We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely area to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #126 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely area to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in a deluxe room which has two double beds in one room with an ensuite. We booked a room at the back of the hotel so it would be quieter as it is on a main road. The room was basic but clean. The ensuite is small. The location is what makes the hotel. It's across the rd from Gloucester station so getting around is very easy. It is a short walk to Hyde park and Kensington palace, as well as some museums. Breakfast area is nice and there is a large selection to choose from. At the back of the hotel is a private garden area which was lovely to sit in and relax. Kensington itself is clean and feels safe. Lots of cafés and restaurants close by. I would stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytravel-7202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Kerry A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    882
    204
    37
    23
See reviews for
978
626
112
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Gloucester Road for the weekend of July 18th and 19th 2014. I booked this hotel as a surprise for my sisters 50th birthday and my niece's 21st birthday. From the time I first looked at this hotel back in April, Victoria in reservations was extremely helpful and professional and enabled me to make this a weekend to remember. Victoria ensured that we had a room for the 3 of us and gave me a choice of prices for the weekends throughout July and August. Even though I contacted her on a number of occasions, Victoria was extremely helpful and any concerns I had regarding suitable accommodation were put aside.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the lady on reception quietly checked the names of my sister and niece and upgraded us, at no extra charge, to a hotel room on two floors. Coincidentally my sister and niece live in a bungalow so upon entering the room they were delighted that they could go upstairs to sleep!!! A lovely touch. The room was spacious and delightful with ceiling to floor windows looking out onto Gloucester Road. (Or maybe Cromwell Road) There were complimentary toiletries which were replenished each day and a fridge in the room.

Prior to our surprise night out on Friday evening, there was a knock on the door and a bottle of champagne and birthday cards were delivered with compliments of the hotel.

Breakfast was plentiful with good choice offered for everyone.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I have spend many weekend breaks in London and from the start to the finish of this very special weekend, I cannot find fault.

If you are looking for a great location, clean and spacious hotel rooms, professional and efficient staff, then you need to look no further.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMumNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear HappyMumNeath,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

For our family of four, this hotel was a nice choice. The location is terrific--walk to great museums, restaurants, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. It's also right across the street from the Gloucester tube station. Breakfast buffet included with a great variety of dishes. Room was small, but comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Staff was professional. Lovely garden outside with tables. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and that was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Heidi E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were really happy with our choice of hotel for our family of 4 staying 3 nights in London. The location is perfect - a stroll to the Natural History Museum, lots of restaurants and pubs close by and good access to central tube stations. The room was maybe a bit smaller than ideal for all of us, but was well equipped and very clean.

Breakfast was a bit busy but very efficient with great customer service and good quality and choice of food.

The garden access is a real differentiator, it was lovely to be able to sit outside with a drink after a long day tramping around London.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mikel_Arteta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely hotel, nicely situated, close to the Gloucester Road tube station. Rooms are clean and comfortable, & in terms of London's standards, a nice size. Staff are friendly and professional and ready to assist with any queries you may have. Breakfast buffet offers a large variety. A number of good restaurants & stores in the vicinity. Hotel also offers a lovely garden which is ideal for light snacks/drinks. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden quitter than those overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyM053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear SandyM053,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

London is among the most expensive cities in the world and the accommodations are often very pricey without being particularly nice. The Crown Plaza is well maintained, friendly, and well located in South Kensington close to a number of transit options and the museums. There are number of good restaurants and stores in the area. This is a solid 4 star place by US standards. The rooms are larger than most comparable rooms in the city and provided a good base for our family while on vacation. They happily stored our luggage while we toured on our departure day. I would definitely return. It deserves consideration if you are looking for something in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ84037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear KJ84037,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First impressions make this an appealing option for business of social travel. The location of this hotel is ideal for visiting the Royal Albert Hall without being directly on its door step, also other attractions. Gloucester Road tube station (2 minute walk away) enables you to get back to Liverpool Street with ease. We had room 306 which over looks the back gardens which was very quiet considering it was a Saturday night. Check-in and concierge was faultless and the reception area was immaculately clean. The hotel bar was smaller than expected but the gardens and shaded canopy was ideal for escaping the heat. Nice gardens and drink prices were more reasonable than expected. Mixture of nationalities and ages. There are better breakfast offers outside of the hotel in nearby cafes / restaurants. The air con in the hotel room was excellent and despite the heat of summer the room could be chilled without the need to leave your room key in the room. The bed was comfortable and the only reason this did not get a 5 rating was the overall size of the room and the quality of some of the furniture (scuffed, little tired and marked in some obvious places). Bathroom ceiling was slightly peeled and the shower was not as powerful as other London hotels we have stayed in. Overall positive and we will stay again due to the location and professional service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Matt5,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#134 of 1,067 in London
603 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,067 in London
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing