We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at a fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #119 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

After a poor journey experience on the virgin train to London last year replacement tickets gave us the opportunity to stay at the crown plaza again. The decision was a no-brainer for us, the proximity to the subway (Gloucester rd), supermarkets (tesco and waitrose) across the road and 5-15 minutes walking distance to the natural history museum the V&A and the science museum and Harrods respectively. Inside the hotel the standard of decor and refinement is excellent with a very warm feel. The staff where friendly and we recognised them all from our previous stay which was a sign of a happy team, the concierge was particularly helpful and friendly when we were asking for help finding attractions. The room we had was a club twin 4 (At an average of £190 per night)which was easily big enough for the five of us with two double beds and space for a cot. The only problem we had during the 6 night stay was that we found the beds too firm but the staff were again very helpful and re-made the beds with extra mattress toppers until we were confortable. The club standard room included the use of the club lounge which had comfortable sofas, tv, 2 computers for guests (our daughter spent at-least 2 hours playing minecraft every evening). There is complimentary soft drinks during the day and canapés such as pate cheese board and tempura seafood and alcoholic drinks between 6 and 8 pm. The lounge was a godsend for us as it meant one of us could take our toddler up to the room while the other relaxed, taking turns meant we kept him in his bedtime routine which is essential to cope with the busy holiday we had planned. Breakfast in the club lounge was also included in the cost of the room, there was a good choice of full English buffet and fresh fruit, yogurts and cold meat platter, there is also a wide selection of speciality teas and coffees from the capsule machine. The Umami restaurant within the hotel was very reasonably priced and is made good value with the fact that kids eat free when you are staying at the hotel, there is also bar snacks menu and room service menu so there is plenty of choice. We had all our evening meals in the club lounge for convenience and the waiting staff where excellent and made it feel like a luxury meal every night. The hotel garden was also an excellent feature with a large lawn area for the kids to play (there was a bouncy castle on the first night) and a covered patio with loads of heaters and lanterns for the evening. The hotel gym is well equipped with exercise bikes, treadmills, free weights and weight machines. This is a hotel we would definitely return to again and again and feel like we would be welcomed back like friends.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Ingurandojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights in August. This is an excellent hotel for a family trip. We got a suite which is a duplex with two double beds upstairs and a living room downstairs, which altogether adds up to probably 500+ sq of space and quite unusual for London. The room comes with access to the club, which provides complimentary beverages throughout the day, breakfast, and evening snacks around 6pm. The location is superb as it is close to museums and just a couple of minutes away on foot to the Gloucester tube station, which is on 3 subway lines. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and a Waitrose supermarket across the street. Friendly and helpful staff. The furnishings are a bit dated and this is not a fancy hotel, but it is an excellent place for a family. Excellent wi-fi signal as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back very quiet. Duplex suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twodiamondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July for leisure. Used our priority club IHG points to stay, and got an upgrade to a lovely suite. While they organised this, we sat in the garden and enjoyed a complimentary drink. Excellent location to access the city, tube station is literally a 1 minute walk.
Really enjoyed our stay here. Hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor room, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GriffoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear GriffoBristol,

Thank your very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington and your feedback on TripAdvisor website. We are glad that your stay was great and looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Our hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with easy access to local transportation( buses, underground).

Kind Regards

Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Had a lovely stay with two double beds for us and our little boy. Staff were very pleasant, room very nice. Perfect location for our visit to the museums the following morning. Would very happily stay here again and in fact will aim to do son next time I'm around on business. Recommended

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Hollers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Hollers 99,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are glad that your stay was great and looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.
Please contact the reservation team on lonke.reservations@ihg.com if you are looking to book some night for your business trip.
Our hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with easy access to local transportation, buses, underground, with walking distance to museums and Kensington Park.

Best Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

First time at the hotel (usually slaying across the street in the Holiday Inn) - definitely coming back here.
Smaller hotel (6 stories high) a 3 minutes walk from the tube station and everything you need - restaurants, pub, boots.
Great for business travel and for seeing London.

Room Tip: currently under construction, be sure to shut the blinds in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna W, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Matan R,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza London Kensington as your destination in London. We are glad that you had a great experience with us and looking forward to come back.
Our hotel is 6th floor Victorian's style building with 162 bedrooms, part of the bedroom overlooking lovely private garden. Our hotel has a great Pan Asian restaurant Umami and bar area.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our property.
Best Regards
Joanna Witkowska-Isker
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

On a recent trip to London my family and I stayed in the Crowne Plaza London Kensington for the first time. What a wonderful Hotel. There are many pluses about this hotel, from the location – which is simply perfect - to the charming and very inviting back garden area. We had three, two level suites, and found each to be completely well done and satisfying in all ways. The rooms are large, and very comfortable with nice modern furnishings. The windows are huge, letting in plenty of natural light, yet no street noise at all. It was remarkable how very quiet the rooms were on such a busy street. We also very much enjoyed our dinner at the hotel’s restaurant – Umami. The food was delicious and the wait staff charming. The Club Lounge was very nice, and although small, it was equipped with everything we needed. The food service was very good, and the staff of the Club Lounge was excellent. What nice people.

And that is true of the entire hotel staff. They were all kind, hardworking, and genuinely nice people who cared about making our stay perfect. Two areas stood out as exceptional. First was the Guest Services and Guest Relations Team. They all worked overtime to make our stay lovely. Niha deserves a special thank you for being so very kind to us all. And second, this hotel has one of the best Housekeeping Teams I have ever experienced. Our rooms were not just clean. They were spotlessly fresh and lovely. Everyday! And whenever we had a request for Housekeeping, they were at our door in just a few minutes to help us, and always with a great smile too.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. As a base for a nice stay in London it has it all. I am sure that our next time in London, we will once again stay at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. Thank you to all of you there who made our time so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PSKSADhahran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear PSKSADhahran,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited from Friday to Sunday & stayed with our 2 kids in a room on the top floor with 2 double beds looking out onto the large hotel garden.

This was our first stay at a Crowne Plaza and we were very impressed.

Public areas were very modern and had a classy feel, the bedrooms slightly less so but were very good nonetheless. The bathroom was clean, big and well equipped.

Free wifi throughout was a nice touch.

We used the bar and had breakfast one morning. Prices were high but what do you expect for London? The English breakfast was £17.95 per adult (kids were free) which wasn't very good value and had a buffet selection with quite a limited choice.

Location wise the hotel is great. 200 yards from Gloucester Road tube and 5 minutes walk from the Natural History Museum and the V&A to name just 2 of the many local attractions.

I will definitely stay here again. It is very much better to be here at a reasonable price than in a middle of town hotel at about £200 extra per night.

Well done Crowne Plaza.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank bad_ski_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear bad_ski_guy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,081 in London
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,081 in London
3,120 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing