We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Good Location, with some reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Ranked #378 of 1,067 Hotels in London
New York
2 reviews
“Clean, Comfortable, Good Location, with some reservations”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a recently refurbished room that was clean and comfortable as well as reasonably quiet. The staffing was excellent. Given the location and price, relative to others in the area, it seemed to be a good value. Access to direct transportation to the airport or rail station is a block away.
What gave the brand a strong negative was the additional (and absurd) pricing for wifi, something freely available across the street at Starbucks, the cost of food and drink within the hotel, and the mini bar fridge that aside from being overpriced, was so "wired" as to instantly charge you if you so much as move an item, as we did to store a small yogurt. The charge was removed upon complaint, but really, who sells and contracts these ideas to the company thinking it does anything other than engender negative brand perception? Is it really that revenue positive?
Of course we are writing this as everyday consumers and not corporate travelers whose tab is covered and tax deducted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear CharlesBNewYork,
I am enormously pleased to hear that you chose to stay at The Holiday Inn Mayfair during your recent visit to London. I understand why you may have arrived at the conclusion you described. However, the mini-bar is sensor operated as this negates the need for a personal inspection on each departure and not at all for the purpose of revenue generation. We appreciate that the mini-bar is frequently used for cold storage which involves the movement of its content and we are happy for this to take place. Our reception staff will remove these erroneous charges immediately on notification. In our unquenchable drive to provide better value for money, we have recently introduced free wi-fi for many of our rewards members and will soon be offering this to all participants.
I trust that you will consider joining our Rewards Club for all the associated benefits and return to us when you next visit London.

Yours faithfully

Paul Spencer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    957
    388
    127
    65
See reviews for
735
623
111
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is just superb in one of the best locations in London. I can't recommend it highly enough for being at the heart of everything you will want from your trip to London. Good sized room, great coffee in the bar area, oh and some lovely Prosecco one afternoon. Will certainly stay here again in the future. I just wish the price of the breakfast was more competative, my wife and I wanted to breakfast at the hotel but didn't want the price tag that went with it, so opted to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVIEWKINGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear REVIEWKINGGlasgow,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, Our prices for breakfast are in line, and in some cases cheaper, than our competitors. We offer a fantastic buffet breakfast, with something to appeal to all ages - I hope you give it a try next time you stay with us. Thank you once again!

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have just spent the last two nights in London and following a great stay here a while ago decided to stay again. Was going to spend both nights here but opted to stay at a The Crowne Plaza St James for the second night..... That was a mistake!! This hotel is perfectly located and check in was absolutely great. I was greeted by the reception manager who was quick to recognise my platinum priority club status and immediately offered a room upgrade, a 500 point voucher and said we have already allocated you a 2pm late checkout the following day. Great customer service! The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and despite looking over a busy street was very quiet. My only complaint would be the size of the bath. This may be pretty standard for older Holiday Inns but it really would be nice to have a bath you could actually use. Other than that I would not hesitate to return here on my next visit to London

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear AndyC
Thank you for another good review of Holiday Inn London Mayfair - it's always good to know that our guests enjoy their stay and feel welcomed and comfortable during their visit. We hope to see you back here very soon!

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel. Staff were friendly, room was nice size and great value. location is excellent and within 15mins of everything you could ever want from London. Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jacobisaac

It's great to read such a fantastic review - your comments are exactly what we strive for on a daily basis. Many thanks - we are already looking forward to your next visit to Holiday Inn London-Mayfair!

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Hotel is in the middle of everywhere you want to be. Well worth every pound spent at this property. Location, Location, Location! Rooms were very nice and clean, antique finishes, old world charm with new world amenities.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Allen F

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn London Mayfair, and we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you for posting such a great review.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better – 50ft from the Green Park tube station, opposite the Ritz and within 10 min walk of Buckingham Palace, Hide Park, Old Bond Street and Green Park itself.

As a platinum member I was upgraded to an exec room which was large by London standards but maybe could do with a bit of a facelift.

Breakfast was ok but rather busy when we went down at 9.30 on a Saturday.

Overall I would stay recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderinggiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Wanderinggiraffe,

Thank you so much for your great review - you are absolutely right, the hotel cannot be beaten for location. I am delighted to tell you that all our rooms are currently undergoing refurbishment - hopefully you'll be back soon and will see the difference!

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

a hotel which is quite average but the the location is unbelievable and you can get to anywhere in london in no time buses underground next door hotel is fine if you dont like the the ritz is right across the road There is a good bar in hotel food is average but you are next door to starbucks and a 1000 other options

iv stayed there 10 times in 3 years

Room Tip: upper room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Scott F

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn London-Mayfair very soon.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#569 of 1,067 in London
2,222 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#479 of 1,067 in London
1,054 reviews
The May Fair Hotel
#220 of 1,067 in London
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#166 of 1,067 in London
1,644 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#370 of 1,067 in London
222 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#114 of 1,067 in London
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Mayfair

Property: Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing