UK (even in Japan I had free LAN connections) and needs to be addressed by customer pressure - there's really no excuse for such high prices now - I'm sure it's cheaper to provide than the gym or sauna (neither of which I used but still paid for).

Additionally I would have appreciated at least a bottle of free water in the room as well as the tea and coffee. Again, for the cost of the room I don't think that would be unreasonable, and I have had that provided elsewhere.

In general however, I'd stay there again and certainly recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay while attending a gig or shopping at the Westfield.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking a side street if you want a quieter night or intend to open a window and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingMobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear KingMobUK,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on our hotel. I was thrilled to learn that you had a great stay with us and am most grateful for you sharing such detailed feedback with TripAdvisor.

I have shared your feedback with the whole team here and it goes without saying that they were as delighted as I was to hear of your satisfaction. We very much look forward to having the pleasure for welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    1,572
    936
    332
    183
See reviews for
588
1,371
308
985
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is tired, the room that I stayed in was small and tired, TV reception was poor, air con not very effective. Leisure/gym facilities very old, not much to use and a very small room in the basement Overall not very good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to this hotel a few times. The location is great, walking distance to both High Street Kensington and Hammersmith.

Breakfast is good and the restaurant can't get a tad too busy in the morning. The rooms are refurbished and new, but they are quite small.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Harsha W,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had another great stay with us and that you are one of our loyal returning guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband is a Diamond Member but please don't let that fool you into believing that always makes a difference on how he is treated at a Hilton property, cause rest assured at times it does not matter. We have been staying at this property for YEARS!!! The location is perfect!!! It has multiple tube stations very close by and the restaurants are plentiful close by as is the shopping and the park. This truly is a perfect place to stay for convenience if nothing else.

We do try on occasion to try other Hilton properties in town just to see other parts of town and to see if possibly we might like another hotel and their staff and rooms any better but we always return to the Kensington. The other hotels do not have staff that are as kind and helpful to be quite honest. The Kensington has TOP KNOTCH staff!! You can always rely on their concierge that if you ask them to get a reservation it is done. (you won't show up to a restaurant telling you a reservation was never made....yes this recently happened at another hotel). You can always rely on the Kensington staff to accommodate you in any way possible if it is within their reach! Leah the Supervisor at the front desk is a delightful and wonderful young lady. Please look for her if you find you have any issues because this woman is definitely of Hilton quality!!! (to be honest, all of the front desk staff is Hilton quality). Leah is just who I have worked with most recently and seem to have worked with the last couple of visits. Tim is our Concierge that we have worked the most with in the past and he is always SPOT ON in his recommendations. We haven't seen him this trip yet but the other staff at the desk are just as efficient.

Moving on to the Maid staff: They are polite, they smile and they do a SPECTACULAR job on your room!! Margaret who is the Housekeeper Supervisor jumps right on anything you ask of her and follows through on everything!! I am not sure I have seen anyone in her position quite so efficient!!! Her smile and gentleness just brightens your day!!

The Executive Lounge is quiet and well stocked and nice. The Bar could use more comfortable chairs and couches to be honest but the staff is always polite and kind......sometimes a bit slow. The young man is my FAVORITE....he's the most attentive and does it with a smile on his face.

The rooms we always get are quite roomy. I know some of the rooms are smaller but trust me, even their smaller rooms are not the smallest I've seen in Europe!!! Some hotel rooms I've stayed in Europe you were lucky to get a suitcase in. This hotels smallest rooms aren't that bad....trust me!!

From what I'm told they are in the process of changing out all the mattresses and are close to being done!! The rooms are updated and are nice! We've tried so many hotels in London and other than the really high end hotels that we like, this is our home away from home we have decided......we have decided enough already of trying other hotels just to see what is out there.

Room Tip: 1st floor is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a kind review on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to learn that you and your husband had a fantastic stay with us!

Here at Hilton London Kensington, we strive to abide by the Hilton values which is to ensure that each and every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. I am delighted that this was most apparent during your stay with us and that we met and exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you so very much for your loyalty and feedback. I have shared your comments with the whole team, with special recognition going to the individual team members mentioned for the first class service they continue to deliver. We all look forward to welcoming you both back to our hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked this hotel due to the central location, which was ideal, the room was small and very cramped, but adequate for what we needed. Check in was very slow, long queue and on 1 receptionist on duty, thus a long wait. The concierge was great, very helpful and willing to offer good advice when needed.
The breakfast was good, a wide variety of food and plenty of it, however surely there is some form of dress code, on the second morning two women appeared for breakfast wearing onesies and slippers!!! I thought room service was available for those who are too lazy to get dressed! This is a step to far and several other diners appeared uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_byrnes1, Director of Operations at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Joan 1717,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at the Hilton London Kensington on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the service received from the hotel and my team and I am sorry this was marred partly be some guests who you felt were underdressed for breakfast.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is well located for business or leisure visit, friendly staff and helpful concierge service, easy access to underground, and shopping next to one of the largest shopping malls, great restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank traveldirector8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear traveldirector8,

I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us recently and am most grateful for your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at Hilton London Kensington in the future.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a regular basis for over a year and have never had a bad stay. The staff are extremelly helpful, the rooms are more than adequate, the breakfasts are exceptional.The location is fantastic for Westfield, overland rail, underground and buses into Central London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear K O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and that the team treated you well.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Olympia
#634 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#585 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton London Kensington is located close to a lot of London event venues and some great shopping too. Only about a 7-minute walk from Holland Park underground station and one of the main central tube lines, Hilton London Kensington is surrounded by places to eat, drink, shop, and watch bands. There is always comedy or music at the Hammersmith Apollo - a simple walk away, or sporting events at Wembley stadium - a short train ride away. And with the modern, well-stocked Westfield shopping center located just across the road, when you stay at Hilton London Kensington you can shop all day. Whatever you chose to do in your spare time, the hotel itself is bright and airy. All the rooms have an LCD flat screen TV and a mini bar. If you don’t want a night in, relaxing in your comfortable room and don’t want to venture too far either; choose to dine in the romantic West Eleven restaurant after making the most of the 24-hour gym and the relaxing sauna and steam room. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing