We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Ranked #385 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I agree with most folks reviewing this hotel that the location is second to none.
Staff were very attentive and we were pleased with the service we received.
The public areas were clean and very presentable, and the bedrooms were clean but the one we had looked tired.
The 1 thing that I find silly at this hotel is that you have to pay for WiFi, come on you can go to
McDonalds and get FREE unlimited WiFi !!
It is good value for money given the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFussyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mrs.FussyLincolnshire

I really appreciate your positive comments following your recent visit to our hotel. It's always a great pleasure to read that our guests enjoy their stay. And, great news, from 1st July ALL IHG Reward Members will enjoy the benefit of free Wifi, so please do join IHG Rewards if you are not already a member to get this and even more rewards.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London Mayfair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here 5 nights. Excellent staff and room. Never bothered by cleaning staff. Be sure to ask for the coupon for breakfast if you choose to eat in their restaurant. Would liked to had room in the mini refrig for our water bottles.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Marilyn S
It was great to read that you enjoyed your 5 day stay here at Holiday Inn London-Mayfair and obviously hope we are your first choice when you next have the opportunity to stay in London.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been staying in this hotel for 18 years. We love the location. And we like the staff.
The hotel itself has had ups and downs, It use to be a charming English boutique hotel. About 8 years ago they started to Modernize it. Some things.. bathrooms were a definite upgrade. The public rooms look like a cheap holiday in the us midwest. Vinyl everywhere. yuck. But good news.on our last stay the food, although $$$ had improved. New chef.
We decided to explore the Ritz hotel across the street as a possible upgrade in the Future. Not only is it twice the $$ but the Ritz refused to show us any of the hotel except the entrance. The Rest was for "Hotel guests only."" How Snobby!! I can understand having some rooms for hotel guests only but the whole lobby.. Silly. We will stay at the Holiday Inn again as we don't do snobby. Ridiculous!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive toom but skip the breakfast. Lots of places to eat around the hote.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear harrodsfan
I was so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that you like the location and staff. We really appreciate your on-going loyalty to the hotel and realise that you always have a choice, so for guests to return time and again is so important to us.

Thank you!

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotels can get it really right, or they can miss it. And this place misses it. In this location, it should be great, but I'm afraid I just can't get past the tiredness of the place. Staff in ill fitting suits, overall feel that it is a bit scruffy and the rooms are just drab, with old fashioned furniture, poor bathroom fittings and tired carpets. This place needs some thought - smarten the rooms, tidy up the staff and make more of the open areas and you're getting something that might just fit into the location. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast decent and the location really speaks for itself. Checked out the morning after and paid £45 more to stay in The Soho Hotel - now THAT's how to do it properly - take not IHG. And £5 per hour for wifi - come on , free wifi surely should be the standard now.......

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear TimW

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your constructive and helpful comments. We are constantly trying to improve standards within the constraints we have, and feedback such as yours always helps us to re-look at our guests' experience. I was happy to learn you enjoyed breakfast and had a comfortable night, which is an important part of any hotel stay.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is in the upscale neighbourhood of Mayfair. It is close to Piccadilly, the Ritz Hotel, and the theatre district. It is walking distance to Trafalgar Square and Hyde Park.

The business centre consists of one computer and printer. I tried to use it to book train tickets but the internet was too slow and crappy. There are various prices for in room wifi depending on how long you're staying and it works fairly well. You can only hook up 2 devices.

Because we are IHG members, were told we were upgraded to an Executive Suite. It looked like a standard hotel in North America. Bed was comfy and there was ample room for two people in the room.The room had all the usual amenities including a large TV with on demand movies and fully stocked mini-fridge.

Room was very clean and all staff were helpful. There was some occasional noises from ventilation or something in the room but nothing too bothersome. The shower controls were a bit tricky to work out. Room 544 had no view to speak, was close to the elevator but we only heard late night voices a few times. There were no traffic noise.

There is an onsite restaurant/bar and room service. There's a pharmacy next store and a grocery store a couple blocks away. There are plenty of high end restaurants to eat at in the vicinity of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear tshep42

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay here at Holiday Inn London-Mayfair. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be just what you wanted. I do hope we can welcome you again on your next visit.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went for a three-night weekend in London, using IHG Club points, plus we paid extra for an upgrade to an Executive room. We were a bit concerned that the room was just opposite the lifts but in the event we were not disturbed by any noise from the lifts or people using them.
The room smelled of stale food, which was not a good start, although it faded over 24 hours. There was only one bathrobe for the two of us. To request a second one, we made two phone-calls to reception (housekeeping wasn't answering), called at the front desk twice when we happened to be passing and asked a housekeeping supervisor whom we saw in a corridor. Of these, only 1 of the phone-calls actually resulted in any action - and the extra bathrobe disappeared again when the room was made up the next day. Although the one which did arrive appeared to be freshly laundered, there were some obvious stains around the collar. Also some similar stains on a face flannel (also apparently freshly laundered).
Room make up was a bit tardy - we had to phone to ask for someone to service the room at 15:15 one day - and then found one teaspoon unwashed on the tea tray.
We didn't take breakfast at the hotel: we got very good breakfasts for the two of us at local cafes (Cafe de Pierre, Cafe Concerto, Langan's Brasserie) at a total of less than the cost of one (even at a special discounted rate) at the hotel. If you only want coffee, perhaps cereal and a croissant, it seems a bit much to have to pay for the full English.
We quite enjoyed a cuppa in Nightingales (in the hotel). There is a huge picture window, which I likened to 10-Forward on the USS Enterprise, although the view of passing people and the building opposite is a bit less exotic than stars and galaxies!
So, all in all a bit of a disappointment. I have stayed at Holiday Inns in many cities in Europe and the USA on business trips and this one just did not measure up to my previous experience.
Will we stay again? Probably not, despite the convenient location for various engagements we had in London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANDH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Martin W,

Thank you for your constructive comments - in view of the issues you have raised, I will send you a personal message, to try to restore your faith in our hotel.

Regards, Paul Spencer - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel. Staff were excellent. Rooms updated, clean and very comfortable. We only had a few days in London and this was the perfect location for exploring all the major sights. Loved it and fully recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Sue L

It was such a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great comments!

Regards, Paul Spencer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#616 of 1,072 in London
2,310 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#490 of 1,072 in London
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,072 in London
1,749 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#223 of 1,072 in London
4,707 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Mayfair

Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £174 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing