We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All design no substance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Suite West - Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Suite West - Hyde Park
Ranked #429 of 1,089 Hotels in London
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All design no substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for one night at La Suite West for our anniversary and it was a real disappointment.
The room (we were upgraded apparently to the Notting Hill suite which is supposed to be one of the top rooms) had not been restocked with tea/coffee/milk and the minibar was empty apart from 2 bottles of water.

The size of the suite was fine, given I was expecting a small space, and it was neat and tidy. I found it too dark, not very inviting and the bathroom in all grey marble was a bit depressing. The ladies "slippers" were a huge size and falling off my feet and I'm a very average size 5, so I would say they were more "man size". The bathroom floor was not heated as it stated, although that maybe because it's summer?

The worst part was we had requested breakfast in our room on Sunday morning (as it was our wedding anniversary) between 9.30-10am. We had completed the breakfast form clearly and hung it outside our room the night before. At 9.40am on Sun morning, we got a call from the restaurant querying the breakfasts, apparently they thought we wanted 3 cooked breakfasts which obviously didn't make sense as we had clearly marked which breakfast we wanted for guest 1 and guest 2 as indicated on the form. We then had just tea/juice and cold toast delivered around 10am, with no butter for the toast. When my husband said we still hadn't received our cooked breakfasts, the guy seemed surprised and rushed off to get them. Nothing arrived. We phoned room service and reception around 10.30 as nothing had arrived and we had received no courtesy call to explain why there was a delay, and no one answered the phone. We tried again and my husband told reception that we hadn't received our breakfasts and there was no apology etc. we finally received our breakfasts at close to 11am. They didn't replace the tea/coffee which had gone cold whilst we waited for our breakfast.

They refunded the cost of the breakfast, but that did not make up for ruining our morning on what we had wanted to be a relaxing start to our anniversary.

Overall, the service was very poor and we were disappointed with the experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SSI20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear SSI20142014,

Thank you for chosing to stay with us on such a special occasion and also for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I was sorry to learn that your expectations were not met this time, and would like to reassure you that I have taken on board your feedback and that the appropriate action has since been taken. I have also contacted you direct and sincerely hope this unfortunate and regrettable incident will not deter you from returning and visiting us again.
It is our aim to achieve a level of service which is beyond our guests’ expectations, and I am therefore grateful you have advised me of this valuable feedback.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    244
    106
    45
    34
See reviews for
66
300
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very contemporary and modern hotel with a nice vibe. The hotel overall is a bit 'dark' to add to the atmosphere but I was very impressed in the room, televisions come out of the end of the bed and the bath was huge, very deep and perfect for unwinding after a day of sight spotting.

Staff are decent enough and shown to the room whilst carrying bags and showed how everything worked.

Immediate surrounding area is okay, few hostels around and Bayswater station has a few ropey shops but don't have to venture far to see some very nice sights.

Overall as you would expect, quite a cool and modern hotel with good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Benos23,

Thank you for your review and for chosing to stay at La Suite West.

Good to know we met your expecations and that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed. It was badly designed, the floors where dirty, it was incredibly loud, across the street from a youth hostel where kids where drinking and the police called nightly. The manger was nice, but useless, the staff were friendly, but untrained, no matter what is written by management, please note that this was the worst hotel stay I ever had. Do you self a favor and stay someplace else. Any place else.

Room Tip: if you must stay here, try and stay away from the corner - 2nd floor to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank An0n323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear An0n323,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing to stay at La Suite West.
I was disappointed to learn that your expectations were not met and would like to reassure you this is not indicative of our high standards.

I have taken the time to check with my colleagues and we don't seem to have any information whatsoever in relation to your concerns; on this note, I would be grateful if you could contact me direct to discuss your experience in more detail, therefore enabling me to take the appropriate action. However, if time does not allow, I will understand.

I very much look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Francesco[at]lasuitehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having stayed in many a swanky West End hotel, we've returned to La Suite West as we loved our last stay here, and for the amazing food at RAW!

We also loved the tranquillity of the outside space.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonychristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear antonychristie,

You have made our day! Glad all was well and look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
236 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Third trip to London. Third hotel. Three's a charm. This hotel is good enough to reserve again in the near future without risking something inferior. Friendly staff. Free WiFi. Perfect location. One minute walk to many restaurants and convenience stores. The suite is very large by UK standards with comfortable bed, two TV's, two closets, two bathroom sinks, wet bar, and mini refrigerator with plenty of room for your "own stuff"!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalPete2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear GlobalPete2010,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

PS: Please do check our website or contact us direct next time you book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We're actually still at the hotel right now. We were going to wait until we got home but why wait, nothing's going to change. My wife got the recommendation to stay here from a colleague of hers, thinking his standards were high (he IS a native Londoner now working on Wall Street after all). We were put in a basement room (001). At first we thought, let's just make the best of it. Then comes the dirty stained floors, so we decided to put on the slippers, only they were disgusting as well (hopefully the discolorations come through). The room is tiny and you can't open the closet door all the way and be prepared to walk over your suitcase as you have no extra floor space. We have to put in the wireless internet password every 5 minutes due to spotty coverage. It's 12am right now and all we can hear are stomping feet and rolling of suitcases/bell boy carts?? from god knows where. I went to complain about the noise and was told by reception the room was extremely quiet. OK- so denial is their solution. This is the 5th and final hotel we've stayed at on our 2 week visit to Europe and it's easily the worst.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TheBs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear TheBs2011,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

I was disappointed to learn that your expecations were not met; nevertheless, I thought these were addressed as soon as your brought them to our attention during your stay. It is clear now that this is not the case and I would be grateful if you could contact me direct to discuss this in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
La Suite West
E: francesco[at]lasuitehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 12 20th&21st June, room small but well laid out with comfy bed, tea & coffee facilities (no milk) and a very good en suite and shower. There is also a fridge and mini bar where I made the mistake of eating a packet of crisps £5.00??, ok I should know better as most mini bars are a rip off and I did find later that prices are published in the room guide. My main complaint was noise, the air conditioning unit plus traffic and pedestrian noise through single glazed windows made sleep all but impossible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review La Suite West.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expecations; we make the point of serving milk on request as we want to deliver a product which is fresh at all times. There is a card in the room mentioning this and as result we can deliver a choice of fresh milk, almond and soya milk. I have of course taken note of your comment with regard to the prices of the minibar items and will bear this in mind at the next available opportunity.
With regard to the noise, this area of London is very vibrant and buzzy most of the times which makse it very special; having said, please do contact us direct next time you decide to stay with us as we will be only too happy to show you a couple of "quiter" rooms to choose from.

We hope to see you back soon!

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

La Suite West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#85 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suite West - Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West - Hyde Park

Property: La Suite West - Hyde Park
Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West - Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the simplicity and tranquillity of La Suite West Hotel. Here you'll find some of the most soothing and welcoming accommodation in the city. Perfectly positioned on a quiet tree lined street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, this boutique hotel is the minimalist and state of focus creation by famed British designer Anouska Hempel. Settle into a comfortable room that fosters a sense of serenity from the moment you step inside. Minimalist décor and the latest technology combine to create a vibe that's enticingly modern yet decidedly Zen. Free wireless Internet access and a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet which includes freshly made smoothies are just a few of the perks when you book direct. Grab an energizing workout at the well-equipped fitness centre and then unwind in our tranquil terrace. Outside crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel RAW restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for mock tails or afternoon tea. Discover the perfect balance of comfort, technology and style at la Suite West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Suite West - Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing