We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 7 nights at Lancaster gate Hotel. Since we arrived early before check-in time, our room was not ready so we left our bags at the reception and walked to Portebello Market. Service was excellent. The triple room we had was adequate for the 3 of us. Room was clean and beds comfortable. Excellent location is close to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Downside no free wifi! Otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    1,038
    501
    134
    54
See reviews for
471
839
95
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Chester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I traveled from July 17-27, 2014. This hotel was picked from expedia because we could have 3 people share a room. Not sure why, but it was kind of difficult to find a hotel to accommodate 3 of us. Location was good – parallel to Hyde Park in between 2 tube stations. Hotel was very clean and had a bar & restaurant (they had the same menu). There is no a/c in the halls to rooms, and the a/c in the rooms isn’t very powerful. London (or Europe in general) isn’t a huge fan of air conditioning (as we are in the states) – so it takes some getting used to (mall, stores, pubs – common not to have any a/c). Wi-Fi is an extra charge. There is only 1 outlet in the bedroom – which proved a little challenging for 3 people with cell phones. You can borrow a power strip with extra plugs for a daily fee. I thought this was a little ridiculous that in this day & age – there would only be 1 outlet. Staff was helpful though. Also – just note that places stop serving food by 9:45-10pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Lancaster Gate Hotel for 3 nights.
The nearest tube station is ‘Lancaster gate’ (when you come out of ‘Lancaster gate’ tube station turn right go straight up the road, pasted ‘The Swan’ pub and the hotel is about 2 minutes’ walk away on your right hand side).
The hotel is also about a 5 or 10 minute walk to/from Paddington train station (but we only realised this on our last day)
We arrived about 10pm, Check-In was very smooth and the reception lady was polite and informed us about breakfast times etc…
Our room was on the 6th floor, the room was very clean and complete with Tea/Coffee making facilities, Trouser Press, Electronic safe, Flat screen TV (with loads on TV channels to choose from) Fridge, seating area and working desk, there was also extra pillows / blankets too (which was ideal as I like a lot of pillows)
The bathroom was very clean, and had a Shower & Bath; it also had complementary toiletries along with 4 towels (I did miss not having a face cloth though) and hair dryer.
Over all the room was perfect for a city break and the bed was comfortable too, the air-conditioning worked (and was welcome, as it was really hot in London during our stay).
Breakfast was included during our stay, there were numerous different cereals, breads and fruits to choose from, and there was also a good selection of hot food to choose from too. Over all I was really happy with the selection on offer for breakfast. We ate at the hotel once in the evening, (I had the Scampi and my partner had a curry), the food was very nice and reasonably priced too! (About £10 per dish), the carpet though in the dining area needs replacing, it’s filthy, and quite off-putting.
The hotel also has a promotion: 2-for-1 on cocktails from 6pm – 8pm every day, Wi-Fi is £5 per 24 hours, and if you charge it to your room, you can use up to 4 devices, I can’t comment on the speed as I didn’t’ avail of it.
The hotel is perfectly located and it’s just opposite Hyde Park, as the weather was nice we walked / strolled to a few sights over the long weekend: The Diana Memorial Fountain is about a 20 minute walk, Buckingham Palace is a nice 40 minute walk – all via Hyde Park, You can be in central London in about 20 minutes on the Tube (Westminster / London Eye).
Over all I enjoyed my stay here, and I’d certainly come back / recommend (just don’t be put off by the dining room / restaurant carpet)
*Tip: ‘The Swan’ pub around the corner from the hotel is the perfect spot for evening drinks / entertainment, and the food there is good too.

Room Tip: ‘The Swan’ pub around the corner from the hotel is the perfect spot for evening drinks / entertainme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlanWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was not disappointed by my selection online of this property. Our good sized room was locatd on the first floor with no steps. The room was nicely appointed including iron, ironing board, teapot and tea service, in room safe and hair dryer. The bathroom was large and clean as was the room.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful answering my endless questions. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, hot and constantly maintained. We easily walked to underground and bus stations feeling very safe doing so even after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the elevator if you want no steps. We never heard a sound from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My room was nice near Hyde Park but do not get it confused with a larger Hotel called The Lancaster. The hotel staff was very good but the breakfast was just so so. I would stay again if I were going to London.

Room Tip: I do not have a tip but my room was nice and the staff was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deacon4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and were extremely happy with our choice of accommodation. The service was faultless and very helpful and friendly. We ordered room service twice and the meals were delivered quickly and the food was delicious. We also had the breakfast each morning and there was plenty of variety and it was well organised. The location was perfect. Within walking distance to Hyde Park and the underground, which made it very easy to get around London. It was a nice quiet area and the hotel itself was very quiet. The rooms were not too small and they were very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London and will stay here again next time we visit London.

Room Tip: I chose the family room for myself and my daughter so that we would have plenty of room. The room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelamyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our stay in July 2014 was our 6th stay in this hotel. We selected it because it was provided good access to London sights with 4 bus routes and short strolls to three underground stations - Queensway, Lancaster Gate and Bayswater.
Rooms are of variable sizes but not too small, however there are steps to get to most rooms - some with up to 10 steps , some only 3.
Reception staff are very helpful, and when we asked for a room with no steps to it, we were given a room on the reception level with only 3 steps to it.
Breakfast is very good and is refreshed constantly. We like that you can order poached eggs freshly cooked.
Location of the hotel is one street back from Bayswater Road, so is quiet.
If you like walking, Hyde Park is just across Bayswater Road, Marble Arch is a brisk 15 minute walk, and a few more minutes and you're in Oxford Street with access to great shopping in Regent Street and the theater district.
The many restaurants in Queensway cater for reasonable meals, and it is a short stroll to Portabello Road.
If you are looking for slight;y more up-market dining go to Craven Road, where there are many small restaurants to chose from.
The hotel happily accepts your luggage for storage if you are venturing to the country and returning a few days or weeks later. For GBP1 per day per bag, we stored some items there for up to three weeks while we toured UK.
Free WiFi is not offered and the hotel's WiFi rates are high. We used free WiFi in the coffee shops in Queensway.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with fewer steps to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#236 of 1,067 in London
3,461 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#365 of 1,067 in London
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#289 of 1,067 in London
1,927 reviews
The Columbia
#525 of 1,067 in London
840 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#413 of 1,067 in London
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing