We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings cross and Bloomsbury?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #458 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Kings cross and Bloomsbury?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

While I suppose this is just about true, it is a little confusing, as Holiday Inn also have a hotel called Bloomsbury, which is just across the road from Russell Square tube. Staff state they frequently have guests turning up at the wrong hotel - I was nearly one of them! So why, or why, have two hotels with similarly names? This hotel, marketed as Kings Cross / Bloomsbury is more than a 10 minute walk from Kings Cross station - and not a particularly nice or easy one if you arrive late at night and have luggage. Its a bit of a trek to the tube station if that is what you need either on business or leisure. That said, contrary to some reviews, I found it a clean and well presented hotel - no smells. I was originally given a smoking room but this error was picked up before I got to my room (although not all colleagues were so lucky). The room was fine and well equipped, although could have done with an in- room safe. Also , the walls etc shake quite a bit when neighbours close doors along the corridors - not great. I did not use wi-fi as it was too expensive - its about time this was free anyway as some other hotels do not charge. I did not use the leisure facilities. Business meeting rooms were very good and the staff there were very helpful. Breakfast was average, although the staff were very good. I am not sure I would use this hotel again as I would rather be closer to a tube station than this hotel is, but if that is not an issue to you I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short break or business meetings.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    1,133
    702
    242
    117
See reviews for
970
536
96
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December. Lobby area is nice enough but the welcome from the check in staff was poor. I'm not sure that more than 4 words were uttered by the receptionist. Room was on 1st floor. The room did not smell but the corridor stank of smoke. The bed was so uncomfortable and was clearly a fold down bed - not what I had expected. Bathroom was OK but the bathroom floor was freezing cold - so cold it made my feet hurt! Breakfast - service was abrupt and made you feel like you were on a conveyor belt. Most unpleasant. Check out was again very unfriendly. There are much better hotels elsewhere in London.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear SFWOxford,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the bedding, cleaning practices and customer service from our staff. Rest assured that these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We didn't stay - only ate in the restaurant. It was quite late when we arrived and perhaps only 3 tables were occupied. Service was very friendly and prompt. Comfortable dining room with proper table linens. Steak could not be faulted. Very pleasant meal at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimblejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Room and service was nice enough. However, the reason we booked this hotel was because we thought that it would be a short walk from the train station. But travelers arriving at midnight with 4 heavy bags would have some trouble finding, let alone walking to, this hotel.

Also, there was no free wifi.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PauAraos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Arrived late on Tuesday 11th December. They stopped serving food so had to venture out onto the streets to find a take away. Contrary to what the hotel advertises, it isn't 10 minutes walk from King Cross station. Much nearer 15-20, which matters when you have lots of bags. The room was a smoking room and was stank - odd because I didn't book a smoking room. The room interior looked just like many other Holiday Inn hotels, so very 90's, very uninspiring. The internet tariff was extortionate. I'll try not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be clear about booking a non-smoking room. And if you have lot's of bags don't try and walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear James S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience the room and internet may have caused during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit to London, England.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porcia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

The hotel was actually pretty nice, but when you're in London in Decemer, it is quite cold and walking from the train station to the hotel was not ideal. It was possible to take a bus, which we did. The hotel was very quiet. I had no issues with noise at all. Overall it was ok. I save my rave reviews for hotels that truly" wow" me!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Room was very comfortable, staff were efficient, warm and friendly and child friendly too. Breakfast spread was pretty good, so good that we went back for at least 2 more helpings. Overall we were very happy with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing