We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
261
335
154
65
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
335
154
65
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bayswater tube station hyde park vegan afternoon tea underfloor heating design hotel marble bathroom heated floors four poster bed notting hill central line rain shower kensington gardens the ground floor hotel is situated nice bathroom a lovely stay full english
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We spent three nights here - and that was probably enough. Don't get me wrong, there are some very strong plus points (great location near two tube stations, large comfy bed, marble en-suite with big bathtub, TV with more than the usual Freeview channels, including Sky Sports) but the attempts to be a design boutique hotel lead to too many frustrating impracticalities.

Our "Superior Double" room was actually quite small and the big bed took up most of the floor space. The bed was a modern take on a four-poster and the slatted full-height headboard (in black wood like everything else) blocked any access to the window blind, leading to a certain lack of privacy and full daylight from early morning - and the pillows were far too soft to give any comfortable support. There was no space to store luggage after unpacking, the positioning of the desk and chair was poorly lit and restricted any other movement around the room, the pop-up TV could only be viewed when lying on the bed and the carpet had the uncomfortable profile of corrugated sheet metal. Given the lack of space, the provision of a sink and fridge seemed strange as there were no cooking facilities. On the plus side, the air con worked well and there were bright bedside lights for late night reading.

The fully tiled en-suite was a reasonable size and the large bathtub had both a rain-shower and a hand held spray bar. The underfloor heating would have been a welcome feature if we could have found some means of controlling the temperature, which was often too hot for comfort. There was a lack of space for laying out toiletries and cosmetics, not helped by the metre-wide trough-like wash hand basin which was totally impractical, taking an age to reach any depth of water and never really draining fully due to the flat base.

We found the continental breakfast choice wide enough for our needs and never had any problem finding a seat in the small dining room. The two lifts seemed to work efficiently and we were able to cope with the generally dark ambiance. While we were aware of the rumble from passing tube trains, our first floor room was sufficiently insulated for them not to disturb our sleep (once we had dealt with the soft pillows and the early daylight!).

Our final major issue was the complete lack of wi-fi connectivity. Having sought assistance from the reception desk, we were told that "it is an Android problem", so beware that anything other than an iPhone is likely to have similar problems.

In summary, simply too many frustrations for us to be able to recommend, which is a pity given the great location and the reasonable (for London) prices.

Room tip: Rooms on the higher floors will be further from the passing tube trains
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear gvh67,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Hotel.

I’m sorry that you found the room small but glad that you were generally pleased with the amenities, ‘large comfy bed, marble en-suite with big bathtub, TV with more than the usual Freeview channels, including Sky Sports.’

I have taken note of your other comments, including those about the WiFi which I shall look into.

While we can’t take credit for our location we know how lucky we are being near to Bayswater and Queensway underground stations.

I hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,

James Jude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. However the room was also tiny and the black decor didn't help. There was no dedicated piece of furniture for the suitcase so we ended up opening it in the tiny hall at the entrance to the room which really restricted movement in the already small room. Worse, the few surfaces in existance were already taken up by things like a magazine rack and a huge ipod docking station.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Limor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Limor V

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel.

I was pleased to read your complimentary comments about the accommodation, ‘the room was clean and well equipped’ and those about the staff, who ‘were friendly,’ which are especially appreciated.

We know that we are lucky with our central location near Hyde Park, Oxford Street for shopping and of course the ease of access to the nearby underground system.

I hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,

James Jude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel was easy to find and in a great location if you're wanting to explore London.
Staff seemed friendly and attentive.
Hotel is decorated beautifully however, shows signs of wear. The tables and chairs in our room were all looking a bit scruffy and the carpet was clean but horrible...very uncomfortable to walk around in just socks.
The room was also very dark.
On the plus side the bathroom was lovely with a beautiful huge marble shower that I throughly enjoyed.
Breakfast was also great. Really enjoyed my vegetarian sausage, probably the best one I've had!
Overall a good visit.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Loulou0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Loulou0687

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel.

I’m glad you found that the ‘staff seemed friendly and attentive’ and the Hotel beautifully decorated, (in fact we have renovation plans in place for 2017 and are in the process of replacing carpets and soft furnishings.)

We know that we are lucky with our central location near Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, Oxford Street for shopping and of course the ease of access to the nearby underground system.

Kindest Regards,

James Jude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Make sure you know it's a Vegan & Raw Food hotel before you turn up! Unlike myself lol, but not a problem plenty of restaurants in the nearby Queensway to choose from.

If you struggle with your eyesight in the dark I wouldn't recommend you came here, it's main themes are low lighting and black decor, which I found slightly oppressive.

Comfortable bed and good standard ensuite facility.

Continental breakfast a bit limited.

Nice staff, good location opposite Bayswater tube, minutes to get to Kensington area for shopping / Harrods etc.

I won't rush back, not my cup of tea, nothing to complain about really, just a personal preference.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Suite_West, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Paul K

Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel and for your kind comment about the staff.

We know that we are lucky with our central location near Hyde Park, Oxford Street for shopping, a choice of nearby restaurants and shops and a location near to Bayswater and Queensway underground stations.

Kindest Regards,

James Jude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews