We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for weekend stay for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #458 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good for weekend stay for families”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had a very good weekend at this hotel and simply dont understand the critics. The staff were very friendly and helpful with checking us in early, sightseeing questions etc. The hotel is located in the centre of 3 underground stations, so handy when going different places. Yes, the hotel is places about 10-15 minutes walk away from those stations, but it is really not a problem and our children had no problems walking the distances even after a long day. We had taken the continental breakfast and it was more than enough for us. I took tea as I know from experience not to drink coffee in UK except for coffee bars. There were plenty of cereal, toast, croissants (my son loved them and said that they are just as good as those in Belgium where we live), juice etc. The room was fine, though the airco a little noisy, but we turned it down. Overall a very good stay and would return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    1,181
    720
    247
    121
See reviews for
996
565
101
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel was comfortable and clean, bit pricy for what you get, and you have to pay for wifi, which I really don't think is appropriate for a hotel that caters for the business user. It's a bit impersonal but I suppose you expect that from a hotel that probably caters for the the short stay business user rather than the longer term holiday maker.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I landed in this hotel via a hidden deal on Travelocity.com. They said it was a 4-star hotel in Paddington / Islington at 55% off. I was very optimistic, even when I found that it was a Holiday Inn. Holiday Inns typically aren't 4-star accomodations, and well, neither was this one.

It's new-ish, it's clean enough (although there was a splotch of yogurt or something on my TV all four days I was there), but so are many 3-star hotels. For what you get here, it's incredibly over-priced. The nightly rate posted in the lobby in November 2012 was 280 British Pounds Sterling. That comes out to $445 per night for a hotel that:

--Charges $17.35 per day (10.95 pounds) for internet access. What 4-star charges for internet access?

--Has three elevators for at least 300 rooms and 8 floors. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, the wait for an elevator exceeded 10 minutes.

--Is utterly and completely devoid of charm. You could convince yourself you were at an airport hotel in the US - there is absolutely nothing to tell you you're in London.

--Charges $22 (13.90 pounds) for a buffet breakfast - the same breakfast you can get for 5 pounds in any pub in London. I didn't have it (because I'm not lazy enough not to walk two blocks to a pub), so I can't tell you if it's mind-blowing and awesome, which it should be for that price. I'm rating breakfast "terrible" because what family of four could afford it?

--Has the least-attractive lobby bar of any hotel I've been in for 10+ years. It has the charm of a basement storage room.

--Has thin, worn-out towels. I had to use two after a shower. Luckily, I was traveling alone.

--Has no safe in the room. No safe! What 4-star doesn't have a safe?

--Has no ATM. They will send you two blocks away to a post office ATM.

This hotel is a brisk 10-15 minute walk to King's Cross Station. There is a bus (the 63) that will take you there in 10 minutes, but it's a wash between waiting for the bus and just walking it (I did both). There's nothing around it that is worth seeing (unless you like huge construction sites and big post office parking lots).

This is no 4-star hotel. I feel like they gave themselves four stars so they could charge more. It's a 3-star at best, and a very expensive one. I'm not cheap, and I like staying in nicer hotels, so I'm not just sore over the price (remember, I got this on a reduced deal). But if I had stayed there at full price, I would have been very disappointed and annoyed indeed at the lack of charm and amenities.

Room Tip: This hotel allows smoking. The smoking rooms smell pretty awful. Make sure you ask for non-smoking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Coggiola, Italia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I expected more, since the price is very high. The hotel is located at the end of Kings Cross Road, 15 minutes from the underground.
Nice hotel, of course, very professional staff, very nice room with 2 huge beds (we were 2 friends so we booked a twin room), very confortable bedlinen and 4 pillows 2 firm and 2 soft for each bed!!! tv, tea, coffee, mini fridge, table and 2 armchairs. But this is what you expect from this kind of hotel.
what's wrong? I found some hair in the bathroom and this has not to happen in a 4 stars hotel!!!
Breakfast not included in the vety high price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elybrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

A nice hotel; comfortable and well fitted.

Rooms are reasonably sized, for London, with all mod cons. As a business hotel it's fine, taxi to the meeting - no problems! For leisure, it's just a little too far from the centre - a stroll becomes a marathon and there's better to be had.

For those loyal to the Holiday Inn brand the Holiday Inn Bloomsbury offers a far better location (smaller rooms though) and the Holiday Inn Regent's Park offers better location and more spacious rooms (quieter too!)

Check on the map and if you're happy with where it is it'll serve you well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vestigium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytholmroyd, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Very efficient service, tidy rooms (we booked a smoking room - didn't know you could do that!), plenty of space to relax. Breakfast was absolutely fine with as much, or little as you want. The pool, sauna etc though an extra £3.50 per person was top notch and one of the only hotels we have stayed at where everything worked as it should. We were amazed at how quiet the room was as well. Checkout was super fast. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which might explain why it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoknapatawpha
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The hotel had lost our prepaid booking; and they only, and reluctantly, agreed to look into things when we showed them the paperwork. We were eventually given a room, but there was no apology. The rooms are, well, beige. The food is the culinary equivalent of that neutral colour. The staff were cool and mostly unhelpful. If you want to imagine you're somewhere in the Midwest while staying in in one of the greatest cities in the world, then this is for you. Otherwise, avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuentinYoknapatawpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear QuentinYoknapatawpha,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your room type. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,364 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,067 in London
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing