We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Ranked #310 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Central location but disappointing hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We chose this hotel because we're hilton rewards members and the location looked good. There's a main train/subway location walking distance from the hotel and it's near sights like Buckingham Palace, which was convenient. We paid extra to be upgraded to an "executive" room that was supposed to be larger and with a king-sized bed. The first room they gave us was on the too floor but was directly next to the elevator. We could hear it every time it moved! The balcony was huge, which seemed great, until we realized we shared it with the room next to ours. It was creepy because the glass sliding door didn't lock properly so it made the room way less secure. They didn't have another room available but said they'd move us to a junior suite for the second bad third nights of our stay. They asked us to leave our bags packed in the room and they would move them to our new room in the morning while we were sightseeing. The bed didn't have a box spring, just a mattress on a frame so it was very uncomfortable! And the bathroom was only partially renovated.
We came back at 5pm the next day and the new people at the front desk knew nothing about our room change. They had no suites available and we got stuck in the same horrible room for the second night. We asked them to refund us our upgrade fee, which they agreed to. I asked for this in writing, and asked for the managers business card. She didn't have cards (too new an employee?) and eventually hand wrote a note agreeing to the refund. Thankfully I got this because the upgrade charge was not removed and there were no notes about it in our file when we went to check out!!
On the third night we were moved to a junior suite. There was construction going on, and the windows had film on them.
Overall, indifferent staff and a disappointing hotel. Lots of other guests complaining at the front desk. I'm surprised they're still a hilton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyGKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DollyGKW,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest feedback are critical to us in order to continuously improve upon the services and standards we currently offer.

We will need to investigate the noise disturbance as we don't have historical data suggesting random or permanent issue. The balcony access door which I assumed you refer as the sliding door, has a latch and 2 retainers. I have checked this room lock and whilst it function, the mechanism can be improved. I can confidently say that as part of our refurbishment, the bathroom were all newly installed, beds-part of the sweet dream experience -brand standard accredited which means they will be the same in all DoubleTree hotels. I can only apologise for the confusion and lack of appropriate customer service our team demonstrated on this occasion and can give you some assurance the above will be addressed accordingly.

I would like to assure you that your opinion is valued and thank you again for bringing these points to our attention once more

Regards,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    794
    251
    73
    46
See reviews for
518
628
103
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've stayed here a few times previously, and had classed this hotel as "emergency only". I was very pleasantly surprised this time, as they've refurbished most of the rooms now, and the additional noise reduction features have made a HUGE difference to a peaceful night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dave,

It’s always a pleasure to see a valued guest returning to our hotel and I am very happy to read your satisfaction following our multi million pound refurbishment. Hopefully, we will now move from an emergency hotel to your preferred choice.

Thank you for your feedback and see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Convenient location near Victoria Station, great breakfast places nearby. Comfortable beds, very quite room. Conceirge was very helpful. Close to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaill203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear gaill203,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback.

I am delighted we contributed to a pleasant trip to London and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff, rooms, food and location were all excellent. Everyone was friendly and eager to please. Breakfast was hearty and you will fall in love with the traditional English Breakfast. The hotel is next door to Victoria station and close to Buckingham Palace, Harrods, and Westminster Abby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Walter C,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers.

We are delighted every aspect of your stay was positive, from location to our product and services. We too feel very fortunate to have another valued guest enjoying their time with us and look forward to achieving the same level of satisfaction on your next visit to the hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Picked this Hotel as next to Victoria Station and close for British Pullman the next day. Warm welcome really surpassed our expectations, room was lovely and most staff really helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I find that travelling around Europe, many good and not cheap Hotels are becoming extremely complicated when it comes to some services.

The double tree by Hilton in Victoria is a good business hotel, reasonably close to center of London, you can practically walk (15 minutes) to parliament square, Hyde Park corner or Buckingham Palace but, breakfast is not included, getting a WiFi connection did not seem the most comfortable (for some reason from my room I could not use the option for introducing your room number and name and I had to ask in reception to get user and password, even for the public WiFi in lobby).

The rooms are good rooms, perfectly new and clean with good bathrooms but again, it is starting to be the little things that are annoying in many good European Hotels, minibar is empty? suddenly I get up during the night, want a cold during, open the fridge and nothing! I just do not understand why they do this...Also do not understand the point of having rooms with two single beds pushed together, a normal queen size is probably less costly and more comfortable.

Again, I think is a good Hilton Hotel, you will not find anything wrong with it but seems like this little inconveniences are starting to get a bit annoying for me personally. I am in a Hotel, I do not want to have to plan when to get WiFi, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear ngutierrez1972,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback.

Little things do matter and I am very sorry for the issue you experienced with our Wifi. The system is fully interfaced with the front desk and should be able to get you connected with your name and room number so please accept my sincere apology if that was not the case on this occasion. Minibar can be filled upon request as indicated but not a standard available in all room types. We opted to leave the minibar in our rooms following a survey with our valued guest which was perceived as a convenient amenity. As for twin rooms, our aim is to maximise the living space and as you would expect, twins are a room of choice for colleagues or friends travelling together.

Your opinion is valued and I would like to thank you again for bringing these points to our attention.

regards,

Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice staff who were helpful when I needed a late check-out and was met by my daughter who needed to drop her bag off while we went for lunch. Accommodating and service minded which is either rare or often times overdone. Great balance. It really was just what I needed and expected for a nights stay on business. A practical location. Next to Victoria station is ideal even if it is not the prettiest location in London. I will stay here again and made a reservation for my next visit. It is the second Hilton DoubleTree Hotel I have used in London. I have liked both and the service level is consistent. You know what to expect and that is what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTlonvc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Eric R,

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

We are delighted to read we provided a perfect balance for your London trip. Your word very much described the philosophy and standard we aim to consistently achieve which makes it all more rewarding for our dedicated team .

We truly hope to see you again soon on your next visit

Kind Regards,
Issam Abid
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#245 of 1,067 in London
4,247 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,067 in London
1,564 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#196 of 1,067 in London
3,928 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#678 of 1,067 in London
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Address: 2 Bridge Place, London SW1V 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#208 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Victoria Station, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London – Victoria provides its valued guests with immediate link to the London wide public transport network, Gatwick via the gatwick express and Heathrow airports as well as some the city’s most popular points of interest. Major attractions, such as Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye and the famous West end are within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Victoria Hotel
Hesperia London Hotel
Hesperia London Victoria
Hesperia Victoria London
Hesperia Hotel London Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing