We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #123 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My family has stayed at this hotel everytime we are in London, in the last 10 years or so. It is conveniently located. The tube is just across the street. There is a well stocked supermarket and restaurants in the same building and if you want fast food, it's just down the road. The Albert and Victoria, and the Natural History Museums are a mere 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenngbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear helenngbl,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have stayed here countless times as it is my go-to hotel in London. Here is my update : I am pleased to say it is even better now. My room appeared to be recently renovated. The location is great but be aware that the Gloucester stop on the Picadilly line will not be available until December. The staff is very helpful and quite amusing. I recommend this hotel highly. I don't see how you can do better

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear barry51555,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stay here a few times a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Location fantastic, right across for tube station,plenty of restaurants in the area. Close to Harrods and Kensington high street. On a bus route and next to tourist information centre,
Hotel is very comfortable and am very often upgraded,
It has a beautiful garden out back which is rare for London,
Staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful
Close to museums and easy access to oxford street,
Really great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear cvleuen,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Crowne Plaza is very well situated in London - very close to Underground station. The hotel is very well appointed with a welcoming lobby, very clean and (for Europe) large rooms, great breakfast, and the bar drinks are delicious.

Room Tip: Our room was not ready at 2 PM, but we were offered free drinks at the bar until it was - 30 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear cvleuen,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful location just across the street from the Gloucester tube station. Also, it's not a bad walk to the South Kensington station if you need the Piccadilly line, which is being renovated at Gloucester. Beautiful neighborhood for walking and dining; it feels very residential instead of touristy, thought the Natural History museum and V&A are not too far away. Lots of good restaurants and pubs from which to choose.
Room is spacious, maintenance is prompt. The switch on our AC fell off, making it impossible to adjust, but it was quickly replaced. Bed is very comfortable. I wish there were better light in the bathroom, but the facilities are superb. There is some noise from other guests in the hall, but I did not hear street noise at all, perhaps because we faced a rear garden instead of the street. When we arrived, our floor smelled of cigarette smoke. Of course, this is a non-smoking hotel, so I reported this to the desk and didn't smell cigarette smoke again after that. Concierge was helpful, thought the printer in the lobby is not reliable. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and I would consider returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvleuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear cvleuen,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on 21/6/14. Getting there was a bit of a problem from St Pancreas as the tube doesn't stop at Gloucester Road. Our room was on the 6th floor which is in the roof space. It was extremely hot and uncomfortable, the window couldn't be opened because the noise of the traffic was deafening. The window catch was also broken. The air conditioning was very noisy but we were forced to have it going all night. The bedside light was not attached to the wall so each time you touched it you risked getting an electric shock. The carpet was badly stained and the furniture was tired and dated. Breakfast at 10.15am was poor. Tough sausages, tasteless scrambled egg and tomatoes all served barely warm. Asking for a pot of tea proved difficult as they seemed to prefer you to have tea from a flask that they bring round, which from the taste I would say had been made since early morning. Staff were friendly and it is in a good location. Would I stay there again....No.

Room Tip: Don't go to the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Carolyn P,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are pleased that you liked our location and friendly staff. I am however, disappointed to read that your experience during breakfast, some noise challenges, and issues with the air conditioning system prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you may have experienced.

Your feedback is highly appreciated as this helps us gauge what we are doing right, and what we need to improve on. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you would give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel in general. The furniture is totally worn out and outdated. The Crowne Plaza is clean and very comfortable. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we where exhausted so they gave us a free upgrade to a double suite and got us in ASAP. Overall this is a great hotel for people traveling in a group that want inexpensive comfortable service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Cole H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that our staff looked after you so well. You will be pleased to hear that we have a rooms refurbishment planned for later this year and all of our bedrooms are being remodelled and refurbished inn a contemporary style with all new furnishings.

I hope we can welcome you back soon so that you can enjoy this!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#134 of 1,076 in London
758 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,076 in London
2,955 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#208 of 1,076 in London
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £136 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing