We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value but, but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #504 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ashby de la zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
“good value but, but”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

the hotel is clean, the staff are very good, and the cost very competitive for London. The hotel is not in Kensington as the title suggests, but is actually in Shepard's Bush two minutes from the Westfield Centre. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you had a good stay and that you would come back in the future.

We are very fortunate to be in the location that we are, being West Kensington in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. We are outside the congestion zone, have fantastic transport links at our doorstep and are a stone’s throw from the famous Westfield Shopping Centre, which is one of the biggest in Europe. In addition, we have some of London’s most beautiful parks within walking distance of the hotel.

Many thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you back at Hilton London Kensington soon!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    1,643
    987
    361
    195
See reviews for
624
1,459
318
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel in a double room while on a business trip to London. I am a frequent business traveler so get to stay in a lot of hotels. The hotel in itself was clean, organised, odour free and had polite staff. Everything about the hotel feels like a normal generic hotel with nothing exceptional or memorable to talk about.

The double room was smaller to be considered a double room in my honest opinion. Another problem is transportation. The nearest train station is 5 mins walk away but what isn't obvious is that there are only 3 tube trains in every hour which is quite a turn off if you want to get to the office in the morning on time. If I knew this fact I wouldn't have stayed in the hotel.

In conclusion, if you're after a casual, ordinary and somewhat mechanical experience this would suffice else you shouldn't stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NewmanAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear NewmanAK,

I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent business stay here at Hilton London Kensington. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused.

With regards to your difficulties with transportation, I was very sorry when I read that you would have chosen to stay elsewhere having known the 5 minute walk. We are, in fact, extremely lucky to have such fantastic and easily accessible transport links from our doorstep. We have Shepherds Bush Overground and Central Line Underground stations to our left, to our right we have Holland Park Central Line Underground and we have bus stops directly outside our hotel (a total of 7 different busses). In addition to this, we have a taxi rank outside where you can catch a black cab or pre-book with our concierge team, a rental car company booth in our hotel as well secure underground parking for those travelling to us by car. Perhaps if you stay with us again, you could ask our concierge team for some help as they know everything there is to know about London, especially transport links.

We hope to see you back at Hilton London Kensington again in the future.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is just fine, although you should not expect too much. The room was rather small, but the beds not so bad. Everythig very clean. Its location is not perfect but the hotel is well connected with the city (Shepher's Bush just on the other side of the roundabout, very nice wine bar nearly). If you don't mid a bit longer walks it's perfect (Notting Hill just few minutes away, Kensington Garden and Hyde Park relatively close). We walked one day from the hotel to the St. Paul's Cathedral, with many alternations on the way, and back to Hilton, so the long distance might be differently understood...

Keep in mind that the connection with London's airports (particularly with London City) is rather bad in that sense that you need more time to get there.

I cannot honestly say anything bad about the place. I think as for London and its prices this choice is just fine. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear me_not_likey,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us. I was pleased that on the whole, you and your friends had a pleasant stay with us and that you were able to enjoy all that our wonderful city had to offer!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon when you are next visiting from Germany!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was clean, nice and had spacious rooms. However I was very disappointed with having to pay for wifi! With the amount I was paying for the room, free wifi wouldn't have been too hard to give. The air con in the room worked wonders however the hair-dryer and the tv remote were broken. I feel I paid far too much for what I got. Being able to leave our baggage there however was a big plus. The hotel was in a fantastic location for central London and for shopping and bars. I wouldn't stay here again but the hotel had a lot of plus points!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinpingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed there for 4 days. Clean and located at a very good position. Parking place opposite and behind hotel. Very easy to find parking and very close to the shopping mall...

Booked the Business lounge which was quite good and always sparking clean. worth every penny of it!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear C k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us when travelling to London on business.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay in a great place!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best so far of the hotels in London for the lounge. I will be back. Drinks and snacks served with the personal touch. Really nice people who enjoy what they do. Free wifi for gold members. The restaurant at the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear PadiP,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I appreciate your time in posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We were all delighted that you had a great time with us and that you will be back in the future and we look forward to welcoming you backl!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very helpful. We arrived at 7:30am and our room was ready which was a relief after traveling from Los Angeles. The room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. The one downside, which was truly disappointing when traveling abroad, is that the WiFi is $25 for 24 hours. You can use computers in the lobby but we needed to get in touch with friends so we had to purchase the WiFi. Other than that, it was a good hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Megan L,

I was pleased to learn that you had a good stay with us and am most grateful for you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

With regards to wifi in our hotel, whilst it is £14.99 for access in our guest bedrooms, we have a number of options available to our guests. We have complimentary wifi in our lobby and public areas, computers available for guests to use with internet, PC terminals in our Executive Lounge and, in addition, when Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond, you will automatically receive wifi complimentary in your room. Perhaps if you are not a member of the complimentary program, one of our receptionists can help you enrol when you stay here next.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing