We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not what I paid for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #502 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but not what I paid for!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was clean, nice and had spacious rooms. However I was very disappointed with having to pay for wifi! With the amount I was paying for the room, free wifi wouldn't have been too hard to give. The air con in the room worked wonders however the hair-dryer and the tv remote were broken. I feel I paid far too much for what I got. Being able to leave our baggage there however was a big plus. The hotel was in a fantastic location for central London and for shopping and bars. I wouldn't stay here again but the hotel had a lot of plus points!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinpingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    1,644
    988
    362
    195
See reviews for
624
1,460
318
1,036
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there for 4 days. Clean and located at a very good position. Parking place opposite and behind hotel. Very easy to find parking and very close to the shopping mall...

Booked the Business lounge which was quite good and always sparking clean. worth every penny of it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear C k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us when travelling to London on business.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay in a great place!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,017 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best so far of the hotels in London for the lounge. I will be back. Drinks and snacks served with the personal touch. Really nice people who enjoy what they do. Free wifi for gold members. The restaurant at the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear PadiP,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I appreciate your time in posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We were all delighted that you had a great time with us and that you will be back in the future and we look forward to welcoming you backl!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very helpful. We arrived at 7:30am and our room was ready which was a relief after traveling from Los Angeles. The room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. The one downside, which was truly disappointing when traveling abroad, is that the WiFi is $25 for 24 hours. You can use computers in the lobby but we needed to get in touch with friends so we had to purchase the WiFi. Other than that, it was a good hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Megan L,

I was pleased to learn that you had a good stay with us and am most grateful for you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

With regards to wifi in our hotel, whilst it is £14.99 for access in our guest bedrooms, we have a number of options available to our guests. We have complimentary wifi in our lobby and public areas, computers available for guests to use with internet, PC terminals in our Executive Lounge and, in addition, when Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond, you will automatically receive wifi complimentary in your room. Perhaps if you are not a member of the complimentary program, one of our receptionists can help you enrol when you stay here next.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location was great as was walking distance to Notting Hill, Sheperds bush. Service was great right from reception. Rooms were spacious for London and clean. All these values together consummated in a great trip! I highly recommend Hilton Kensington for visiting London!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aswila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked through Hilton Honors, good value for 2 nights but I didnt feel I was welcomed even though I was a Hilton Honors Member. Front Desk had someonelses profile on my booking not mine upon check in. I had to explain myself to them it was not me on the registration card. Sorted after a while and checked in a very small room with the smallest bath, shower was shorter than my height. I managed but not happy with the service and the room. Asked to change but was told there were big groups at the hotel!! Had to finish my work so didnt bother much. GYM facilities were very limited. No staff there!! Dinner was ok but the service slow, same at Breakfast. Didnt have any problems with internet as I benefit from free internet as being Hilton Honors Member. So I recommend to other viewers to sign up as there are different options provided and to remember please; every country every place has different rules with WİFİ !!! Be Wise!! Doesnt have to be same in everywhere..

Excellent location. Shopping Mall nearby with many great restaurants and pubs.Underground is also very convinient, good transport links. Concierge staff also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Dont stay on 2nd floor, book deluxe rooms not standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I find it alarming that these days you still find large impressive hotels that offer a very high standard of accommodation and yet WiFi is not a standard inclusion. Here you have to pay for it if you want in-room access, although you can take your tablet or mobile down to the foyer and access it there (where it's free). There is also 6 computer workstations in the foyer too, including a MAC which was a nice touch. These days having WiFi should be as important as having a TV in a room.
The room here was nice, spacious, with a desk, armchair and comfortable clean and large bed. Bathroom was fine, good bench space for toiletries. Shower over the bath. Room serviced daily and the staff are friendly and welcoming.
The breakfast here is excellent. It's a large (but not huge) hotel, so it offers a very wide range of options at breakfast including porridge, various yoghurts, cereals and cooked foods. Pastries, fruit and rolls too. Newspapers provided.
The gym here is also a good standard with free weights as well as machines, treadmills and cross trainers.
Note the hotel is across the road from the Hop On Hop Off Bus stop, other bus routes also stop outside and around the corner. Holland Park Tube station is just down the street. The Westfield shopping centre is a very short walk away and it is huge! It has an excellent choice of restaurants, including a Jamie's Italian. There is also a nice group of shops just up the road, near the Station, which include. Couple of pubs, a supermarket and some yummy cake shops. Portobello Road (and its market) is not far away either plus there are three Barclays bike stands within reach if the Hotel.
Whilst this Hotel is just outside the CBD, it's still extremely well located, in a lovely area, within easy reach of Hyde Park, the Kensington High Street and many museums. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoppy3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#408 of 1,068 in London
9,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing