We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, well refurbished” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #136 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well located, well refurbished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel has recently had a major refurbishment which has been done very well resulting in an opulent foyer and comfortable rooms. The location is excellent - just across the road from Gloucester Road tube. There are shops and restaurants all around. The staff were very helpful. We booked this as a secret hotel so got a very good deal but I suspect the price will go up soon. I would definitely return to this hotel. The rooms were quite large and well appointed with a wide range of tea/coffee/chocolate and there were plentiful toiletries in the bathroom which was smart and clean. The only problem was that the magnifying mirror on the wall was in a most inaccessible position over the sink. Sadly the window would not open and the heat/cool unit was not working, so even though it was March we were far too hot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooperstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Sooperstar 100
Thank you for your review. i am delighted that you liked the result of our re-furbished ground floor with the enlarged reception and upgraded bar, lounge and restaurant. ( we will shortly be upgrading the garden too).
I am sorry that you were unable to cool your room sufficiently, I have asked our engineer to check the air conditioning to ensure it is cooling properly, particularly now we are entering the warmer months ( at last).
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    850
    199
    35
    22
See reviews for
933
590
106
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

After reading the mixed reviews I snagged a reasonable deal & decided to try this hotel for myself. Gloucester Road underground station is literally across the road from the hotel. Turn left out of the station, cross at lights and walk down footpath to hotel entrance. Surrounding area is great, cafes, restaurants and an excellent Waitrose supermarket opposite. I did not eat in the hotel, I bought breakfast at Waitrose as I was travelling alone.
So the hotel? I agree it is having a bit of an identity crisis as a previous reviewer stated but for the money and location ... I would stay again ONLY IF the hotel provides free wifi in the rooms, mandatory when the internet is used so much for planning trips and attractions. The foyer was undergoing renovations while I was there one week ago ... did not bother me ... except when using wifi in public area ... too noisy, I'm sure that is no longer the case.
Room was very clean and the bed extremely comfy with quality linen, bathroom was clean and modern but poorly designed.
Fridge is computer controlled, once an item is removed you are charged for it,
a very small space only is provided for guests use. Two glasses of superb wine downstairs in the bar cost almost 20 pounds.
Desk in room 320 was against the wall with not enough room to pull the chair out without hitting it against the bed. Again ... poorly designed. Yes there were a few scuff marks on the papered walls and desk but not enough to concern me as everything else was spotless.
Victoria & Albert and British Histiry Museums are an easy level walk, a bit further will get you to Harrods and loads of specialty stores, the food hall there is a must!
Summary? This hotel certainly sits somewhere between 3 and 4 stars in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Wi fi is free in public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chardygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear YilinT
Thank you for leaving your review of the hotel, I am so pleased that you chose to stay at our hotel for your honeymoon and hope that you will reurn to London and to Crowne Plaza Kensington many times in the future.
Our policy in housekeeping is always to knock and wait twice before enetering a room - I will reiterate this to our team and apologise that someone entered your room too quickly without waiting for a response.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Crowne Plaza Kensington for 4 nights for our honeymoon. I emailed the hotel to request a room with more privacy and they upgraded us to a loft suite. Very pleasant surprise. The staff were always friendly and helpful with directions and all cos it was our first time in London. Room was always nicely made up and cleaned when we returned. Just a small thing. Twice, we were in the room when staff knocked and immediately opened the door. Could've been embarrassing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yilin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Yilin T
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and hope that you will return to London and to Crowne Plaza Kensington many times in the future.
I apologise that someone entered your room without waiting for an answer, our policy is always to knock and wait twice before entering and I will reiterate this policy to our housekeeping team.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I just had a fantastic night in Crowne Plaza Kensington. As a Platinum Priority Club card holder, I did receive an upgrade to junior suite. On the sixth floor, the two storeys penthouse is just CUTE. My wife and I just love it! Very nice staff, especially a gentleman called Mohammad. Great willingness to help.
Will definitely go back at some points in the future!

Room Tip: Sixth floor is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Oxfei
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much. Do come back again soon - we have now finished the front hall refurbishment that was taking place during your stay.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

three nights of shows, food & museums.
super hotel and service, bar small but serviceable.
gym downstairs - adequate.
room nice, modern and comfortable.
handy for museums and tube.
holiday inn for the same price - i dont think so.
dont bother with breakfast, lots of cheaper places to eat on the go in town,
8-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear DesOS_12
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again soon. Our breakfast is a buffet so you can eat as much as you like from a very wide range of items. We offer vouchers at a £5 discount if you buy thenm at the time of check-in and also kids eat free if accompanied by a paying adult. This makes our breakfast exceptionaly good value. Guests can of course eat at one of the local fast food restaurants where you pay for each item you order and children pay the same price.
Please give our breakfast a try on your next visit and see the difference.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I booked this hotel as a lastminute.com mystery hotel and had already guessed which hotel it was.
From start to finish I cannot fault this hotel.
Friendly check-in.
Well appointed and quiet room overlooking the gardens.
Clean, comfortable and well stocked room. It was a very nice touch to have the comp choc/biscuits restocked each day.
As a female guest on her own, felt reassured by the presence of the front of house staff, but it was also not intrusive, as I went too and fro!
Location, fantastic!
My 3 nights went very quickly and I will definately stay here again!
Thanks for an enjoyable stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenloveswhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Jenloveswhitby
Thank you for your review, I am glad you love our hotel as well as you love Whitby !
We have now opened our new Asian restaurant, Umami, featuring dishes from Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam. I hope you will come back and try it soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Crowne Plaza Kensington is a good hotel overall. They are currently renovating the lounge areas and it looks nice. The location is great, just 1/2 block from Gloucester Road (on three lines) tube stop providing easy access all around London, with enough food options within a block for breakfast, lunch, or snacks. Our room was a family room with 2 double beds. Room was in great shape, but not much extra room to walk around the beds. However, if you are vacationing in London, you aren't spending a lot of time in your hotel room. A dresser was the only piece missing from the room, otherwise it had all we needed. There was free wifi in the lounge area that didn't reach our room, but that didn't present a major problem. Overall a nice place to call home while in London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajl2172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Ajl2172
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our grounf floor refurbishment is now complete - in the last 3 months we have completely refurbished and enlarged our bar,lounge, front hall and restaurant. We have opened a new Asian restaurant , Umami, offering a range of authentic Thai, Malaysian, Singaporean and Vietnamese dishes in stylish surroundings. The design of the restaurant was inspired by a Feng Shue master from Singapore.
I do hope you will be back again soon to try out the new restaurant.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#121 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#189 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing