We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #411 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 night short break. The hotel came as part of the package so we were apprehensive but as it turned out we had no need to be. I think like most people on arrival we walked to the hotel (during day light hours) but quickly learned that the best way to travel is the 63 bus (especially if you have a pass), the bus runs frequently and the stop is right outside Kings X railway station and just down the road from the hotel. This bus also runs a night service. The hotel has a modern look, we checked in very quickly the staff were very pleasant. The room was on the 7th floor (though it did face the back of the hotel this was not a problem), it was quite large (1 double and 1 sofa bed which for some reason was made up so reducing the room size some what)
The bathroom was clean (no sign of mould on tiles, big plus point) the towels were ample and clean so we had no complaints. We were booked in for "Continental breakfast" and I think the hotel could do better with the selection of meats and cheeses, the same every day, no need to change the amount just change the selection every day. Other than that we had no complaints. Tables were kept clean and staff were attentive. We used the concierge several times and they were always helpful and pleasant. One negative point, the WIFI is expensive, in this day and age it should be free. When we checked out the hotel were happy to store our cases as we had an evening train. We would happily use this hotel the next time we are in London

Room Tip: Higher rooms, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Hugbell,

Thank you so much for your detailed review and suggestions.

We appreciate your honest feedback and custom. We are very happy that your stay with us was pleasant and that you made the most of it during your short break.

I am also pleased to read that you would consider a return in future. Please join our IHG Rewards Club program to enjoy a wide range of benefits, including free WIFI.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 3,079 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here 2 nights (26th-28th August) 2 adults and 3 children, ages 16,15 and 10. 15 minutes easy walk from St. Pancras. Very pleased with our 2 extremely clean rooms. Enjoyed the breakfast and ate twice in the restaurant which was particularly good; the child menu portions are big enough for an adult! The wifi was expensive and the pool was not available on the 28th due to low chlorine levels, but otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better because they are further away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolinejane_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Carolinejane_wright,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and your children had good time too. We do apologise for the swimming pool inconvenience and we hope that you will be able to use it soon on your next visit to London.

Thank you once again for sharing your good experience and we hope to welcoming you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Didn't enjoy this hotel at all. Very average hotel and uncomfortable bed. The location is also not very pleasant with some interesting characters wondering around. I usually stay in the premier inn at Kings Cross which is a great location and a much more modern hotel. I'll make sure I stay at the premier inn in future

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Jonathan D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury.

We are very disappointed to read that we did not impress you on this occasion. Our guests' satisfaction is very important to us and we take every comment seriously and constructively.
Please may I ask you to contact me at sales@holidayinnlondon.com, so that I can have the opportunity to address your concerns personally and restore your faith in our service. For your information we have exciting plans to refurbish all hotel rooms and upgrade our facilities in 2015.

Thank you once again for your custom and we hope to see you back for an improved experience in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I booked the Holiday Inn through Hotwire which is a discounted website that gives the location of the hotels but does not give you the name until you pay. We arrived at the Holiday Inn on Saturday 23rd August after been on the go from early that morning. Easy to find about 15 mins walk from Kings Cross station or grab the number 63 bus for 70 pence each. Good warm welcome from the trainee on the reception desk , as we were slightly early before the 2pm checkin the room was ready and the details were processed in a quick no hassle way. We went to the room on the 5th floor , door just outside the lifts , room clean tidy , 2 double beds tv , tea and coffee facility , hair dryer etc....Very pleased with the room no complaints.Left the luggage off and freshened up to go out for lunch , just across the street at the local pub , pub grub good. When we came back to the hotel in the afternoon we decided to go into the hotel bar for a drink , bar was not to busy one bar man on and a wait time of 25 minutes for a drink , you wont get drunk. It seemed that the guy behind the bar had no bar skills and his english was very limited , a good bar man should always know who is next to be served , he did not. The tables were cluttered with bottles , glasses and dirty plates from previous customers. I ordered bar food for the children which was a task trying to explain what i wanted , when it arrived it was cold as it sat at the end of the bar when it came from the kitchen. Not Impressed , the bar has allot of opportunity to do well buy numerous people walked out and went elsewhere. The transport that we used to and from Kings Cross was the Number 63 bus slighly down the street from the hotel .. every 10 - 15 mins. We found the tubes a breeze to use as i downloaded a free app on the iphone which was called tube map , put in your current location and destination and away you go could not be simpler. If this is your first time try and avoid the rush hrs can be quite daunting for some people if you do not like crowds. We pre-booked 4 attractions for the kids , London eye a great experience the queue was long but moved quickly, London dungeons hold onto your money a waste of time , sealife good but very short , madame tussauds well worth seeing , National history museum excellent , camden market a must see , this is only a few loads to do and see. the transport system around London was very good , grab yourself a oyster card and top up as you go along. The children had a great time will be back.

Room Tip: Elderly folks and family's you children request a ground or first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Paul D,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury on your recent family break and thank you for leaving such a detailed review. The complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal and we always appreciate your feedback and observations.

I am very disappointed to hear that our bar service made a poor impression on this occasion. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the members of staff concerned for training purposes and corrective measures. I very happy though that your room standards, reception and concierge services were to your liking.

Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back with your family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in August and was very pleased. Good size room with big comfortable bed. We walked to Oxford street and Picadilly Circus, then in the evening walked to Camden but we clocked up a fair few miles. It's a ten minute walk from st pancras which is great. Overall very pleased with breakfast service and food and would use this hotel again but use the tubes and busses more.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear AndyRhea,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience.

We are charmed to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us and that you are inclined to visit us again based on your positive experience.

Thank you once again for choosing the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My teenage son & I really enjoyed our 4 night stay in early August. Good value & location, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Only disappointment was the restricted pool hours for kids under 16. Pool closes at 7 pm for kids under 16 (he's a year shy of this) and we were just in from sightseeing/supper around that time so he was refused entry. I could see a 9 pm cut-off but 7 pm was, in our opinion, far too early (and we didn't have this issue anywhere else we stayed in Europe/UK in the hotels with pools).

Room Tip: We were given free wifi as I am an IHG member - otherwise there is a charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Leslie M,

Thank you so much for posting your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury and that you find our location and rate policy convenient.

I am sorry for the disappointment about our leisure club children opening time. This summer we have reviewed and extended the opening hours from 18.30 to 19.30, in order to meet our guests with children needs. At the same time we have to compromise and consider our senior guests requests and expectations.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights this weekend. Reception staff were fine and room was ready early. Room looked nice on the surface, but the bathroom was appalling. The bath panel, was damaged and dirty looking. You could see they had tried to repair it, to no avail which seems strange for the cost of a new bath panel. The bottom seal of the toilet was the same, and you could clearly see the toilet has leaked and soiled the base. Very disappointed. On the plus the evening meal was nice enough although not a lot of choice if you are on the meal included deal. Breakfast was very nice. Don't know how this hotel is a 4 star though.

Room Tip: Don't have room 418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Louisa989,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kings Cross/Bloomsbury for your recent stay and for letting us know your personal experience.

I am truly sorry to hear that your room standard was below expectations. Our maintenance team will investigate this further to identify any of the faults highlighted. The hotel has exciting plans to upgrade and modernize our product in the forthcoming future.

On a different note, I am very pleased that our Reception staff, breakfast and dinner meals made it up being of your satisfaction.

Again, thank you for reaching out to us and we hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back for an improved service in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing