We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, not a fancy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Ranked #387 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I booked this hotel on hotwire so at $119/nite, so in getting such a great deal for central london of course my heart sank a little when i learned the name of the hotel....holiday inn? hhmmmph....and after reading a couple of bad reviews I was nervous to stay there, BUT I will say that my mom, sister and I all stayed there for 5 nights and we enjoyed it very much. It is just around the corner from green park which has 3 underground lines (victoria, picadilly and jubilee) which means getting around london in just a few stops no matter where you are going. We were able to walk to buckingham palace for our tour....so location is fantastic. Was the hotel fancy? No. I agree with others that rooms were small, but this in LONDON people...I actually was surprised by how roomy the hotel was with toilets in the lobby, a restaurant, and one computer for internet use. The pillow menu was nice, but it took then 4 hours to get us pillows and the concierge when I called down to ask a very simple question just said "come down and look at the list" that is not the response I am used to from a concierge. Overall as long as you don't pay too much I think this hotel was fine. If you are celebrating or looking for a hotel with amenities...I would look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PharmD_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very glad that you found our hotel pleasing and hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevators are receiving attention and we expect full service with-in a few weeks. We are also reviewing the service offered by our staff and assure you that improvements are already evident.

All feedback both positive and otherwise is shared with our teams on a regular basis with a view to improving the standards that we pride ourselves on consistently delivering here at the hotel.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

This hotel is fancy due to its great location btw Green Park and Picadilly Circus. Rooms are clean but need some refurbishment. All in all a good value - when you get a good price. I would go again, but mainly due to its location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke_Skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very glad that you found our hotel pleasing and hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevators are receiving attention and we expect full service with-in a few weeks. We are also reviewing the service offered by our staff and assure you that improvements are already evident.

All feedback both positive and otherwise is shared with our teams on a regular basis with a view to improving the standards that we pride ourselves on consistently delivering here at the hotel.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Breakfast (10 pounds), internet (17 pounds), switcher to euro plug (2 pounds), elevator (does not work), hair dryer (does not work), hair conditioner (does not exist), shower cap (does not exist) - horrible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very pleased that you stayed with us.
However, we are most disappointed to learn that your experience with other aspects and staff of the hotel ‘had been less than satisfactory’, please accept our sincere apologies. We will be looking at each of the issues you raised, sharing them with our teams with a view to preventing any such reoccurrence.

We would be delighted to see you again, please do contact us at himayfair-guestrelations@ihg.com so we can assist with your next visit to London.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Mayfair September 18-19. The location was excellent - very close to the underground and a short walk to Buckingham Palace. We were 4 in the room with 2 double beds. It was small. The hotel was older and a bit tired. Our room looked out to the Starbucks across the street. That road was quiet, but the road at the corner was not and kept us up at night. The kids loved the pillow menu. This was the only hotel we visited on our trip (9 nights in 5 hotels) that I would not stay in again as we didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlbmlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very glad that you found our hotel pleasing and hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevators are receiving attention and we expect full service with-in a few weeks. We are also reviewing the service offered by our staff and assure you that improvements are already evident.
I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by extraneous noises and we are checking our windows in order to prevent a reoccurence of this.
All feedback both positive and otherwise is shared with our teams on a regular basis with a view to improving the standards that we pride ourselves on consistently delivering here at the hotel.


Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

As I said, replace all staff other than Keith, with the homeless people we met outside on the streets because they had more class than the staff and were more friendly and helpful! Oh, I would rate this hotel a big ZERO if I could! The hotel wanted $400 up front for a security deposit which we have never had to do anywhere else and we have traveled many places. As soon as we walked into our room, my exact words were, "EEEW!!" I could not believe we were paying this much for such a dump! The walls were dirty and the carpet was covered with stains and everytime we came back to the room it smelled! There was only one elevator working and it took forever to get to our floor! Many times we had to use the stairs which lead all the way to the other side of the hotel outside in a courtyard. All staff were pretty much worthless and extremely rude, except for one conceirge named Keith. One particular conceirge made us miss one of our tours, so we had to reschedule it, thank goodness we could, and he actually even said to me, "Don't make me have to get rude with you", and when I handed him the phone back he slammed it down. He is lucky I controlled my temper! Housekeeping kept adusting our AC and it really did not work all that great either. I noticed the mini bar was missing two Pepsi's the first night we got there and of course the hotel tried to charge me for the drinks, but that did not happen. Two of the front desk female clerks (should have gotten names) were very rude, never said hello or good morning and we actually caught them giving my daughters dirty looks, how unprofessional! The restaurant's food was disgusting and over priced! We asked for two wake up calls, one was an hour late, and the other we never recieved, and that was the call to get us up to go to the airport and go home. Thank goodness the driver we hired came into the hotel lobby and asked staff to call us. The staff did not even come up to help us with our luggage and said they did make a wake up call to us! Also, don't expect to watch TV, the variety sucked with only a few channels and no local channels to view weather or news. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend, NO!! I would not even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! I just wonder where were the roaches hiding?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntiHldyInnMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very pleased that you found our location to your liking.

We are most disappointed to learn that your experience with other aspects and staff of the hotel ‘had been less than satisfactory’, please accept our sincere apologies. We will be looking at each of the issues you raised, sharing them with our teams with a view to preventing any such reoccurrence.
We are reviewing the services offered by our staff, the maintenance of the rooms, our elevators service and the competiveness of our rates. I am please to say that already improvements have been made.

We would be delighted to see you again, please do contact us at himayfair-guestrelations@ihg.com so we can assist with your next visit to London.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

stayed here with a person in a wheelchair. the room was excellent, pity there was no shower but lots of space. very good location, close to a lot of sights. the staff was very courtious, gave every bit of help and information that we needed. there are two elevators but one is out of order due to renovations so long waits wich is a pity when you cannot use the staircase. the hotel is definitely older and a bit tired, but good staff, clean and a good breakfast. overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paars_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very glad that you found our hotel pleasing and hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevators are receiving attention and we expect full service with-in a few weeks. We are also reviewing the service offered by our staff and assure you that improvements are already evident. We endeavour to make our rates highly competitive and trust you will find this so in the future.

All feedback both positive and otherwise is shared with our teams on a regular basis with a view to improving the standards that we pride ourselves on consistently delivering here at the hotel.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Booked this room using free room offer so no charge, the room itself seemed ok but a little tired, the tv reception was very poor most channels unwatchable but it was the bathroom that caused most concern! there was black mould all round the bath and fittings and the bathroom door could not be closed at all.
This is the first time that I have ever had to complain at a Holiday Inn, the reception seemed very surprised that there should be a problem but offered me another room this was a big improvement but the bathroom still left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robhiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relation Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write and post a review. Only you can tell us if we are meeting your needs and expectations, we were very pleased that you stayed in our hotel.

We are most disappointed to learn that your experience with other aspects and staff of the hotel ‘had been less than satisfactory’, please accept our sincere apologies. We will be looking at each of the issues you raised, sharing them with our teams with a view to preventing any such reoccurrence.

We would be delighted to see you again, please do contact us at himayfair-guestrelations@ihg.com so we can assist with your next visit to London.

Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Online Hotel Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#122 of 1,077 in London
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#638 of 1,077 in London
2,361 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#486 of 1,077 in London
1,114 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#39 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Mayfair

Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#297 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £164 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing