We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #458 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed at this hotel for the one night, booked two rooms one family & one double, both rooms were really clean & comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful. Booked with hotel direct which gave a very good rate. A little far out and it's good 10 minute walk to Kings cross station which is ideal for the tube. Wouldn't fancy walking around the area late at night, bit dodgy. Plenty of taxis around when you come out of the station and there's a bus stop right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk, having said that I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Karen W,

Great to read that you had a very comfortable stay with us and our staff were friendly and helpful.

We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    1,133
    702
    242
    117
See reviews for
970
536
96
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 7 night due to a business trip to london. The rooms were ok - a bit dated and the bathroom could do with an upgrade. Bought an expensive wifi package and more than half of the time there was no wifi in my room. When myself and a colleague complained the staff were really unhelpful and claimed they did not know why the internet was not working - later we discovered via another member of staff that there are internet hot spots in the hotel and if you are not near there then you won't get connection.... other than that the pub opposite does great food, the location is ok with good bus link and breakfast is ok.

Room Tip: If you need internet request a room with good access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Charlieratt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your valuable feedback and for choosing our hotel as a place to stay on your business trip.

I sincerely apologise for the internet issues that you experienced during your stay. Our chief engineer will investigate this further to rectify any technical fault.

On a different note, we are glad that our location and breakfast were of your satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with a Theatre package through the Superbreak website which worked out cheaper than booking separately.
The hotel is in a slightly dodgy area but it's only 5 mins in a taxi from Kings Cross station. Was about a 15min walk from Kings Cross to the hotel.
Quick check-in process and friendly staff.
Breakfast was very good with a decent selection to cater for all tastes.
Hotel could do with a modernisation to bring it upto date but rooms are adequate and spacious.
Overall a good value hotel compared to some of the other overpriced central London hotels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Richard L,

Thank you for your good review and constructive feedback. We always welcome and appreciate our guests' views and suggestions.

We are delighted that your overall stay and service experience was pleasant and good value for money.

Thank you once again for letting us know and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the first city we stayed in Europe for our trip to London and Paris. When we reached the Hotel, it is almost 8pm and not much choice for hotel room . We were assigned a room at the end of the corridor right behind a fire exit door which is difficult to locate.

In general, room is clean but not many ameniiesy provided. On the first and second dasy, we have 2 bottles of water provided. But, on the next 2 days, nothing provided. Quite amzing nobody from Hotel did checking after they made up the room.

The hotel is almost 20 to 30 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. In fact, the hotel situate at a greeat distance from nearest tourist spots. Anyway, it took around 10-15 minutes taxi trip to the British Museum which I think is the nearest trouist attraction.

Our second stay at the Hotel for 2 more days after we visited Paris. We are assigned a room with 2 double beds uopon my request. It is quite nice. After joining the loayalty club of the Hotel, we were given a 3-day free acces to WiFi.

Eating facilities and grocery shops selling fired chicken, bar/cafe, etc. and fruit are plently around though much expensive. However, do consider the travelling time from Hotel to other tourist attractions/main shopping district.

In general, not much surprise, howvever, not bad the service is. Staff is nice. Since we will travel to Paris and check in again to the Hotel a week later, we left behind 2 suitcases which the Hotel charged us GBP1 per suitcase per day. They said is cheap compared to others, say at the station. My previous experience in Sydney was completely different. They welcome us to keep the suitcases at their hotel even I will not check in again to the Hotel free of charge.

Breakfast is a sort of continential style. No choice or quite limited choice of food which repeat everyday.

Value for Money for family trip.

Room Tip: Ask for free WiFi. Do check in earlier so you have more choice of room or have good chance of upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 989Sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 989Sport,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for joining our loyalty program.

Your detailed feedback is very much appreciated and your experience will be shared with all staff for consideration and improvement.

Again, thank you for your reaching out to us and we hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this filthy Hotel for 4 nights end of July. Supposed to be a family room for 4 but you couldnt swing a cat in the room and limited storage space for a family. On check in I was challenged about my booking and weather it included breakfast. I showed the confirmation breakfast included but she still had to speak to a supervisor. All this after trsvelling from 5 am from Ireland. Not good. We went to our room and were shockedcat yhe poor storage space and size of room. We all freshened up to go out for tea. We used the towels all 2 of them. I called reception for an iron and board and fresh towels for next morning. Im still waiting for the towels. Iron board arrived after several calls. It was then taken the next day. More calls to have it returned. The towels were not fresh. You could smell sweat from them, just drued but not freshm our bath room had hairs on floor from arrival and was never cleaned. Our beds were bed but room not cleaned, dirty glasses remained all week, used milk coffee etc, still on table, tabke not vkeaned rubish removed or floor hoovered - filthy. Breakfast was a shocker, sausages pink meat inside, bacon looked uncooked didnt touch that, never any eggs availabke, toast moved every morning. No room to make tea on a very small table. I asked reception acquery on local area was told to speak to conceirge, no one at yhis desk. Waited 15 mins and gave up. Bar staff grunted at me when I asked for iced water at night. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at and not convenient for tube. 20 min walk to kings cross. Taxi cost us £10 to/from station. I have been offered a partial refund and points which I have advised IHG and local management was not adequate due to nature of complaint. I did not want to publish this review but their response has led to this.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank elvis16877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Elvis 16877,

Thank you for contacting us again regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury.

We are profusely sorry that your stay was far from satisfactory and that we did not manage to restore your confidence in our service and brand, notwithstanding our genuine efforts, service recovery compensation and unreserved apologies from our General Manager and IHG Corporate Headquarters.

We sincerely hope that you will find a hotel that suits better your expectations and travel needs in your future travels. However we will be more than happy to have you back with us for an improved service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived in London to overnight before catching the train to Calais, France where we picked up our rent a car for our 4 days driving around the battlefields and memorials of WW1. We had booked the Holiday inn Express as it was close to the railway station. It turns out that it was a very good choice. The rooms was clean and fresh, the staff very helpful and the included breakfast was top rate. The staff also helped with any queries and our two extra bags that were not needed in France were kept in a safe room while we were gone for the four days. On our return, the holiday greeted us back and we were close enough to big ben etc for a lovely afternoon of wandering around London, Great place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great view of London's highrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kerrie H,

What a fantastic review! I am really glad to hear that you had a great holiday and stay with us. I will pass on your kind compliments to our staff.

Warm regards, hoping to see you again on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Went to london for weekend arrived at hotel to be told no reservation , booked 6 month earlier with supa breaks eventually got room at 2.00 oclock .Room was ok bathroom a bit dated , was supposed to be executive room only one dressing gown between 1 . Breakfast was cold and not lot of choice. Have stayed in other holiday inns that are really good but this one disappointing.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bethel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear bethel2,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel on your recent stay.

I am really sorry to hear that we did not impress you on this occasion. Your feedback is very important to us and be assured that your comments will be shared with the hotel staff for training purposes and corrective measures.

Thank you once again for letting us know your experience and we hope that we will have a chance to redeem ourselves and show you the quality of service we are accustomed to provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing