We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Ranked #258 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really good hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A fresh, new, very tasteful interior of both the public areas and the room put you in the right mood. The reception, which seems to employ workers from every country of Europe, manages to be uniformly helpful and competent. The room was well designed and modern - the bathroom even has a heated mirror so it holds no steam from the shower. Located between two tube stations, and with a bus stop for several lines (including a hop-on bus!) right in front on Bayswater Road. Two remarks: the hotel, like pretty much any hotel these days, encourages the guest to use his linen more than one day at a time. However, the bathroom has no towel rack where the towels could have dried, so by default we had to leave the towel on the floor, in spite of everyone's willingness to "save the planet." Also, the restaurant was, again, beautifully designed, but for the abundance of hard surfaces, the noise during breakfast peak hour is very loud indeed. But these are minor points.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Frans R,

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review - thank you for the great feedback!

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel, our location and that you found our staff to be so helpful. Thank you also for your feedback on the linen and the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    891
    229
    63
    25
See reviews for
373
882
131
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, opposite Kensington Gardens & near tube stations (Queensway & Bayswater). Room's aren't massive, but not bad for London, and they are comfortable with everything you need. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RoBeesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear RoBeesley,

Thank you for your review - we are really delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location so much and will return to us in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Richard Mackie
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Loved our stay here. Reasonably priced. Great location easy to buses and tube. Just north of Kensington Palace. Would definitely use this hotel again in Central London. The only drawback was dinner in the hotel staff. The staff did not seem organized and food was just ok

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Steven Q,

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you found us to be good value and will stay with us again in the future.

Thank you also for your feedback around dinner which we will use to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Apart from the name (it's opposite Kensington Gdns, not Hyde Park) there's not much wrong with this hotel. In London you either pay a fortune for a room or get a matchbox with mould; this hotel is reasonable (for London) and the rooms are decent. The bathrooms are clean and modern, with room for someone who is not rail-thin to turn around. The beds are comfortable, and, if you get a room facing the rear, quite quiet. The breakfast isn't great, but there are a lot of restaurants nearby (try Santorini, the Greek restaurant). It's also convenient for the parks, Royal Albert Hall and Oxford St. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Take a room at the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Paul A,

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and will stay with us again.

Thank you also for your feedback about breakfast which we will continue to work on.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Really enjoyed our week here. The hotel is quiet with no street noise while being right off Windsor/Hyde Park and the staff very friendly. Upon arrival, they were so helpful as my sister had a stomach bug. The offer to call a doctor was so appreciated. And having our room ready for our early arrival a plus. The concierge had great suggestions and took care of some bookings for us. While I use to travel to London quite a bit, it's been awhile since I've been back. We really enjoyed this hotel and can see this being our "home" from now on in London. The restaurant was quite good, open 24 hours which is a plus. Airco in our room was also appreciated and the gym was well equipped. Our room was also well appointed with all the updates. Walks to Notting Hill or Queensway are quick for lots of restaurants. And being on the Central Line is a plus for the Tube. It really was a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you want total quiet. Rooms on floor 1/2 have a few steps to the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mblack61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear mblack61,

It is great to read how much you enjoyed your week with us. We really hope that your sister has made a full recovery and thank you for your comments about our helpful concierge team.

We would love to become your "home" when you visit London - please do contact me the next time you are planning a trip and I would be delighted to handle the booking personally.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 12 months. It is in a great location between Queensway & Notting Hill Gate Tub stations and opposite Kensington Palace Gardens. This is walking diastance to Portobello Rd, Harrods / Knightsbridge. You have the benefit of a central location whilst having the space of KP Gardens. The hotel has been renovated over the last couple of years & the rooms are beautifully appointed, with Nespresso coffee makers, kettles, room safes, flat screen tv & Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. The rooms are compact, but extremely well designed to maximise space & provide modern comforts. The showers are walk-in so you don't have the hazard of stepping into a bath for your morning shower. This is our pick for London, rather than a tatty old room elsewhere. There is also a self service laundrette nearby, this has a cafe next door, so doing laundry is not too much of a chore when you can enjoy a coffee over the newspaper while your clothes wash & dry. The laundrette also changes notes to coin. It cost us about 10 GBP to wash & dry 1 load of washing

Room Tip: Rooms are double glazed, so I don't think noise would be a problem in any room. Apparently abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear rachel3186,

It is great to read how much you enjoy the newly refurbished hotel, and that you have stayed twice with us in the last year.

We hope you will return again in the near future and you will continue to enjoy your experience with us - please do contact me the next time you make a booking.

Kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the DoubleTree Hyde Park for two nights in May, paying 125 GBP ($210, 153 Euro) for one night, and staying one night on Hilton HHonors points.

The positives for the hotel include the location at the northwest corner of Hyde Park. If the weather is good enough to be outside, it’s an amazing park – great for a walk, a picnic, a paddleboat ride, or just resting. Kensington Palace is a 10-minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is approximately 5 minutes’ walk to either the Bayswater, Queensway, or Notting Hill Lane Underground stations (Circle, District, and Central Lines). The rooms are modern, up-to-date, reasonably sized, and also with reasonably-sized bathrooms (reasonable size for Europe – Americans would probably consider them on the small side). We appreciated the Nespresso machine in the room. The fitness center is adequate, with treadmills, elliptical trainers, stationary bikes, dumbbells, and a few weight machines. The restaurant is convenient and with good quality food.

The list of negatives is fairly short. First, we were able to hear other guests next door. The rooms aren’t as quiet as they could be. Second, we had to have room key cards re-made midway through our stay. We knew that since we had booked one night with points and were paying for one night, we would need to point this out. We mentioned it when we checked in, we mentioned it at the desk after our first night, and both times we were assured that our keys would continue to work. They didn’t. It was a minor annoyance, but one we tried to help them prevent and they couldn’t. Third, at the restaurant, during peak times (for instance at 8:30am on Saturday), the staff were overwhelmed. Diners were pouring their own juice, water, and coffee. My wife’s yogurt and granola (a pretty simple order) took 20 minutes to appear and the other morning, the omelet took 25 minutes to appear. The staff are polite and helpful – but they can’t adequately serve the guests at peak times.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and found the hotel to be a reasonable location for exploring London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear drjandthemissus,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review.

I was pleased that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel, in particular our location , our rooms and our Urban Meadow restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast which we will use in our efforts to continuously improve our service.

I hope that we can welcome you back and exceed your expectations on your next visit - please do contact me the next time you are travelling to London.

With kind regards,

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#369 of 1,069 in London
351 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#359 of 1,069 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#294 of 1,069 in London
1,952 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#365 of 1,069 in London
174 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#310 of 1,069 in London
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing