We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold/Diamond members:Avoid this hotel if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #501 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gold/Diamond members:Avoid this hotel if you can”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you are gold or Diamond VIP with the Hilton Honors Program avoid this hotel. Over the past few years I have stayed at this Hilton properties many times but in recent visits I have noticed significant deterioration on usual Hilton service. At this point, this property ranks at the very bottom especially when it comes to service, courtesy, and amenities and looking after the loyal members of the Hilton. They consider giving you free wifi is all you get as a gold member. No upgrade, etc.
In my last visit, the room was not very clean, broken light and chair, and food selection at restaurant is very limited. For sure this is my last stay here and if you are expecting to benefit from your elite statues, then you are in a wrong place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    1,640
    985
    361
    195
See reviews for
623
1,456
318
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Service at this hotel was great. I was very jet lagged and working long hours during the time I stayed at this hotel (4 nights) so I made a mistake when I got my invoice while checking out. It didn't have the right address that would allow me to get reimbursement from my company! So I called on my return trip a week later and the young lady who took my call was very, very kind about it, and told me to pick up the reprinted new invoice from concierge. I had to wait a couple days before I could go pick it up, yet the correctly updated invoice was with concierge in a safe drawer, as promised! The concierge also called me a taxi service to the airport, and after I paid at the desk, took care to tell me to not accept any demands for 'extras' from the driver, in case he asked (He did not). Thank you so much for making my business trip easier for me.

The room I had in this hotel was very small so if you're planning to share, ask about room size first. I had the standard with a queen bed. It was also clean and tidy and well maintained, with good quality furniture. Breakfast was good, and the service staff at the restaurant excellent.

The location is great. The hotel is maybe a 5 minute walk to Westfield Mall, which has lots of good food options, good shopping (high and low end plus supermarket) and opens till late for England (10 p.m.). Shepherd's Bush station is right next to that, with the Central line straight into the City. The area felt safe enough for a woman to walk around alone at night to and from the Tube, and there were always at least two taxis at the cabstand.

I would definitely stay here again if I return to England for business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seoulite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our first time visiting London. We arrived at Heathrow and took the Heathrow express to paddington, then a taxi from there to the hotel. I believe it was about 21 pounds per person for the train and 12 pounds for the taxi ride. Since we had never been here before that was easy and quick but next time we'd take the underground because it's cheaper.

The hotel is right off the central line at the shepherds bush station. The first night when coming back to the hotel from the station was confusing but that was because we didn't leave take that station during the day. There is the Westfield mall which has a lot of restaurants and shopping. It is a little pricey but there are also fast food places nearby as well. We saw subway, Starbucks, mcdonalds.

We are hilton gold members are got upgraded from the standard room to a club room. We ate breakfast in the lounge one day and the food was typical hilton, eggs, bread, some meats. Not bad to have included in the club room.

Our room had a mini fridge with the typical stuff. The room was a good size and had enough outlets. The bathroom was fine as well. Everything was clean unlike some posts. We did not have a room with a view but that is ok. The bed was hard for my wife but not uncomfortable for me. I did have some problems with my back but I get that a lot when staying at a hotel. There is a pharmacy very close by and here they had paracetamol with codeine OTC so that helped.

Because of the location and subway we were anywhere we wanted to be in a short time. The price was great for us so I would definetly not hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room facing Holland Park Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed overnight here whilst attending a gig at Shepard's bush Empire.
We got a reasonable deal and the hotel lived up to expectations being clean and convenient. The room had everything you needed for a one night stop over.
The car park at the hotel was very expensive £32 for a night so we used the car park of the Westfield shopping centre which is 2 minutes away and cost £9 for 24 hours!
Wifi was also pricey ,when are these hotels going to get into the modern era and offer free connections ?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
center
Level Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I used this hotel for about 15 years. The front desk NEVER said welcome back. Newspapers are hit and miss..ordered the I and got FT. The rooms are small. Bathrooms have tubs that require snappling to get into. The restaurant is not good for dinner. I also never used any facilities except an occasional visit to the bar. However, the concierge/bellmen ALWAYS said hello and were efficient. the hotel is well located. You can get anywhere easily-- and you can almost say it is quiet. I was always lucky to get the rate of under £100... and as low as 74 by watching the website. I would not pay much more than that. I think it is a training hotel as the front desk is not efficient. still.... its location location so I always stay here and do not have high expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside,U.K.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Delighted to find this Hotel was a stone's throw from Sheperds Bush underground station & short trip to Central London. Was at reception within 5 minutes of getting off tube. Hotel was very nice although room was on small side and air did not work. Staff were very concerned and helpful, bringing fan and trying to fix air. Breakfast was delightful. Fantastic location next to Westfield Shopping Mall, great shops & lots of restaurant. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promobull99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First and foremost the location for this hotel is fantastic. I used the Shepherds bush tube station every morning and it was a really pleasant walk less than five minutes I would say. The hotel has a nice bar area and restaurant. There is also a gym with pool. I didn't use them so cannot say how good they are. The executive lounge was good and the foyer has publicly available Apple Macs!

On to the room, for some it might be a small room but I was glad of the huge TV screen instead of the sulu internet streaming tv. Also, all that you would need was there: iron, gown, slippers, mini bar, table, lounger. The room barely had any room around the bed though so if you are a couple you might struggle.

For those that don't know shepherds bush being five minutes away means that Westfield is also close by with many restaurants. There is also a waitrose. The entire place is open until late so great to walk n browse while it's empty. One word of advice: check the variety of the food court too before settling on the outside restaurants. And read the menu outside before taking a seat. The menus are quite compact!

All in all I would love to stay here again, I had no problems extending my stay and the location is fantastic

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for a better view else it is grey and glum
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#408 of 1,067 in London
9,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing