We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Ranked #293 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights in London and the DoubleTree by Hilton in London Hyde Park proved to be a very good choice.

It's in an excellent location in Bayswater Road across the road from Kensington Park.

The hotel occupies a corner plot and its entrance is in St Petersburgh Place. The restaurant fronts the Bayswater Road and I think at various times of the day it is open to the general public.

The hotel is also within walking distance (about 400 metres) from Queensway and Bayswater underground stations.

All staff that we came across were extremely helpful and courteous. When we arrived at Reception to check-in we were greeted with two warm cookies! Because rooms are not available on check-in day until 2.00 pm and we arrived at about 1.00pm we were able to leave our suitcases with the concierge and go for a walk in the park and eat our cookies.

Our hotel room had a good double bed, hanging space, desk with a coffee making machine on it as well as a kettle and separate tea & coffee facilities. A smart LCD TV was mounted on the wall by one side of the bed. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board were also available. There was also an efficient air conditioning unit and a safe.

The bathroom had modern fixtures & fittings and a splendid shower cubicle with good water pressure.

Breakfast lasted until 10.00 am and was plentiful. A good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, juices.... There were also hot dishes full of good quality sausages, back bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms. I noticed that one of the chefs would bring out a full dish of hot food immediately one became empty. Tea & coffee was served at the tables by waiting staff.

On our second night we returned to the hotel at about 1.45 am. My partner fancied a cup of tea but we unfortunately had used up all our teabags in our room. We mentioned this fact to the Reception staff and within 5 mins there was a knock on our door and a gentleman gave us a plate full of teabags, milk pots.... Excellent service!

On check-out days rooms need to be vacated by midday which I thought was very helpful.

All in all, a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that looks out towards Kensington Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Topcat19

It is great to see your review and your comments about helpful and courteous staff and excellent service provided; we all strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in every possible way.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the fellow travellers and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for a 5 night break in January 2014, and can honestly say it's the best hotel we have stayed in, in London ! Very smart, modern and comfortable, from the moment we checked into reception until we returned to check out, everything was outstanding. The room, overlooking Hyde Park was luxurious, spotlessly clean and had everything you could wish for at hand. Breakfast service was very efficient and friendly, the quality of the food fantastic. again, everything you could wish for. The location of the hotel is another bonus, just a very short walk from Queensway tube station. Mr Mackie, the hotel manager should be commended, for the hotel is just perfect, and lived up to all expectations. We hope to be returning very soon !

Room Tip: A room with a view, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalumB978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear CalumB978

It is great to read about your stay with us, we really are so happy to have exceeded your expectations and provided you everything you wished for!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I love this location, straight opposite Hyde park, great for a morning walk or fun or if you are travelling with Children, Helpfull and friendly staff. i pod chargers and nespresso machines in the room. cookie on arrival and fab food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Eileen S

Thank you for your review of DoubleTree Hyde Park, it is great to read you loved our location, our helpful and friendly staff and little mod cons in rooms.

Thank you also for nothing our signature cookie as well as fab food in our Urban Meadow restaurant, we do hope you will come back stay with us again very soon!

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We got a great price for two nights with breakfast and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Good size for a London hotel with an excellent bathroom.The hotel was very clean and all staff were courteous. Car parking was a bonus at only £25.00 for 24 hours, this was a secure underground car park owned by the hotel.
Very good position for Kensington and Notting Hill and only a two minute walk from Queensway tube.
Breakfast was OK, the tea was probably the worst I have ever tasted but the smile from the lady serving the nasty brown water somehow compensated!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Missfoodlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Missfoodlove1

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of DoubleTree Hyde Park. I am really pleased to read your expectations were exceeded and you thought our rooms were good size and with excellent bathrooms. Thank you also for noting team courtesy.

I do hope we will welcome you very soon, and with some excellent tea at breakfast too!

With kindest regards
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Beware there is a Hilton and a Doubletree by Hilton very close to each other in this area and taxi drivers can't tell them apart. Both my partner and I were dropped at the wrong hotel by different cabbies when going to the Doubletree. I enjoy staying at the Doubletree chain, but this has been my least favourite one in London so far. I'm not sure I would agree with the "superbly located" description posted on the hotel's website - it's actually quite a long way down the Bayswater Road at the extreme western end of Hyde Park - more Notting Hill Gate than west end! The staff however were delightful and the room perfectly pleasant. Unfortunately the hotel was undergoing some interior and exterior work when we stayed so reception was a little chaotic, but if you want to be in this part of London stay here - but be aware of the location before booking. This hotel always appears cheaper than its sister hotels in London on the Doubletree website, I think the location might be the explanation. We paid more in taxis than we saved in booking here when doing business in Mayfair.

Room Tip: check the location before booking - my fault that I didn't and as a consequence we were much fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear quin-i-bog

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I note from your review you have stayed last year, please let me assure you that apart from the final touches in the gym, all refurbishment was completed before Christmas 2013 and there is no work whatsoever going on that would not just be a regular upkeep any hotel carries out.

With regards to location, we are superbly located for Central, District and Circle lines, within minutes of three different tube stations, offering access to very many locations in West End or other way and equally, over half a dozen buses stop right outside the hotel. The hotel indeed is only few minutes’ walk from Notting Hill Gate tube station and Portobello Road, one of the main attractions in this part of London.

It is great to hear you have enjoyed the stay with us and we hope to welcome you back.

With kindest regards

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Freshly remodeled from a Ramada. Rooms were clean, modern, and decent sizes. I ate several of those hot chocolate chips cookies that the front desk served us on arrival. Yum.

Breakfast buffet was adequate/not bad/acceptable - but not awesome. Bacon/Scrambled eggs/breads/toast/yogurts/pastries/juices. About what you would expect in a doubletree vs. a full scale restaurant. Seemed expensive but all things in London are expensive.

Close to the Central Line (Queensway, Nottinghill Gate) and Circle Line ( Nottinghill Gate, Bayswater) Underground stations. Across the street from Kensington Gardens. Big Bus/The Original/Golden tours bus stop is right in front of the hotel. That's convenient.

Road bikes around Hyde Park and Kensington park. Fun, relaxing, beautiful. When you rent the public bikes from the racks - a little hint. You have to do two processes at the ticket kiosk. 1) Go through the menu that concludes with swiping your credit card and then it prints a receipt. 2) Then you have to go through the same process again, swipe your card, and it prints out the code to enter into the bike rack to release the bike from the rack.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear jcbrad

Thank you for your review of DoubleTree Hyde Park, we are so glad you have found us clean, modern and with good sized rooms and our signature cookies yummy!!

Indeed the hotel location is most convenient for many attractions and connections are good and I am glad to read you have also used the bikes. I have shared your comments with our chef to work on making breakfast awesome, we do offer breakfast vouchers in advance at discount for hotel guests or individual priced breakfast items in line with local cafes for guests who do not wish to have full buffet.

I do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel soon!
With kindest regards

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Well-located for the underground service into central London. Good range of restaurants/pubs on Queensway and Notting Hill Gate. Hotel of a very good standard, and friendly, efficient front desk. Room a bit small, but adequate for our needs on a 2 night stay. Excellent bathroom. Empty fridge is a nice touch. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but plenty of folk were having breakfast, and the displayed food looked delicious. Very much on a par with the Doubletree at London Victoria (equally as good)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank eyefordetail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear eyefordetail2

It is great to read that you have found us of a good standard with friendly and efficient front desk, thank you for taking the time to share your review with the fellow travellers.

We do have various sized rooms available, whilst the room category is specific to the bed size, there are different configurations of rooms and we do try to accommodate specific requests where possible.

I do hope we will welcome you back to DoubleTree Hyde Park very soon.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#368 of 1,081 in London
487 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#323 of 1,081 in London
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#316 of 1,081 in London
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing