We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Hotel, Terrible Service & IHG Management Useless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #408 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this filthy Hotel for 4 nights end of July. Supposed to be a family room for 4 but you couldnt swing a cat in the room and limited storage space for a family. On check in I was challenged about my booking and weather it included breakfast. I showed the confirmation breakfast included but she still had to speak to a supervisor. All this after trsvelling from 5 am from Ireland. Not good. We went to our room and were shockedcat yhe poor storage space and size of room. We all freshened up to go out for tea. We used the towels all 2 of them. I called reception for an iron and board and fresh towels for next morning. Im still waiting for the towels. Iron board arrived after several calls. It was then taken the next day. More calls to have it returned. The towels were not fresh. You could smell sweat from them, just drued but not freshm our bath room had hairs on floor from arrival and was never cleaned. Our beds were bed but room not cleaned, dirty glasses remained all week, used milk coffee etc, still on table, tabke not vkeaned rubish removed or floor hoovered - filthy. Breakfast was a shocker, sausages pink meat inside, bacon looked uncooked didnt touch that, never any eggs availabke, toast moved every morning. No room to make tea on a very small table. I asked reception acquery on local area was told to speak to conceirge, no one at yhis desk. Waited 15 mins and gave up. Bar staff grunted at me when I asked for iced water at night. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at and not convenient for tube. 20 min walk to kings cross. Taxi cost us £10 to/from station. I have been offered a partial refund and points which I have advised IHG and local management was not adequate due to nature of complaint. I did not want to publish this review but their response has led to this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank elvis16877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Elvis 16877,

Thank you for contacting us again regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury.

We are profusely sorry that your stay was far from satisfactory and that we did not manage to restore your confidence in our service and brand, notwithstanding our genuine efforts, service recovery compensation and unreserved apologies from our General Manager and IHG Corporate Headquarters.

We sincerely hope that you will find a hotel that suits better your expectations and travel needs in your future travels. However we will be more than happy to have you back with us for an improved service experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 3,087 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived in London to overnight before catching the train to Calais, France where we picked up our rent a car for our 4 days driving around the battlefields and memorials of WW1. We had booked the Holiday inn Express as it was close to the railway station. It turns out that it was a very good choice. The rooms was clean and fresh, the staff very helpful and the included breakfast was top rate. The staff also helped with any queries and our two extra bags that were not needed in France were kept in a safe room while we were gone for the four days. On our return, the holiday greeted us back and we were close enough to big ben etc for a lovely afternoon of wandering around London, Great place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great view of London's highrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Kerrie H,

What a fantastic review! I am really glad to hear that you had a great holiday and stay with us. I will pass on your kind compliments to our staff.

Warm regards, hoping to see you again on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Went to london for weekend arrived at hotel to be told no reservation , booked 6 month earlier with supa breaks eventually got room at 2.00 oclock .Room was ok bathroom a bit dated , was supposed to be executive room only one dressing gown between 1 . Breakfast was cold and not lot of choice. Have stayed in other holiday inns that are really good but this one disappointing.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank bethel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear bethel2,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel on your recent stay.

I am really sorry to hear that we did not impress you on this occasion. Your feedback is very important to us and be assured that your comments will be shared with the hotel staff for training purposes and corrective measures.

Thank you once again for letting us know your experience and we hope that we will have a chance to redeem ourselves and show you the quality of service we are accustomed to provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a trip with my mum and nephews and got a great deal via superbreak. Not too far from Kings Cross (£6 taxi or 15 minute walk), we were ideally placed to explore the City but also enjoyed some peace in the evening as the roads around the hotel aren't too noisy.
We were able to check in earlier at 13:00 which was great as we could drop our bags and start exploring right away. The room was a good size, two double beds nice & comfy and a bath as well as a shower. On the third floor and overlooking the large sorting depot next door, which provided much entertainment for my nephews! We could even see the tip of the Shard!

We opted to have our evening meal the first night and although the choice was limited (only 3 starters and 3 main within the "deal"), the food was good quality and the kids enjoyed their special menu too. The service was excellent from Roy and he made a special effort with the children which was appreciated.

Breakfast was very busy but a good choice of food - fruit & yogurt, cereals, cooked english or continental options with ham, cheese or croissants.

All the staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and generally the cleanliness was good.
I happily would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Louise H,

Thank you for your great review and kind words.

We always strive to provide an enjoyable stay to our guests and we are very proud when we make it happen. Roy is very pleased with your compliments.

Thank you once again for your good feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful hotel. Dining experience both breakfast and evening meal excellent quality and value for money. Rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The only slight negative was the distance to the tube station but taxis were always available. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Lisa F,

Thank you for your kind review and five stars rating! We love happy guests and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our chef dishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Four star hotel fairly convenient to KingsCross/St.Pancreas stations. If arriving with luggage it's a 15 minute walk or a £6 taxi ride... Would recommend the taxi! Handy enough without luggage. We had continental breakfast which was fine. A nice touch was the Ideal Home and National Geographic magazines in the room. Air conditioned and very comfortable. Concierge to help with london info and secure luggage storage if required after checkout!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mebates00,

Thank you so much for posting your great feedback and compliments. We always strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are very proud when we achieve it.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

10 minute walk from kings cross station. Room 748 very comfortable lots of hot water however i heard from another guest on the second floor with no hot water. WiFi is not free. The English breakfast was just OK. Not a lot of choices.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BostonNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear BostonNole,

Thank you very much for your positive review and constructive feedback. We are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant and comfortable.

For your information our WiFi is complimentary for all IHG Rewards Club members. Please fill in a free membership form online or at any IHG hotels and you will be able to accrue points and enjoy many other benefits at any InterContinental Hotels Group brand.

Thank you once again for your sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing