We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business and family ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #456 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for business and family ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here for the last 8 years and have to say I am always pleased. 2014 seems to be the best year so far with improvements in many areas such as lifts, gym, wifi and number of upgrade rooms.

Every hotel I have ever stayed in has had niggles but where these guys score is in high levels of customer care and how they deal with problems.

High levels of ownership in customer service, a very flexible kitchen, an excellent Indian Keralan restaurant, a lovely Gym and very serviceable rooms. Staff perform well under pressure (especially at peak times during school holidays).

Great placement for work or west end. The 63 bus stops outside every 5 minutes taking you to Kings Cross or blackfriars and beyond for all the major tube lines in around 10 minutes.

Good solid dependable hotel with great staff delivering Holiday Inn standards. I look forward to seeing what else 2014 and beyond brings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review of our Hotel & Services - I am glad that you have enjoyed the improvements and changes that we have made for both our Business and Leisure guests. We are refurbishing our bedrooms starting this year for the future. I am sure that this investment will improve our hotel further for all guests.
Thank you so much for returning here and staying with us in Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury, as we know you have a choice each time you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    1,156
    713
    244
    118
See reviews for
985
549
99
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I am a little bit surprised by some of the earlier reviews mainly with regard to breakfast.

We spent 2 nights b&b for 8 ladies we had 4 twin rooms which had 2 double beds in each, our rooms were all clean, well presented and ready for us on our early arrival. Two of the rooms also had a fridge.

Breakfast was very good there are 2 dinning rooms we were in the buffet one. We were seated both days on 2 adjacent tables. The food was well cooked and plentiful, help your self to as much as you can eat both full English and continental. My only criticism is that you do not get a pot of tea or coffee you have to get your own from the drinks stations but no problem really. Just a personal preference of liking my tea made in a pot.

Coming from the potteries I was very pleased to see the hotel crockery is from our local pottery Steelite.

The distance to Kings Cross is about a 15 walk but the bus stop is almost out side and takes 3 minutes and run every 8 minutes. We purchased Oyster cards at the station to use on the bus and underground.
All in all a very nice stay and wonderful week-end in London was had by our whole party. Would stay again although we were also surprised about the charge for the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your Birthday Break in London and for your positive review. I am glad that you all enjoyed your our breakfast and found the hotel clean. Its great that you are thinking of returning again in the future. A belated Happy Birthday & Best Wishes from us all.
Thank you so much for your feedback and thoughts, the team here will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed with Holiday Inn recently, primarily on the basis that it was near Kings Cross station and because there is a very nice picture of the swimming pool and sauna that they offer.

The family room we stayed in was fine, cleanly, although the beds somewhat small for two adults.

However I was very disappointed to find that the hotel charges for access to the pool facilities. Had this been made clear to me prior to booking then I would likely have considered staying somewhere else. In my experience it is not usual for a hotel like this to make a charge for use of the swimming pool, and I was very disappointed that Holiday Inn felt this reasonable behaviour.

It felt very much like the "death by a thousand incremental charges" we are used to seeing today. Especially as the Wifi seems to be about £10 a day, although if you are in the know you can join the Holiday Inn loyalty club and get it for free...

Having paid to use the pool I then found it to be overrun by screaming children doing backflips into the pool (surely dangerous) and the jacuzzi didn't work.

Lastly, it's about a 15 minute walk away from the nearest station, which wasn't great.

I will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us on your trip to London. For information only Wi-Fi is now free for all IHG Reward Club Members and you also gain Loyalty Points for each stay. You can join at any IHG Hotel Reception Desk. I have also noted your comments regarding our Ozone Health & Leisure Club charge for future review.
I am glad that you both found our bedrooms to be fine. Thank you for your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed in this hotel in March 2014 for 2 nights. We loved how close the hotel is to Kings Cross, Russel Sq and even Piccadilly (on bus).
Staff was helpful and friendly,and we could check in early Friday and leave our bags Sunday after check-out,which was great :)
Would recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budapest-York82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for staying with us. Its great that you enjoyed our Location close to Kings Cross/St Pancras International Stations and that you found our Team here both friendly and helpful. Thank you again for staying with Holiday Inn London, we know that you have a choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just spent a weekend using this hotel as a base to visit London. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms well equipped, comfortable and quiet and breakfasts of good quality and various options available. On arrival we had been given a twin room but the girl on reception immediately offered us a double. Also had read a previous review about the Indian restaurant situated within the hotel, and was glad that I had as the meals were excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. I would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_hill_sf49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review of your stay here. I know our Team here will really appreciate you letting us know and for recommending us to other guests. I am very glad that you enjoyed your meals in both 'Rasa Maricham Restaurant' and at Breakfast. Once again thank you for staying with us and hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival the reception staff were not the best with either a greeting or information on the hotel it would seem it is far too rushed with no personal service
My initial room was poor it was facing roof and had dirty sheets on the sofa bed
When I went to reception there was no apology and it was a hassle to them to change the room and I think they could tell I was not happy with how they spoke to me
The next room wasn't much better it was average and a bit worn with no attention to detail and again a sofa bed down taking up loads of room
The bar area is average not the welcome of u usual holiday inn
There is much to be done here to improve customer service as it's noting the best of locations so u thing the staff may make a bit more of an effort to make customers welcome
I'm sure the general manager will give a standard reply to this review so before he does it's simple really poor customer service in a hotel is not acceptable and the responsibility stops with the gm so maybe less saying you will do something and more more action to do it without excuses it's a simple thing all hotels can do
I would say if u can get a room here for under 70 quid it's worth it if not u can find better especially as the customer service and rooms are average to the holiday in a u say in week in week out

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and for staying with us again at Holiday Inn for your trip to London. As an IHG Reward Club Member we appreciate your constructive advice and feedback. I am sorry that our Housekeeping/services fell short of your expectation. Please accept my apologies for this, we will endeavour to put this right for the future. Once again thank you for returning to Holiday Inn and for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had read rather mixed reviews about the hotel, so was pleased to find that our stay was quite pleasant. We had two rooms booked. We arrived early and they were able to get us into one room right away and prepared the other within the hour. Both rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. The decor is a little dated and there were some signs of wear and tear (e.g. bathroom door lock sticks and tap leaks) but overall a decent place to spend a few days. The hotel staff were not particularly friendly, but were helpful enough and able to assist when called upon. Fairly centrally located and about 20 min walk to the Underground station. Continental breakfast was simple but adequate. Overall had a positive experience and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive review of our Hotel. I know the Team here will appreciate your feedback on your positive experience and for recommending us to other guests. For information only we are refurbishing later this year for the future, in order to improve our hotel further.
Thank you again for staying with us during your stay in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing