We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is great but hotel was just kind of average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Ranked #244 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location is great but hotel was just kind of average”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in a fabulous location - easy walking distance to three tube stations and right on a major bus line that goes to Picadilly Circus, Selfridges and Oxford Circus. Our room faced on the side street - good view and very quiet. Our stay included breakfast which was very good, with a very cordial restaurant manager who greeted us and made us feel welcome.

One major downside - the friendly manager at breakfast was the only friendly staff we encountered. The front desk staff was perfunctory at best. Also, the way the front desk is configured, no one observed guests coming in and out - could this be a security issue? We did have one minor maintenance issue – the sink stopper – that was resolved very promptly, but the gentlemen who fixed the problem was also not terribly friendly.

The internet was adequate, but you need a code to sign in each day and are limited to 2 devices - need new codes from the front desk and they seemed reluctant to hand out enough for our stay.

The room was very small - more like a room on a cruise ship than a hotel room - but storage was good. They have renovated recently and the room looked new and fresh. The bathroom was very small and we needed to maneuver around the door to get to the toilet - not a problem for us, but may be an issue for anyone who is mobility impaired (note - not a handicapped accessible room). The bathroom only had a shower, no tub – fine for us, but some may prefer to have the tub available.

Overall we would stay there again but mostly for the location - the hotel experience was really kind of average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Cliff J,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our newly refurbished property, and particularly our location, although disappointed that our service did not enhance your experience -we will continue to work on this area using your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    873
    217
    59
    22
See reviews for
358
852
128
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a fantastic hotel, i can't recommend it enough

Room was spotless, felt brand new, decor was elegant, modern and understated, the way i like it, bathroom very clean, shower was great, bed super comfy with a lovely big window, A/C worked a treat (not something to take for granted in london hotels),

Room amenities are also great

You get:

- a fridge (super useful to put groceries in) with free mineral water bottle refreshed every day!.
- A fancy coffee machine
- A UNIVERSAL electrical socket (Nice touch!) to recharge non uk devices
- An i phone / i pod dock with radio and alarm, cool or what?
- Hair-dryer & ironing board
- Lots of lovely toiletries (Shower gel, shampoo, etc...)


Location is PERFECT.

Queensway tube station is 1 minute walk, bayswater and Notting hill stations (all busy shopping areas, whatever you might need to buy is around the corner) are 5 minutes walk away, you are in central London, Oxford street is 2 stops away from Queensway.

Kensington gardens -> Hyde park are just across the hotel, take a 30 minute walk all the way to Oxford street in the stunning scenery, soak in the magnificence of London city.

What else?

- WI-FI is free (you get a voucher for every day when you check in), no ridicules 30 minutes
limit, (seriously, i can't believe that some hotels still do that)

- Luggage storage, very important for a lot of people (late night flights, you know what ii mean)

- Hotel staff very friendly and professional, i needed something and they were super useful

It's an awesome feeling to know that you have a great hotel to return to after a busy and tiring day, it can make or break a vacation, doubletree hyde park delivers on all fronts.

Superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovb589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Dov B,

Thank you for your lovely review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel and all the little touches that add to the quality of our rooms, such as our Nespresso machines.

We are fortunate with our location and I am pleased you were able to enjoy that as well as our free Wi-Fi!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My family of five stayed at the hotel in the later part of May. We needed two rooms and were given adjoining ones that had a view towards Hyde Park. The rooms were typical European small but were very well appointed. The morning breakfast buffet was tasty and filling. The staff were very helpful and helped to make our stay excellent. We felt totally safe in the neighborhood and wandered out each evening to eat at the local restaurants. There are two Underground stops that we always used - Queensway (the closest) and Bayswater (just down the street from Queensway). From there, we journeyed out all across London. Take the time to walk through Hyde Park. It's just across the street and is a gorgeous way to spend part of your day.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 & 403 are adjoining rooms with king and twin beds respectively. They have park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Gone2TheBeachP,

Thank your for your lovely review of the hotel. It is great to hear that the hotel worked so well for your family stay and you took full advantage of our great location opposite Hyde Park.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms were a little small but ran & comfortable. Enjoyed the warm tasty chocolate chip cookie on arrival & in the evening when they had extras. 5 minute walk to kensington palace, orangery & park &10
minutes from Hyde park. Two tube stations right there & another only 10 minutes away. Hotel staff very accommodating. Concierge actually went out around the corner to Main Street to flag down a cab for us. They were so helpful getting us oriented on arrival. We also had cappachino every evening & light breakfast every morning. We did not have buffets. Food was reasonable & tasty

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Joanie3638,

Thank you for your review - I am so pleased our Concierge team looked after you so well and you enjoyed the location of the hotel so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived early morning after an overnight flight so our room was not immediately available. We went into the restaurant to have breakfast and were ignored. We were eventually served but did not go back. Fortunately our hotel room was clean, quiet and a reasonable size. The location in excellent with both busses and underground close by. The staff was helpful and courteous. We would happily return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rcfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear rcfet,

Thank you for your review - I am pleased to read that despite an unfortunate start to your stay that overall you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel , its location and our team.

We will certainly share your feedback with the breakfast team at our next quality assurance meeting.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This Hotel has good location next to Hyde Park and Queensway Tubestation. Helpful personnel and breakfast ok. Rooms a little bit small - but that´s the problem in London. Nice bar and terrace downstairs. Nearest restaurants at Queensway area - just few minutes walk back to centre. Bella Italia nice restaurant with polite stuff and fast service - food average ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toolonparoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Toolonparoni100,

Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our team to be helpful. It was also nice to read your comments about our destination restaurant Urban Meadow and its lovely terrace on Bayswater Road.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on vacation. Good location, clean, and overall good experience. If you can get the breakfast for free, it's a great start for your day and you won't be hungry until early afternoon! Several bus tours stop right outside the hotel and the tube stops are near, but by no means next door. May stay here again, but also may branch out to a different location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockies411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMackie-GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear rockies411,

Thank you for your review - great to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

We would love for you to return the next time you come to London - please do contact me directly and I would be delighted to be of assistance.

Kind regards

Richard Mackie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#383 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#295 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#342 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#373 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing