We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,067 Hotels in London
tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights from June 9-11, 2014. We were traveling with a large group. The rooms are very small, but were fine for just the two of us in the room. The bathroom is small, but I expected that with the size of the room. The power outlets were a little tricky and had to have the item plugged in a certain way to keep the charge. The bed was terrible, but we were so tired in the evenings, we didn't care! Internet is 5 pounds per day here. The hotel bar staff was very accomodating to our sometimes loud crew late in the evenings. The location here just cannot be beat. Upon a return trip to London, we might just stay here again, just the two of us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eowensby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    1,038
    502
    135
    54
See reviews for
472
840
95
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Gate Hotel. It's in a perfect location--near the hop-on, hop-off bus, which we like to take when we visit London. The rooms are a bit small and there are lots and lots of stairs. You may want to ask for help getting up to your room. Plus, the stairs are rather shallow. My husband fell while traversing the stairs and is still in the healing process two weeks later. Look before you step! Breakfast was good. We enjoyed cocktails in the evening and specialty coffees in the morning. Staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. Good choice for a few days in the city.

Room Tip: We were put into a room that required many stairs to get to it, including lots of twists and turns w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at the Lancaster Gate Hotel last week for four nights. Beds were comfy, service was great and the hotel staff was very helpful in giving us help with directions when needed, and responded very fast when the tv remote control died. We had the breakfast included for convenience and there were a lot of choices. Of course, skip the English coffee.....Tube stations were close as is Hyde Park and it was in a nice quiet area. Only issue I had was that the tub was hard to get in and out of as it is quite tall. At 5'2 it was difficult. Also, the water in the shower was either very hot (almost scalding) or very cold. I could not get a good temperature.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelalot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay and, in particular, that you were afforded a high level of customer care.

Your comments regarding the shower were disappointing. We are always more than happy to assist guests with any maintenance issue when problems are brought to our attention.

Once again, we thank you for your time as your feedback is invaluable to us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location for a trip to London - close to two tube stations and minutes from bus stops. Opposite lovely Kensington Gardens and plenty of restaurants and shops around.
I have just had my second 8 night stay this year, and the hotel standards were as high as ever. Helpful staff, generous sized room and spotlessly clean - nothing at all to find fault with.

Room Tip: Ask for a forward facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We were delighted to hear that you decided to return to the Hotel and that you found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard.

It is always very encouraging to receive a positive review like yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel if the occasion arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our family of 5 had booked 2 rooms for a 7 night stay in June and found the hotei

Our family of 5 had booked 2 rooms for a 7 night stay in London in June. The rooms were cosy, well maintained and had good amenities though it would have helped if the bathrooms had been a little bigger. The hotel itself was located on a quiet upmarket street which ran parallel to the busy Bayswater Road. Therefore it was easy to get taxis and was situated within walking distance to the tubes and eateries.
To me what really stood out was the professional and courteous service provided by the staff especially at the front desk, reservation and restaurant. People like Mathew, Andrew, Fabrizia and Nilesh to name just a few seemed to go the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as
possible. To them I say keep
up the good work. Will
recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnilRadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay and, in particular, that you were afforded a high lever of customer care. Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and it is always encouraging to receive such a positive review.

The Lancaster Gate Hotel sincerely hopes to be able to welcome you back on any future trips to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Hotel is perfectly situated for bus and tube transport to major attractions. Hotel in good and quiet area. Staff were great. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Only complaints are that the bed was of poor quality and was very noisy. Also, could not believe that I had to pay (albeit 1pound per item) for luggage storage while waiting for departure.

Room Tip: Do not take a bed in basement level and try to get room at back of hotel on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you benefited from the enviable location of the Hotel, and that you also enjoyed our buffet style breakfast.

Luggage storage in the hotel is very limited and priority has to be given to guests arriving at the hotel. Therefore it is necessary for the hotel to levy a very small charge for left luggage which is far below the cost at major airports and train stations.

Once again we thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic location just off Bayswater Road near Hyde Park and situated in a classy street. Close to two tube stations, plenty of eating options ( nothing fancy though) on nearby Queensway road and we walked to Portobello road for the Saturday market. Hotel is not luxurious but our room was clean, large enough with a decent ensuite. Airconditioning worked well although there was an a bit of noise from the large units not far from our inside facing window. No road noise at all. Mattress was a bit on the firm side but they provided another duvet to soften it up. We passed on the pricey breakfast preferring some options along Bayswater or Queensway roads. WiFi is £5 per day which is pretty outrageous. For London this hotel represents excellent value based on a three night stay in a ground floor room. The hotel has a late check out of midday officially but seems that guests are allowed to stay until1pm and depending on level of reservations can be extended to 4 or 5pm for £10 per hour after 1pm to 4pm. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are lower ground rooms that did not appeal to us - may be worth avoiding although we have noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and that you found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard. It is always very encouraging for the hotel and the staff to receive such a positive and complimentary review.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#235 of 1,067 in London
3,465 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,067 in London
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,067 in London
1,929 reviews
The Columbia
#527 of 1,067 in London
840 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#414 of 1,067 in London
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing