We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #132 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is very well situated. It is 5 mins from Victoria and Albert Museum and the Natural History Museum. The room was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The room was a good size and it was very clean. There are tea making facilities and a fast free wifi. The iron and ironing board were better quality than the usual ones found in hotels. There is a safety lock on the door so I felt secure. This hotel is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Lorraine A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are indeed very lucky with our location and being within walking distance of the famous Kensington museums, Harrods, Hyde Park and other London attractions.

Our garden view rooms are especially nice in summer as they look out over our one-acre courtyard – this is a unique feature for a central London hotel and something we are very proud of.

I hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    875
    202
    36
    22
See reviews for
965
610
109
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good-size room. We've come to rely on the generous size of rooms in American hotel chains when traveling in Europe and the Crowne Plaza London Kensington delivers.

Bathroom with a separate tub and shower stall. The separate tub meant we could do a bit of laundry and hang clothes there to dry. (We brought our own laundry line.)

Excellent breakfast in the Club Lounge. Light snacks, water and soda available throughout the remainder of the day. All the amenities of the club lounge were appealing. We would come back from a busy day of touring and sit and relax for a short time in the lounge. Helpful smiling staff.

Excellent concierge staff. Trouble with our international phone arrangements meant I had to rely on the concierge staff to bail me out of trouble switching restaurant reservations in London. They made the switches accurately and with a desire to be of service even though they had not made the initial reservations. The staff arranged for us to purchase both theater tickets and admission tickets to Kensington Palace. Every individual we worked with was very clear about the surcharge that dealing through the concierge desk would involve. The convenience was more important to us than the surcharge, but I appreciated the clear and accurate information.

The hotel is nicely decorated in an international modern style. There's no particular sense of being in London, but that didn't bother me.

In sum, a very nice stay in a very nice hotel. We'll be in London in 2015 and we both agree we'll begin by thinking about another stay at CP Kensington. By then, the elevator renovation at the Gloucester Street station will be finished and the only problem about staying at this hotel will be solved. The renovation meant we could not travel east on the Piccadilly line from the Gloucester Street tube station. This necessitated a work around route from the South Kensington station but we never held this against the hotel since CP Kensington definitely didn't create the problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetNitNoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear PetNitNoy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review you stay with us. We love receiving feedback from our valued guests and I am extremely happy that we were able to look after you so well during your time in London.

Our concierge team are experts on making arrangements for our guests and can often work miracles to secure tickets or reservations.

Unfortunately, as you pointed out, there is no Piccadilly line service from Gloucester Road Underground station until later this year, but it is still open for the District and Circle lines and it is very simple to transfer to the Piccadilly a little further along the line.

I hope we can welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms were just the right size. We booked rooms with two double beds. We were also happy about the free wi-fi. The bathroom was clean and had modern fixtures. The hotel is just two blocks away from the Natural Museum and Victoria and Albert Museum. Breakfast was good though the selection not very varied. We discovered late that you could have some dishes made to order as part of the free breakfast. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pia G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for awarding us a perfect 5/5 score. Our hotel is idea for families as all of our family rooms have two double beds, unlike most London hotels which only offer singles. We also provide free, unlimited, high-speed wireless to all of our guests as a matter of principle – we don’t see why you should have to pay for this necessity!

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for a total of 10 nights with our 10 year old daughter. we loved that the hotel is near the museum row (victoria & albert, science and natural history museums); and it's so close to the Gloucester Road tube station.

The rooms are basic, no frills, but we were happy with the amenities and in-room wifi. make sure to request for a room with a view of the garden.

Agree with most reviews about the staff. they are very warm, helpful and professional. we left to see Edinburgh in the middle of our trip and requested (prior to arrival) if we can leave some luggages with them since we were checking in again after a few days. They were very kind to accommodate our request.

The area where it's at the safe, so it's a great place to stay with children.

Room Tip: request for a room with views of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear pael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased you had such a nice time in London and I hope we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff and service at this hotel was wonderful. The location was great, right across from Gloucester Road tube station and near lots of restaurants, bars and shopping places. As a family of 4, I felt our room was large enough for all of us although it did lack some storage space, We overlooked the garden and it was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was good but, never got a top up of coffee. Overall, I think for London hotels, this is a great hotel, very clean, with a fantastic location.

Room Tip: We were in room 108 and it was very quiet. The street side did see slightly noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtngyrl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear mtngyrl_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased we were able to help make your time in London sop enjoyable. Our twin family rooms are spacious by London standards and we have a full rooms refurbishment planned for later this year to help keep them stylish and fresh.

I hope you have had a pleasant onward journey and we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlboro, nj
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here over Easter Break in April. The rooms were kept immaculate but the are a little worn. We had a nice size room. There were four of us in the room and we were comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone went above and beyond in helping us. The concierge staff was especially helpful with all our questions and travel arrangements. Thanks to Simon and Raj for all the help they provided us. We had an issue on our way to the airport with our driver and Raj went out of his way to track him down and get us on our way on time. The front desk staff was just as helpful. The location is great. We were centrally located on the Gloucester Rd Tube station. Everything was only a few stops away. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores around the hotel. Simon had some wonderful choices for restaurants so make sure you as the concierge for their recommendations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear rosimmon,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to award us a 5/5 rating like so many of our other guests. I have passed your comments onto Simone and Raj, who were very pleased they were able to look after you so memorably.

I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wow what a lovely hotel. The concierge and staff were really helpful, assisting us with our queries and recommending venues near to the hotel. The Umani restaurant, pan Asian, did some incredible food and the chef went out of his way to ensure all dietary requirements were met. It's so close to Gloucester Road tube station too with several little bars, cafes and shops very close by. There's a nice area outside for drinks for the smokers and a little room at the back of the ground floor where you can relax and enjoy a drink slightly away from the main areas. I really recommend this hotel, despite a few niggles such as at times there's very few people around to help but, generally, the ones on hand are usually incredibly helpful and polite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 270sallyr270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 270sallyr270,

We really appreciate your review and your kind comments about our staff, all of whom love looking after guests and ensuring their stay is as comfortable as possible.

I am delighted you had the chance to try Umami – our in-house restaurant – and sample the selection of delicious pan-Asian dishes we serve. We are very proud of this.

I hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#193 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing