We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, classic hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental London Park Lane
Ranked #187 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for one night (Saturday). It was actually a 'Secret Hotel' booked through a website who tell you the name of the hotel after you have paid (keeping the price low). We were so pleased as we paid an extremely reasonable price for a lovely classic hotel. Everything from check in to check out was great. Very clean and elegant with the most comfortable pillows I have ever had! We were on the 5th floor and it was very quiet, although the view wasn't great, we over looked the 'inside' of the hotel on to other rooms, but this didn't bother us atall. Location is good especially for Piccadilly/Mayfair/Buckingham Palace etc, and is easy to get there (Green Park Tube). Will definately return here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental London Park Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed with my family at the Intercontinental London Park Lane between 8-17th of July, 2011 and I enjoyed every moment of my stay. We stayed in a One Bedroom Suite that was luxuriously decorated and it was quite spacious compared to other hotels in London. Our suite had a separate living room with a sofa bed and that made it accommodate 3 adults in total. The corridors to the rooms, however, are a bit outdated and need refurbishment to go along with the newly decorated rooms/suites. We had access to the Club Intercontinental lounge where they served excellent breakfast, snacks in the afternoon, drinks in the evenings, refreshments and cookies all day, and free internet. The Club had stunning views over Hyde Park and it was very nicely decorated. The staff were extremely helpful and managed to attend all of our requests promptly. The hotel location could not be better, it is within walking distance to the best areas in London (Knightsbridge, Mayfair, Oxford Street, Bond Street, Hyde Park) and it is very close to Hyde Park Corner Underground station. I have no complains about my stay and would definitely stay there the next time I visit London. Emad AbuHendi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Its always a shame such 5 stars hotels are still not giving speedy & free internet services to their guests !

A shame really!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaudN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Location very nice. Close to everything.
Exceptional big rooms, excellent king-size high bed with a very comfi matrass, staff exceptional, 2-time-a-day housekeeping, enough room in closet, very nice bathroom with replenished soaps, shampoos etc.
Breakfast very nice, fresh, with vegetables and fruits, exceptional English tea, magic lobby atmosphere. 5 delux, no less.... recommended for everyone, not cheap though...

Room Tip: Even the standard room is very very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

If you don't want to do a lot of research when looking for a hotel in London, this property is almost a no-brainer. Located in the corner of Green Park and Hyde Park, it's a short stroll to Knightsbridge or a 20-minute walk to Piccadilly Circus. Good sized room and good shower. But keep in mind that it comes with all the pros and cons of a huge chain hotel. Important to note: no free internet access in rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed for a week at the Intercontinental Hotel on Park Lane in May 2010.
Not a cheap hotel (but nothing is cheap in London) but well worth the price.
Here is what I liked:
+ Very central, subway a few meters away, Oxford Street 10 minutes away
+ Very nice upscale and clean area
+ Very friendly attentive personal: be it the doorman, the baggage man, the reception, the concierge (thanks for all the restaurant reservations)
+ Good gym
+ Theo Randal restaurant: great Italian food (loved those Bruscetas)

What I didn't like:
- 15 Pounds per Day for internet connection! Most good hotels offer FREE internet connection or at least rates that become progressively cheaper the longer they are (like 3, 5, 7 day passes). It really is extortion as the guests have no other choice!
- 5 Pounds for a puny small bottle of water in the minibar? I saw many hotel guests entering the hotel with plastic bags of Marks & Spencer with water bottles.
If the mini bar products were not so outrageously and ridiculously expensive, people would consume them more!
- The invoice bill had a number of mistakes and it took me 3 attempts to have them corrected.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forsyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is the second stay in this hotel, but also our last.

With our points we reserved a room for our anniversary. We emailed the hotel upfront to inform them we had an anniversary. When checking in we were told that we did not get any upgrades as the hotel was fully booked, but that we would get an upgrade for the second and third night. Later that night friends arrived and they got an upgrade (non IHG members). We also heard a couple talking that they got a free upgrade, but we as Platinum members do not get things for free.
At night there was a party in the hotel. We heard music till late in the night. We also heard neighbors coming and going during the night, but as we would stay only one night in this room we did not complain.

The next day our friends had problems with checking out. They wanted that the bill was charged to another credit card then they made the reservation with. The receptionist informed them that this is not possible. The friends said that they informed the hotel upfront about this and that they got an email from the hotel. The receptionist said that she could change it, but that she was not willing to. My friends asked what this is because it was promised. Then the receptionist told them that they have to show the email and if they can that she will do this, otherwise she is refusing to do her job. The friends showed the mail and with a very arrogant face the lady changed the creditcard, she was not happy.

As the reception promised us an upgrade for the 2nd and 3rd night, we had to pack our luggage and the staff would move everything. This is very good service. So we packed everything in the morning. When we asked for our new room keys the receptionist informed us that they are not giving us the promised upgrade. We said it was promised by one of the receptionists. The manager informed us the hotel was not fully booked but we did not get any upgrades. So the hotel promises things and does not live up to them. They also did not do anything with the anniversary. We were at Alain Ducasse and there we got an anniversary cake during dinner. This is service you expect in good restaurants and in good hotels, but service at Intercontinental is not possible!

We asked the concierge to recommend a French restaurant. They made the reservation for us but not at a French restaurant, although they said it was French. The food was not good. If the concierge is recommending these kind of restaurants I don't know it anymore.

The room is very clean, but that's it. I do not like this hotel at all. The staff has an attitude. You can be lucky to be serviced by the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,072 in London
1,109 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#340 of 1,072 in London
3,187 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#49 of 1,072 in London
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Address: 1 Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £276 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing