We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Ranked #250 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, Kent.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I booked this hotel on the web as a 'Secret Hotel'. I was very happy to see that I had got the Kingsway. My wife and I were going to town to see Jersey Boys, and The Kingsway is ideally located for Theatreland (about 15 minutes gentle walk), with many good pubs and restaurants on the way. We were greeted in the hotel by Jessica on reception, who was very pleasant and friendly. As our original room was under maintenance, we were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe double. The room was delightful, very nicely decorated, clean, with a huge comfortable bed. The bed linen was crisp The bathroom was immaculate. We slept until almost 0900 (unheard of). Did not have food in the hotel, but if it's as good as the rest of the hotel......I would definitely stay here again and would recommend The Kingsway all day long.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Smalltree

What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at The Kingsway Hall Hotel.

I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay and I will pass your feedback to Jessica and the team personally. We hope you come back for another one soon.

Kind regards,
Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    1,138
    342
    123
    88
See reviews for
512
1,360
92
495
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Superb value hotel off Drury Lane on the edge of Covent Garden district.
Soho is on the doorstep and all the West End theatres.
"Tube" station and main route 'bus stops are conveniently close to walk.

Accommodation:
Immaculately clean room.
Very professional and friendly people work here.
Most impressed by the splendid doorman's welcome and then by individuals at the reception desk.

Quietly situated room with only an adjacent property wall window view, but, joyfully, completely devoid of London street noise.
Furnished also with 2 armchairs and a coffee table. Desktop/TV table.
Very comfortable mattress and bedding.

Bathroom has guest toiletries, very good towelling and an overhead shower over a proper bath!
Real glass tumblers too.

Our adverse comments:-
-there were no chocolate drink sachets and one biscuit next to the kettle.
-the TV has very few of the many available Freeview UK channels.

Kingsway Hall Hotel costs less, even with its 4 star rating, has so much better service, an excellent in-house restaurant and excellent rooms compared with the basic, and often, more expensive, chain box-room "budget" places.

Ideally serves as an ideal location for couples/singles and tourists in addition to its larger facilities.

Thoroughly recommended. Loved it. Thanks to staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear HodderHobbit

Thank you for your excellent review of Kingsway Hall and all it has to offer in the way of location, excellent service and well appointed rooms.

I am pleased to learn you had such a wonderful experience and The TV channel issue has being addressed but I hope that you will consider a return visit ion the future

Kind regards,
Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent location close to Covent Garden, Soho and Piccadilly Square. Lots of restaurants and theatres nearby and the tube station is just around 100 metres away, from where you get to Buckingham Palace, Knightsbridge (Harrods) and other places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanymara86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Lannymara86,

Thank you very much for staying and enjoying your time at Kingsway Hall. Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed at the Kingsway Hall a couple of years ago and this is the first time we had been back and it had improved greatly. We had a a lovely stay all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for getting around London. The quality of the breakfast was good and the accommodation was very clean, the decor in the room was fresh. We didn't have the afternoon tea that was on offer but the quality looked very good. All of the meals looked to be good value. I would definitely use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guthrie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guthrie2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
You review was a pleasure to read and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I go to London at least twice a year and always end up trying a new place to find that perfect place for me. The Kingsway has many of these attributes, it is central, has friendly, international staff and clean, well-appointed rooms. It helps of course if you are ready to spend a bit more and get a more expensive room. So far I have stayed twice at the Kingsway, last in January 2014 and I am thinking of going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear OliverJAvert,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad to read that your expectations were met, and I will personally ensure that your great review is shared will all my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct

Kind regards,
Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very much enjoyed afternoon tea last Saturday at the Kingsway Hall Hotel. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. A variety of finger sandwiches, 2 types of scones with jam and cream and assorted tasty little cakes. Attentive, polite staff were on hand to offer extra pots of tea and more scones or cakes. For more sandwiches there was a charge of £4.95
Ideal visit pre theatre. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Nins17,

I thank for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Kingsway Hall Hotel. It is my pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea experience especially the service and also the food. I will share your kind comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the capital.

Kind regards,
Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I arranged and booked for 12 people to have afternoon tea as part of a hens do in March. Booking was easy, and the fact that there was vegetarian and gluten-free options was just an added bonus. On the evening before our booking, I went with a friend to the restaurant where I gave the manager some confetti and balloons for our table in preparation for the following day. Well on the day, the end result it looked beautiful, I was so impressed. In regards to the afternoon tea itself, it was fine, but one or two patrons mentioned that the bread on the sandwiches was a bit dry/stale, and the service was a tad slow at times, but it was quite nice that it was non-intrusive as well as we were probably quite a rowdy bunch, but were given the space to enjoy ourselves. Special thanks to Franco (duty manager) you decorated and managed the area beautifully for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotting_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear globetrotting_gal

Thank you for discovering and clearly enjoying the afternoon tea at Kingsway Hall hotel. My pastry chef will be very happy to read your kind words as well as the restaurant team who looked after you. The whole experience is designed to be relaxing as you experienced first hand.

Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#198 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#390 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hall Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hall Hotel
Address: 66 Great Queen Street, Covent Garden, London WC2B 5BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
#187 Luxury Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway Hall Hotel is a centrally located 170 bedroom 4 star deluxe hotel in Covent Garden and Holborn. Spacious bedrooms and luxury suites are equipped with everything you need to relax. All bathrooms have a bath tub and shower, with fluffy towels and luxury toiletries. There are 10 air conditioned meeting rooms with a professional support team and private dining facilities with excellent food and service, perfect for dinners, wedding receptions and corporate events. The glass walled Harlequin restaurant starts your day with a superb breakfast selection and the dinner menu features high quality seasonal British dishes in addition to an elegant afternoon tea every day of the week. The lounge bar serves drinks, cocktails and Italian coffee's and is ideal for business meetings, lunch or a pre/post theatre night cap. The hotel has a powerful FREE WiFi service throughout, a business centre and a fitness studio with spa, gym and steam rooms. Our professional and friendly staff are here to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay in one of the best locations in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsway Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hall London
Hotel Kingsway Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing