We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,535)
Filter reviews
3,535 results
Traveller rating
793
1,485
827
285
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
1,485
827
285
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exmouth market union tavern the holiday inn two double beds russell square leisure facilities minute walk st pancras the nearest tube station family room booked this hotel reception staff executive room full english bus stop continental breakfast british museum
Filter
Updating list...
2,394 - 2,399 of 3,535 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Travelled down for two night stay with family. Booked into a family room. It was fine, clean and comfortable apart from the temperature regulation - it wasn't so much a problem with the room controls but the floor we were on! The hotel has good family friendly facilities like the pool although I thought it cheeky to charge extra for this. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel as for the cost for one person I could walk 5 minutes and get just as good a breakfast for all four of us. On the whole a good base with warm and helpful staff. Would consider again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Aldwark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a weekend in London short walk from kingscross or taxi was less than a fiver
Rooms were spotless everything you need lovely and warm tv kettle coffee tea toiletries .
English breakfast was perfect when we went a 9am saw the q at 9.45 glad we went early
Staff were polite and very helpful
Really enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Holiday Inn brand is predictable. English hotels are also predictable. This does not fail in that regard.
Slighlty shabby and in need of some paint touch up and a "freshening up" of the rooms. Bathroom with the usual yet avoidable black mould inthe grouting and high prices for everything including the wifi. My biggest complaint is the
outrageous £245 a night for what is a very average middle of the road hotel. Extremely bad value. Luxury prices and not even a mint on the pillow. For that money there is better value elsewhere in London.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Lymphada,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with the condition of the room and the price that you have paid. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I booked 21 days in advance and so got a cheaper rate - stayed in an executive room-which was luxurious and very comfortable- great views across London, could see the Gerkin and St Pauls. " small bottles of wine brought to room-which was an unexpected lovely welcome treat.
Breakfast was really nice but luckily we went early-it was the weekend and it got very busy later with people having to queue, no pots of tea, just hot water flasks on the buffet and you made your own in the cup- but staff really nice and helpful
Enjoyed the leisure facitlities- my only moan- Had to pay £3.50 each-I felt as a resident it should be free.
Bus stop straight outside and underground near by so perfect for base to see London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alilittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had a very good weekend at this hotel and simply dont understand the critics. The staff were very friendly and helpful with checking us in early, sightseeing questions etc. The hotel is located in the centre of 3 underground stations, so handy when going different places. Yes, the hotel is places about 10-15 minutes walk away from those stations, but it is really not a problem and our children had no problems walking the distances even after a long day. We had taken the continental breakfast and it was more than enough for us. I took tea as I know from experience not to drink coffee in UK except for coffee bars. There were plenty of cereal, toast, croissants (my son loved them and said that they are just as good as those in Belgium where we live), juice etc. The room was fine, though the airco a little noisy, but we turned it down. Overall a very good stay and would return

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews