We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #487 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent four nights there in august 2014. The room was the smallest we've ever been in since our camping days. The bed was double and took up most of the room. The fridge did not work and despite several polite requests was never fixed. The air conditioning was like sleeping next to the engine room of a ship. The room was so stuffy at night that w just had to grin and bear it. Storage space for clothing was non-existent and so we lived out of out suitcases for the duration. Never.Saw the complimentary mineral water, by the way.
In short, we were very glad to leave.

Room Tip: Don't go near it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Russell W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was disappointed to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for any service failings on our part.

We do have a number of different room types and so perhaps should you stay with us again, you may like to have a Deluxe or Executive Room, or of course a Suite. I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties with your air conditioning unit and I have highlighted this with our engineering team. I hope you opened the window in your bedroom as this would have made you a little more comfortable I’m sure.

We do hope that you choose Hilton London Kensington as a base when you are next over from Australia.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    1,630
    975
    347
    191
See reviews for
613
1,442
317
1,016
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and it was really good, with a helpful staff. Check-in took an eternity, but I got a connected room that I requested and everything was good. Internet is paid in the room, but free at the lobby. Good sleep quality. You got a bottle of mineral water as a courtesy every day, which is good. Restaurant however I would not recommend. Service is really slow, time to get our food was far too long and we just ordered pasta and pizza....Check-out was efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Luis M,

I was so pleased to learn you had a good stay with us this month and am grateful for you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

With regards to the poor service you received in our restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies for the slow service. I have highlighted this with our Food & Beverage Services Manager who will be working with the team to avoid this happening in the future.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton London Kensington in the future for another satisfactory stay.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, having moved from a supposedly more budget hotel (the Hilton actually was £10/night less for a far superior room!)

Room was a good size for a central London hotel, lovely modern bathroom with excellent shower, and the bed was an absolute dream compared to the place I had moved from.

The location is very pleasant and the proximity to Shepherd's Bush tube and overground make it really convenient for getting around - I was able to sleep in for longer than anticipated since the overground got me to work at Hampstead Heath in no time at all!

Downside was the dodgy TV reception, but I didn't come to London to watch telly anyway. Also, the cost of Wi-fi in your room is criminal, but I just parked up in the nice bar and had a couple of drinks while doing my emails etc. with the free Wi-fi there. Bar food was good, but I would have preferred to spend a little more on a proper restaurant menu.

All-in-all, it is not as nice as the Hilton Metropole or Park Lane Hilton, but it is cheaper. Extras always cost a lot at Hiltons (parking was extortionate, as you would expect in Kensington), but the great value of the room price made up for that. Would definitely stay here for work again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Louis H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us. I was delighted that overall you had a great stay with us, but that there were unfortunately a few things which prevented your stay from being perfect.

I have shared your feedback with the whole team and we all very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington for what I hope will be a perfect stay.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Standard Hilton affair
You stayed at one, you've stayed at them all - a statement I have made before about my Hilton stays and this one is no different

Check in and check out was conducted with no fuss
Room was clean
Breakfast was plentiful - staff coped fairly ok considering how full it was

What is great about this one though is its location
Not central, but that makes it more affordable out of the London Hilton range
It is a mere 5-10 min walk from the nearest tube station (Shepherds Bush - Central line, the red one), which is also about 6 stops from Oxford Circus
And if you know the area well, you will know that it's next to the Westfield behemoth shopping centre

Useful Tip: if you arrive by car, save money on parking and park at the Westfield Centre......£9 for 24hrs on the weekend, cheaper during the week

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear j100lok,

I am grateful for you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you had a satisfactory stay with us but that you felt our hotel was that of a standard one. Our aim here at Hilton London Kensington is to go the extra mile for our guests and to ensure that they feel cared for, valued and respected and I hope that we demonstrated this to you during your time with us.

I am confident that should you return to our hotel, you will see that we have a lot of offer and provide our guests with a unique, tailored and personalised service.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

After getting to hotel and having no room ready, was given a room that was a) size of closet and b) not too clean. Asked to change and was told ok, but only at 3pm. (I arrived at 8am). Ok.. Not ideal but had my meetings. Came back at 430 to find out maintenance was in my new room as door was broken and it would take at least 1 hr. Why would they give me a room that was defective. Back to front desk and admittedly, only good service was by front desk who immediately apologized and gave me another room. Not to be a pain, but 3 rooms in a day is not what I was expecting. You would think you get a room and it's clean and comfortable to sleep and work. Received a fruit basket as apology. If it were not for location close to Shepherds Bush, doubt would stay there again. Quite disappointing. Oh and forgot to mention, don't try to call concierge, front desk or operators from room. Out of my multiple calls I only had 2 people answering. Gave up pretty fast on expecting anything better from hotel. Hilton has definitely fallen from its glory days

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Susanna_Sm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Susanna_Sm2,

I was sorry to learn that you felt our hotel was below average and at the outset, please accept my apologies for any failings on our part.

I am sorry that the room your were initially accommodated in at 8am was all we had available at that time of the day following the very high business volumes - this being said, there is no excuse for the cleanliness and I do apologise that the effort of the team to get you settled early was in fact not effective.
I was also sorry to learn that upon arriving in your second room, a member of our maintenance team was in there making right a fault. Given that you had requested a room move, the team wanted to ensure that everything was perfect in your second room however clearly the timing was wrong.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your invaluable feedback. I do hope that you give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and that we see you return to Hilton London Kensington.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nicely situated, service great, clean and quiet. Near underground station (5-10 min. walk) and bus stop in front of the hotel. Many restaurants and shops at walking distance. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sylvie B,

I was delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that you will be returning in the future!

The team have also read your kind comments on TripAdvisor and they are equally pleased with your satisfaction. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington when you are next visiting from Canada!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phx
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location, 2 bloca from train station and Close to lots of shops and restaurants! Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. The only downfall is the rooms are small which is standard in Europe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jenna456,

Thank you for posting review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in July. I was pleased to learn that the team treated you well and that overall you had a positive experience with us. Should you return to stay with us in the future, perhaps you may like to book one of our Deluxe or Executive Rooms? They are larger than the standards and when booking an Executive Room, this will also in turn grant you exclusive access to our Executive Lounge which provides a wealth of complimentary food and drinks.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Hilton London Kensington soon!”

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Olympia
#653 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing