We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #456 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Redditch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Booked 3 nights for myself, my husband and our 15yr old grandson in order to take him to see the sights. Usually go to Travelodge but this was cheaper so we thought we would give it a try. Arrived at 1.30pm on Friday expecting to drop off our bags and head straight out....pleasantly surprised to be told our room was ready and that we had been upgraded to a better room than we had booked! This hotel is absolutely lovely, way beyond what we expected for the price. Breakfasts were really good, with a huge selection of food served in a very nice dining room. Over the duration of our stay we found every member of staff that we spoke to to be pleasant and helpful and very professional. The 'Jewel in the Crown' of the staff has to be KOHLA who greeted us with a lovely smile each morning when we went down for breakfast...nothing was too much trouble for this lady.....she is a real credit to the Holiday Inn. Taxi to Euston was £10; taxi to Kings Cross £5; bus stop just outside hotel where the 63 bus gets you to Kings Cross in less than 5 minutes. Swimming pool was a bonus,the small charge is less than our local pool and it was like stepping into a warm bath, soooo relaxing after a full day sightseeing. We will be returning to this hotel and will DEFINITELY be recommending it to anyone looking for a good base for a visit to London. Holiday Inn YOU HAVE A CONVERT!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XradancerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    1,156
    713
    244
    118
See reviews for
985
549
99
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just come back from a weekend Superbreak with a friend. This covered return tickets from Sunderland via Grand Central which was an excellent service and two nights at the Holiday Inn, English Breakfast each morning and dinner first night. Having previously stayed at a really fabulous Hotel in London (Millenium Gloucester) and a horrendous one (Royal National), I found the Holiday Inn delivered fairly good service. We had an average size room with twin beds. Clean to a point but the chairs could do with refreshing. As stated in other reviews the hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk from Kings Cross Station, and my friend and I did comment that we would not be comfortable walking in the area alone. Having said that we did not encounter any problems. Enjoyed a good but nothing special evening meal on the first night and we both found the buffet breakfast of good quality. Reception staff were courteous and Marco on Concierge was brilliant, advising on the London Bus Tour and directions to other attractions. All in all we enjoyed a fabulous weekend in London in a hotel which does what it says on the tin!.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear JudeSunderland,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I am happy to know you were pleased with the hotel service. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend, room was spacious and very comfortable, a short tube ride away to central London, nearest tube station about 10 minute walk. Hotel was nice and airy and pool and spa was a real treat after a full day on your feet. Good choice of breakfast options and something for everyone .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel was booked by my wife for our short stay in London to attend a course. It was booked mainly because it was the most affordable hotel to offer a swimming pool - so that we could bring the little one swimming after a long day out.
It was a bit far from King's Cross - it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the station. However, it was quite handy as it was near Great Ormond Street Hospital where the course was held. Hence it wasn't far from the Coram Fields area which was a heaven sent for our son!
Back to the hotel and the room itself - it was okay, average sized (maybe a bit bigger than most London hotels in the same price range), and clean. The shower and bathroom was nothing to shout about, but the bedding was really comfortable and contributed to a nice sleep. The mattress however was a bit soft, but hey, it probably was okay for others!
Can't really fault it much as we also enjoyed the Rasa Maricham restaurant which was on the ground floor, but at the same time, there is nothing much to shout out about. Will I stay here again? Maybe...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medicalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Medicalcouple,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. I am sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the some aspects of our room accommodations and amenities not fully living up to your expectations. We take all reviews positive or negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Not very happy at all. For a double room it was about £138 or £168 with breakfast. There is no free wifi!! Which is disgusting In this day and age, especially for the price of the room. Not even a free bottle of water in the room, but you do get an empty fridge. What for I don't know.
The breakfast area is a bit jumbled and nobody seems to really want to help out.
The bacon is horrid, it really is like boiled bacon as another reviewer has said.
If you are lucky enough to find a space in the tiny car park which you can't reserve, they then charge you £20 as well.
Not very happy but it was a old bed.
The place could definitely do with a refurb and surely can't still be a four star. It needs to go down to a 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Major M,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Standard Average Holiday Inn hotel. about 15-20min walk from Kings Cross station. Only 1 bus line en-route to hotel but does not go to central london so you have to change to another bus.Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We were given a room upgrade which was great. Room was compact and clean and neat. King bed with a sofa bed turned down for kids. (not much room to manouvre if sofa is open). Bathroom was spacious. Very clean. Breakfast was good.
I would not recommend this hotel if you in london for sightseeing or shopping as it is a little far from everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Traveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I am required to take medications at certain times. I requested wake up call each day at 5:30am each day. I did not get a call on the first and third days of my stay. After complaining to management I then received them each day. This is serious and you may miss a plane if not called. The sofa in the rooms are so dirty I would not even sit on it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Tech63,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing