We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL ATTENTION TO DETAIL A MUST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #125 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL ATTENTION TO DETAIL A MUST”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

the hotel is well situated and the rooms large but i must stress the attention to detail and the cleanliness.
the toilet roll was very very cheap and very very thin and you would think at the price per night you would get decent loo roll.the furnature was tired and badly marked and the carpets stained and thread bare.
the mirrors were covered in dust and the odd cobweb on the ceiling,i am not saying by any means that the rooms were filthy but they were not 4 star standard and the millenium baileys hotel round the corner is different class

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Andrew F
Thank you for your review of our hotel, although I am sorry that you found the rooms were not of the standard you expect.
There is no excuse for dust or cobwebs in rooms and I have raised this with our housekeeper to review with her team.
With regards the carpets, I am not sure which room you stayed in, but we have no threadbare carpets. There is not a carpet in the hotel older than 3 years old.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back again soon and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in our housekeeping standards.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    883
    204
    38
    23
See reviews for
982
626
112
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Heathrow, and puts you within minutes of most points in London. The hotel is clean and fairly modern on the inside, although some of the rooms are a little quirky. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The price is usually reasonable, and sometimes you can find a deal.

Room Tip: They have a few really tiny rooms so book two double beds to avoid getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Allen46
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Our rooms do vary in shape and size, but all our of the same standard and all were completely refurbished 3 years ago.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Good comfortable room.
Opposite the Gloucester Road Tube - very convenient.
Negative: No Parking but available at the Holiday Inn opposite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concordasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Concordasia
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that like most London Hotels, we do not have parking on site (most of our guests arrive by train or airplane and so a taxi or the tube station opposite are more convenient), however, we are fortunate to have the Holiday Inn Forum just opposite our hotel ( our sister brand) and they have an underground car park that our guests can use.
NB For other readers, there is a parking charge at the Holiday Inn
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

The Crown Plaza Kensington is possibly the best hotel I've stayed in , in London.

We got a really good deal for 2 nights through a teletext deal and on arrival we got a free upgrade too.

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of London with most major attractions all within walking distance.

The breakfast was fantastic and very fresh.

The only downside was there is no parking so he had to park at a neighbouring hotel which was ridiculously expensive but it was perhaps not wise bringing the car into central London.

I would definatly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Kunal P
I was pleased to read how much you liked our hotel and that you will definitely book it again.
Most of our guests do find that it is easier to arrive at the hotel either by taxi or by tube - we are fortunate to have Gloucester Road Tube Station right opposite our hotel with both the Piccadilly , District and Circle LInes stopping there, so getting around London is very easy.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We booked for two nights and our first night is what hotel nightmares are made of. We arrived at the hotel about 6.40pm, after a short flight from Jersey and train journey up to London, we checked in, which was very quick, but I was bit surprised that the check in clerk never mentioned a few basic things that you would expect from a 4 star hotel, firstly breakfast time was not mentioned or the location of breakfast and if I required a wakeup call or a morning newspaper. We was allocated room 118, we was meeting friends at 8pm so we just had a quick shower and changed and went out. This trip was our 25th wedding anniversary the following day and was a present from our children, so we decided to have an early night and went to our room about 11pm and this is when the nightmare began, firstly our room was right next to a door that led down a flight of stairs right into the bar area, also our room was above the bar and below our window was the smoking area. The noise started immediately we got into bed, we could understand the noise from the bar but the door that led to the staircase was used by nearly everyone one on the first floor, banging constantly until 5.30am together with the rowdy drunk voices, this door must have been used at least 100 times in this period, then to add more insult we had people banging on our door and trying the handle, I got up and went to the door to find a drunk who thought it was the door to the bar. We never slept one wink that night. I phoned the manager up at 8am and went to see him, he done everything he could to put things right, upgrade, complimentary breakfast etc. he was very professional in his approach and very apologetic, he explained because we checked in late, there wasn’t many rooms left, so I concluded this is a room that is allocated last because of its bad location, but for a couple celebrating a 25th wedding anniversary, it couldn’t of been worse. Our weekend was ruined we spent most of the next afternoon trying to sleep before our special meal that night, but to no avail, hotels during this time are not the best times to sleep. Without any sleep and very tired our weekend was ruined, we at to cancel a paid afternoon river cruise, our meal was finished early, as we both just couldn’t keep our eyes open. Thank you to the manager for doing his upmost to try and put things right for us but I am afraid nothing could make amends for a ruined weekend. The manager knew it was probably the worst room in the hotel, but for the check-in staff to allocate us this room on such a special occasion, I can’t forgive them.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 118 unless you have sleeping pills. Its right next to a door that leads down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Jerseymick
I am so sorry to read that your anniversary weekend was spoiled by noise from other guests.
Room 118 faces the garden and so should be a quiet room as there is no-one in the garden after 11pm. After that time, guests wishing to smoke, need to go to the front of the hotel on Cromwell Road.
There is a door to the staircase leading to reception, adjacent to room 118 and this has a very slow self closer to ensure it does not bang - I have checked this myself this afternoon and it does close silently. I do appreciate however that this doesn't preclude noise from guests talking as they use the staircase.
I am sorry that we were not able to ugrade your room on the first night of your stay but am pleased that we could offer you one of our Duplex suites for the second night.
For other readers, the picture attached to this review is the bedroom of one of our duplex suites facing the front of the hotel, with a separate sitting room below.
I do hope that your experience on this occassion will not deter you from using Crowne Plaza Hotels again in the future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our first time in London. The Crowne Plaza was a great spot for our family of 3. The hotel offers the ambience that only London can give. It is clean and comfortable and offers a nice quiet lounge area. Kensington is the perfect location to stay. Only a block to the Tube where you can get around with ease. We felt very safe and were able to walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4travellin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear carolynandfamily
Thank you for leaving your feedback on the hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel was clean, comfortable and safe and that it had a great ambiance and location. I'm sorry that you only felt able to give us a 3 out of 5 satisfaction rating, it would be really helpful for us to know what would make the difference for you between average and good or great. We are constantly striving to increase our standards and exceed our guests' expectations and we rely guest feedback to help us in this.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

No apologies for specificity of this review, as a business traveller i unwind at the gym and often chose the hotel on this alone but on this occasion it was the right location and i was not expecting much from the gym but WRONG!, crowne plaza sort out your website picture (singular) - this beats the Hilton Metropole by 1000 yards - i was the only person in the gym 2 nights running at 7-8pm - 2 rowing machines, 3 runners, 1 bikes, 2 steppers, free weights, dumbells, and 3 technogym machines for arms and legs - plus lots of floor space for doing your own thing with high quality matts, balance balls - water/towels - and the AIR con works on 1st touch, a first - been to 2 hiltons in last 6mths and both gyms were furnaces and nothing worked. Okay, so i love the gym - dont go - its mine!
Otherwise, room service was quickest off the bloc and to be honest, very reasonable - about £12 for pizza or have a tasty chicken burger with all extras for about the same, high spec room and diary milk chocolate bars and bottled water for free, cutsy lavender sleep sprays and roll ons, gimmicky but effective and it shows CP works just a little harder to make the stay memorable and special, its not the cheapest hotel but in its price bracket it really outperforms and outshines the competition.. i just booked CP in Downtown Berlin for October and i really hope to be as impressed.

Room Tip: Phone before you book and let the staff advise you, they will be honest - my review is based on n=1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthMorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear DarthMorrissey
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the gym as we have invested a lot of money in it. It doesn't get crowded, as unlike many hotels, we don't have an outside membership and retain the gym for the use of our hotel guests.
I'm glad you liked theextra touches in your room, we do try hard to ensure guests have a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay with us.
Enjoy your stay at Crowne Plaza Berlin and I hope we will see you back with us again before too long.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,067 in London
605 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,067 in London
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing