We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #396 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very smart hotel with smoking rooms hooray! Staff friendly and efficient. Rooms very clean, with new decor - nothing seemed tired and bathroom was spotless. Not cheap but two night deals available. About ten minute walk to the tube with the surrounding area ethnic.

Room Tip: Floor 8 for mainly smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,087 - 2,093 of 3,174 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

My partner arranged our trip to London for my birthday weekend as he had organised for us to watch the Lion King in theatre and also visit Madame Tussauds. We visit many hotels throughout the year but in all honesty found the room we were allocated at this hotel to be the worst, which resulted in us staying with family. We arrived at our room and the smell was awful which immediately disappointed us both. We decided to use the spa facilities to see if when we returned to the room it would smell any better. We always book hotels with spa facilities so we were very shocked we had to pay extra at this hotel to use the facilities however the spa facilities were very enjoyable. When arriving back to the room to get ready for the theatre the smell was still unbearable and the windows were unable to be opened due to safety reasons. I decided to go to reception to ask to be changed rooms, when explaining to the receptionist the reason we wanted to change rooms and when telling her our room number, I was even more annoyed when she stated that there are always a lot of complaints on second floor rooms and she agreed that she knows the smell is really bad in our room, however the hotel was fully booked so we could not change rooms she could only have room service spray us some air freshener which actually made it worse. Me and my partner then decided to try and book a room at a Travel lodge but that was also fully booked so we decided to stay with family after the theatre so took all our stuff with us to drop them off at the house first. We had intended to return to the hotel in the morning for breakfast as it was already paid for but due to traffic travelling back we missed it so just ended up handing back the room card to checkout.. So as for a romantic birthday hotel weekend away the hotel was definitely a very big let down the spa was great but as it was not included in the room price anyway we basically wasted money on a hotel we found smelt to awful to stay in. I have never wrote a negative review about a hotel as I'm not the type to point out small details that can be overlooked but this was definitely worth the review as I wouldn't like no one else to feel uncomfortable staying at this hotel when having paid for a room which smells. So my advice would be don't risk spending money on this hotel as you might end up on second floor and according to the receptionist the smell is always there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shay_martin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is newly refurbished and rooms in good condition. The bathrooms are reconditioned but this did not appear to extend to the floor or installing effective extractive venitilation. The sounds proofing is not great in the bedrooms and the lighting is rather poorly delivered. The negative aspects is that the towels are certainly not white and reek of dry cleaning solvent. So whilst the hotel appeals to resident sot save water and washing powder by saving towels the reality this is nonsence as the towels are dry cleaned with solvents! Its about time hotel chains got their so-called environmental credentials sorted out.Staff are helpful. The rack rates for the hotel are of course horrific (£400?) - again one questions the values of a hotel chain that advertises such rates for a very ordinary product.Clearly such rates are fictious - one wonders what is in the mind of the owners in this charade.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

10 minute walk from Kings Cross and about 25 minutes walk into the West End. The hotel is clean, the rooms are great value, and the breakfast is fantastic. Would recommend this if you want a good value hotel. The only bad thing is the price of drinks at the bar, go to the Irish Pub attached instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Travelled down for two night stay with family. Booked into a family room. It was fine, clean and comfortable apart from the temperature regulation - it wasn't so much a problem with the room controls but the floor we were on! The hotel has good family friendly facilities like the pool although I thought it cheeky to charge extra for this. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel as for the cost for one person I could walk 5 minutes and get just as good a breakfast for all four of us. On the whole a good base with warm and helpful staff. Would consider again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Aldwark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a weekend in London short walk from kingscross or taxi was less than a fiver
Rooms were spotless everything you need lovely and warm tv kettle coffee tea toiletries .
English breakfast was perfect when we went a 9am saw the q at 9.45 glad we went early
Staff were polite and very helpful
Really enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Holiday Inn brand is predictable. English hotels are also predictable. This does not fail in that regard.
Slighlty shabby and in need of some paint touch up and a "freshening up" of the rooms. Bathroom with the usual yet avoidable black mould inthe grouting and high prices for everything including the wifi. My biggest complaint is the
outrageous £245 a night for what is a very average middle of the road hotel. Extremely bad value. Luxury prices and not even a mint on the pillow. For that money there is better value elsewhere in London.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Lymphada,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with the condition of the room and the price that you have paid. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,077 in London
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in London
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £80 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing