We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, shame about the plumbing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #471 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the plumbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Before complimenting the room, I want to take issue with the hotel's name. It can only be called the Kensington on a technicality IMHO. It is located in Holland Park, way outside Kensington itself, and barely 100 metres inside the boundary of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. It is right next to Shepherds Bush, but in truth that's a positive thing because you have a convenient tube station and railway line close by. It's also a relatively short walk to Holland Park tube station.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient despite being very busy at checkin due to a bus load of American tourists arriving. We also had a positive experience at checkout.

The hotel room was comfortable, quiet and cool, with good quality bedding. We had a great night's sleep, albeit I would have preferred a king- to a queen-sized bed. What really surprised me was the quirky plumbing - I've probably spent over 1,000 nights in hotels in my 50 years yet I have never seen such a bizarre over-bath shower before. It took me a good few minutes to work out how to get water to come out of the shower head. The shower pipe also had a serious leak, yet despite calling housekeeping prior to going out for the evening it wasn't fixed. Luckily it wasn't noisy so it didn't affect our sleep.

Our room (4th floor at the back of the hotel) had a really fast wifi connection courtesy of BT Openzone. I'm not sure if this came from the hotel itself or a neighbouring property but it worked well. I therefore didn't connect to and can't comment on the other wifi networks in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyTheBikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    1,570
    932
    332
    182
See reviews for
587
1,369
307
983
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Negatives: Room size is extremely tiny and if you plan to spend time watching TV in your room, well the telecast is not clear.. especially in days when you have LED/LCD TV's everywhere.. the huge TV with a bad reception is a shock.. (I was there during the Soccer world cup and was extremely disappointed with this)

Positives: Staff is extremely courteous and pleasant. Reception/ House Keeping and concierge everyone was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McoolnSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend in a twin room- it was tiny! Could not even open our suitcases fully without putting them on the beds. Bathrooms felt grimy and the whole place could do with a makeover. Staff were unpleasant and made you feel as though they were doing you a favour just to do their jobs. To top it off wifi was only complimentary in the lobby so you would see many people loitering. On the positive side, the hotel is only 150 metres away from the underground, overground and London Westfield. Would not stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We noted her name as she was exceptional, Christina, at the reception of Hilton Kensington was fantastic. Greeted us with a smile and made effort to make us feel very welcome. Beyond checking us in (which was smooth) Christina also offered local knowledge before we left to explore the area. The pleasant welcoming experience resonated throughout the rest of our stay as a result of receiving such high quality service at the very start of our visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at Hilton Kensington some years ago and it was an awful experience. My recent booking was an error - I'd forgotten about the previous visit. So my expectations weren't high at all upon arrival, and my stay was a very pleasant surprise.

My room was pleasant, overlooking Holland Park Avenue, yet not noisy. Amenities all good - standard Hilton issue. My 4 night stay was relaxed and pleasant, with all staff courteous, helpful and friendly during a period the hotel was very busy.

Easy access to most places via underground - about a 5 minute walk to Holland Park or Shepherd's Bush station - Central line. I go to the theatre via tube every free evening I have in London, and this worked really well for me.

After a bad past experience, I'll be back . . . .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for 2nights whilst visiting family in Kensington. I have stayed at this hotel before hence my return.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
My room was clean and had everything I needed for a comfortable nights sleep.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choices.
Drinks at the bar were a bit pricey but expected in London.
Overall I was happy with my stay, plan to return in october.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Gmaxx,

I was delighted to learn that you were happy with your stay with us recently and that you were also satisfied with your previous stays. The whole team have seen your review on our hotel and I think I speak on behalf of everyone when I say we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington in October!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived at this hotel at 12pm and waited until 4pm to get into our room. We are Diamond members so we were permitted to wait in the executive lounge. The executive lounge makes this hotel a great value as they offer breakfast, afternoon tea and appetizers/drinks in the evening. The Concierge was wonderful and happily provided me with directions and maps (Shepherd’s Bush tube/bus station is within walking distance). Our room reminded me of a dorm room decorated by Ikea, and much like a dorm room it needed cleaning (there was a French fry on the floor when we arrived). However, the bathroom was very clean and included a huge bathtub. All and all it was a good stay but I expected more from a category 6 Hilton property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear mjames,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay with us last month. As a loyal Hilton Honors Diamond member, and having travelled within the Hilton group a lot, you will appreciate that we are not always able to provide our guests with rooms before the official check in time, being 3pm. However, we do try our utmost to ensure rooms are ready on time and I am very sorry that you had to wait one hour after check in time. I have shared your comments with our Reception team and indeed the Front of House Manager.

With regards to your room, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size. I was disturbed to learn that you found food on the floor when you entered the room and have discussed this with our Head Housekeeper, who has asked that their sincere apologies be linked with mine.

I am thankful that you had an overall good stay with us but am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully should you stay with us again we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Olympia
#632 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#583 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton London Kensington is located close to a lot of London event venues and some great shopping too. Only about a 7-minute walk from Holland Park underground station and one of the main central tube lines, Hilton London Kensington is surrounded by places to eat, drink, shop, and watch bands. There is always comedy or music at the Hammersmith Apollo - a simple walk away, or sporting events at Wembley stadium - a short train ride away. And with the modern, well-stocked Westfield shopping center located just across the road, when you stay at Hilton London Kensington you can shop all day. Whatever you chose to do in your spare time, the hotel itself is bright and airy. All the rooms have an LCD flat screen TV and a mini bar. If you don’t want a night in, relaxing in your comfortable room and don’t want to venture too far either; choose to dine in the romantic West Eleven restaurant after making the most of the 24-hour gym and the relaxing sauna and steam room. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing