We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #457 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cambridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Weekend in London”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having read a number of negative reviews of this hotel I was quite concerned what it would be like when we arrived. I had booked three rooms as a treat for a weekend to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday. As a result I was very pleasantly surprised and very good value for the money we paid.
The reception staff were very friendly throughout our stay. The concierge stored our bags - which saved us dragging them around after an early arrival. The rooms were spacious and very clean, although the bathrooms are a little dated.
Breakfast was OK, we had continental as part of our booking and you could upgrade if you wished to full English. A little more attention to detail from the hotel for the breakfast and I would have rated the venue excellent.
A number of people have complained about the location. It is a 10 minute walk to Russell Square tube station, or about 15 mins walk from Chancery Lane.
You can get the 63 bus from Kings Cross/St Pancras which is about 3 stops and the stop is almost opposite to the hotel. Remember, underground tickets can also be used on the buses.
From the hotel you can also easily get into central London by using the buses and you do see more than using the underground. The concierge will provide a map and the bus numbers for the main sights - it was about 600 yards to the bus stop to get the 38 bus which took us to Leicester Square for example.
We also purchased tickets for the Original Tour Bus. They had a stop near to Russell Square (also one at Kings Cross) and after day one we used these buses to see the main attractions.
All in all a very good weekend, the hotel was good, the staff very friendly and it is easily accessible to the main attractions even if not next door to the underground. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMWCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    1,178
    720
    247
    121
See reviews for
995
565
101
592
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited this hotel 10 years ago with our 6 and 4 year old - Great even then but the standards are still the same 10 years on with teenagers and another 6 year old .Business trip for my Husband and family trip combined this time.

Excellent service received by mainly male restaurant staff .Reception ladies lovely too,any little concerns immediately ironed out and the only little gripe is that the food was not as excellent as I remembered- Indian meal had AMAZING home made rice pudding 10 years ago and now it seems to come out of a tin :(

Will happily use again and recommend for mixed age children as it is particularly hard to find ANY accommodation in ANY city for a family of 5!

Keep up the good work - but don't get sloppy with the food guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked a family room for a four day break in London with our grandchildren. We were pleasantly surprised at the overall service, amenities and value for money offered by the Holiday Inn. It is conveniently located for Kings Cross and St. Pancras (within reasonable walking distance) and is well served by public transport, taxis etc. Reception was always well manned and staff were helpful and responsive. The room was very much as advertised - everything working, clean and tidy. Good selection for breakfast - no problem with youngsters. Good variety to start the day. Hotel busy at half term but no waiting for table. Took evening meal in the restaurant. Again good choice at reasonable prices - about the same as we would normally pay in Devon. Good service in the restaurant and, later, in the bar area. Bar well staffed and staff very attentive. All round we made a good choice of hotel and it made our break enjoyable. Our only complaint related to the bed settee for the g/children which really was past its `sell buy` date and was uncomfortable. An extra mattress helped but the hotel had no other bed available from store. Would certainly re-visit based on our first experience here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed a week in Holiday Inn Kings Cross

Rooms are big, quite with two double beds, and very clean !

Very good - buffet style breakfast

Nice Spa - an indoor pool, Jacuzzi etc.

Good location - 15 min. Walking to King Cross underground

( Or 5 min. with bus or taxi)

All with a very good service and for a very affordable price in London !

Room Tip: Book in advance so you get a very good price !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Got a hotel/theatre break, this was booked as a mystery hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, the pool was reasonably priced and had jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, the facilities were all modern and clean, having studied the street map we decided to walk to the hotel from our arrival station kings cross, it only took about 15 minutes, however there is no underground station nearer so getting into the heart of the city was a taxi ride but no complaints here, we had a really great time.

Room Tip: A bit out of the way but a nice clean hotel at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Holiday Inn Kings Cross turned out to be the 'mystery hotel' when we booked a weekend in London. Excellent in every way although it is a 20 minute walk from Kings.Cross / Paddington.
Very comfortable room, although we were given an upgrade on arrival.
Excellent English breakfast

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade without us prompting reception so may be worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finbars69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for a two night weekend break as a family of four. Room clean, two x double beds not the most comfortable (really need replacing). No room noise issues. Had dinner on first night which was fine and good value given London prices. Breakfast OK but really a three star not four star experience. Location is walkable to the West End but not handy Underground at Russell Sq & Farringdon a good 10/15 min walk. Lots of families staying here for theatre breaks. Only used Gym which was fine, pool seemed quiet. Charge of £3.50 for adults and less for children. Overall an OK base if getting for a decent price.

Room Tip: All seem OK good double glazing we had no noise from Post Office depot opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Adrian4P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I am happy you like our clean room. We strive to provide impeccable customer service and accommodations. I apologize for any difficulties that you may have encountered during your stay with us particularly with the state of the bed and food selections that was served. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the respective department.

Again, we are grateful for your valuable feedback. Shall your travels bring you to the area again we hope for the opportunity to provide you a quality stay with us all around.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#121 of 1,067 in London
2,351 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#237 of 1,067 in London
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing