We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingsway Hall Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Ranked #244 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here 3 years ago for a momentous birthday and came back this weekend for another birthday stay. The receptionist gave us a great room on the 7th floor, round the back of the hotel as there is nightclub next door in full swing at the weekend. The beds were super comfy for me and the bathroom has all you need. There is a kettle etc with all the teas and coffees that you need also.
There is a good flat screen TV with the main channels available...I did not fully check how many. Breakfast is good and the hot buffet is actually hot, not tepid as in many hotels.
All staff were very attentive.
We had dinner close in a restaurant near Covent Garden by then a river cruise with high tea the following day. All within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Connaught runs a nightclub next door so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room round t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Mjw44,

Your review made our day!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distnat future.

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,300)
There are newer reviews for Kingsway Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic position 5min walk into covent garden 15min walk into London.This hotel is very clean, all staff are very friendly,The bar offers lovely cocktails.We had a room service breakfast excellent value for money,fresh fruit,cooked breakfast,cereals,pastries,toast.fresh orange juice and tea or coffee.The room also has tea and coffee facilities,ironing board iron and trouser press.The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was the hairdryer in the bathroom is poor.Ladies remember to pack a hairdryer! And that is my only fault.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwindonJetblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear SwindonJetblack,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
You review was a pleasure to read and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my team.
We have taken not of the positioning of the haid dryer and we shall bear this in mind when the time comes and the rooms will need an uplift.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights 19 and 20 October, very impressive hotel inside and out. It was spoilt by not having biscuits, green tea or Molton Brown products in the bedroom as mentioned in other reviews. Plus on arrival which was a Friday the receptionist gave us a voucher for a 50% off a meal in the restaurant, I asked if it still applied because it was Friday and night we were staying and she was insistent that it was valid for our stay and she signed the back of the voucher for us so the restaurant would accept it. So on the Friday night we took advantage, the Maitre d said I couldn't use it because it was a Friday night so it isn't valid, I told him that the receptionist had signed the back to authorise use of it on that evening, he took it away, was very grumpy and totally ignored us afterwards, he couldn't even bring himself to say good night to us as we left the restaurant as he stood at the door! That was a big shame because everyone else were lovely, he should learn to be more professional.

Room Tip: Our room which was on the front was very noisy on the Friday night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacq54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Jacq54,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.co.uk.
We were delighted to learn that most of your expectations were met; However, I was disppointed to learn that the issue related to the restaurant voucher was not dealt with appropriately. Please allow me to reassure you that this has since been addressed with all those concerned.
With regard to the amenitites, Molton Brown is only available in the Executive and Deluxe rooms, and bisquits and special teas can be ordered, at a charge, via our Room Service.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and in the meantime, if we may assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stay in London fairly often on business and usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. I usually select the hotel that is most convenient to my meeting or seminar to save on travelling time. To that end, I selected this hotel as my seminar was on Kingsway.
The price was as I would have expected for this quality/location (over £200 per night) however I was disappointed with the things I would have expected as standard like, slippers and dressing gown in the room (there was none), only 2 sachets of coffee and four tea bags with a kettle and 4 small pots of milk (no hot chocolate, water, biscuits, herbal tea etc), complimentary bathroom products (only a shampoo and body wash, no moisturisers or body crèmes etc - and they were very poor quality which seriously stung my eyes) and there was no offer of a paper in the morning either.
Then we come onto what they charge extra for; in the restaurant I was charged £2.50 for a small bottle of water (which I was asked if I wanted 4 times by the waiter before I accepted - when I got the bill I realised why they were so keen to push the water!!), I was offered a glass of wine but no wine list (when I asked what wines were on offer I was asked if I would like shiraz – again no offer of a wine list), to use the wireless internet in the hotel is an extra £15 a day.
Having said all that the food in the restaurant was very good, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very nice and the location was excellent
Would I use this hotel again - probably as it suited my purpose - but I would be more careful about accepting the offer of water in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRodgerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear TheRodgerClan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.co.uk.
We were delighted to learn that most of your expectations were met, and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments and the contructive feedback are passed onto all those concerned.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and in the meantime, if we may assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed at the hotel as part of a conference. It is in a good location in Covent Garden very close to the theaters and convenient tube stops and walking distance to the British Museum amongst many other sights. You can get the hotel breakfast for 10Ls which is probably a decent price for that neighborhood. It has a number of different food options but they didn't change in the 4 days I was there. The best aspect of the hotel was the excellent service, from before check-in through the whole time I was there. After making a request via email the hotel was able to provide me with an early check-in, which really made the trip start off well and helped combat jet lag. The front desk provided a great deal of good information about London whenever I asked. I had a nice room w/ a very comfortable king size bed. The only thing was over the weekend nights the outside was pretty loud, but not too much to cause me to lose sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back as the ones on the front street were a bit loud at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelustNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear TravelustNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
You review was a pleasure to read and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Service at this hotel was very good, staff were very helpful and friendly. The bedroom we had was a standard, nice big, comfortable bed, and good shower facilities, however the room was a little smaller than we had been expecting, and the decor could do with updating.
The best thing about this hotel was the location, just a 2 minute walk from Holborn tube. Good also for theatreland and covent garden market.

Room Tip: Agree with the other reviews, get a room facing away from the street, as it is much quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgal8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Phali,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.co.uk.
We were delighted to learn that most of your expectations were met, and that you found the location to be very convenient.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Have stayed in this hotel twice once for an anniversary the next for a birthday both times excellent, staff friendly and helpful. As well as being in a great location close to covent garden and some really good shops & with Starbucks just on the corner all this along with it being within walking distance of theatres. If you are going to do some sightseeing catch the rv1 bus from covent garden for £2.30 you can see the sights such as tower bridge cheaper than catching the tour bus at nearly £27.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Jules F,

Thank you for the lovely review!

Delighted to learn that all your expectations were met. Your comments were a pleasure to read and I have personally shared them with myteam...let's hope we can welcome you back soon!

In the meantime, if we mayassist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#102 of 1,072 in London
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,072 in London
1,613 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#226 of 1,072 in London
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hall Hotel

Address: Covent Garden 66 Great Queen Street, London WC2B 5BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £143 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway Hall Hotel is a centrally located 170 bedroom 4 star deluxe hotel in Covent Garden and Holborn. Spacious bedrooms and luxury suites are equipped with everything you need to relax. All bathrooms have a bath tub and shower, with fluffy towels and luxury toiletries. There are 10 air conditioned meeting rooms with a professional support team and private dining facilities with excellent food and service, perfect for dinners, wedding receptions and corporate events. The glass walled Harlequin restaurant starts your day with a superb breakfast selection and the dinner menu features high quality seasonal British dishes in addition to an elegant afternoon tea every day of the week. The lounge bar serves drinks, cocktails and Italian coffee's and is ideal for business meetings, lunch or a pre/post theatre night cap. The hotel has a powerful FREE WiFi service throughout, a business centre and a fitness studio with spa, gym and steam rooms. Our professional and friendly staff are here to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay in one of the best locations in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsway Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hall London
Hotel Kingsway Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing