We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Paddington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Ranked #480 of 1,068 Hotels in London
caribbean
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Close to Paddington”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was looking for an alternative to the $433 per night Paddington Hilton, which is so convenient coming from Heathrow, especially with a flight the next morning, but so overpriced. At about $100 per night cheaper, and right across the street (next door), the Mercure fits the bill. Rooms are much smaller but, unlike the Hilton Paddington, there is no charge for Wi-Fi in the room (and it worked good). Small bathroom but a great shower. HDTV but not a big selection for channels. I had a room on the first floor overlooking busy Praed Street and it was very quiet. Everything from fast food to restaurants to pubs within easy walking distance. The hotel also had complimentary breakfast at a Garfunkels restaurant, literally six steps from the front desk (full breakfast). Like all hotels in big cities, it is over-priced for the value, but it is clean, comfortable, and convenient to Paddington Station/Heathrow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you found our rooms very quiet, clean, comfortable, and convenient.
We do look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to be in London.

Kind regards

Your team at The Mercure Paddington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    630
    310
    107
    77
See reviews for
209
440
222
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I chose this hotel because I could earn mileage points and because of its location, right next to Paddington station, which was perfect for me (going to/from the airport and Oxford, and being close to a number of Tube lines).

The room is the smallest hotel room I've ever been in (in this sense, I feel it was a bit overpriced), but everything worked very well (bathroom, cleaning and so on). I must add that the hotel staff was very nice, and they kept (at no charge) packages I had ordered to be delivered at the hotel before my arrival (some of them quite big).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcio A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review the Team and I are delighted that you experience good service. And we apologise that you found our room smaller than expected. But we do hope due to our location and service provided you would consider using us again in the future. And we do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel
Your team at the Mercure London Paddington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have stayed here and reviewed this hotel before, but it's been a couple of years so I thought I'd post a new review. When I first walked into my room I was worried that my 2 suitcases and I couldn't all fit into the tiny single-bed room at the same time, but I made it work just fine. For all that the room was barely big enough to contain the bed, myself and my cases, it was modern, clean as a pin, and had a very nice, modern, clean bathroom. Even a nice terry robe in the closet! I arrived after midnight, having come in on a flight from Chicago into Heathrow, but found no lack of helpful staff to welcome and assist me. Really, I can't say enough nice things about both the night and day staff--they were courteous, professional, and obviously concerned for my well-being and comfort. Being just on the corner at Paddington, this hotel is convenience at its best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heart_in_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. We do apologise that you found our room smaller than expected. But we were glad to read your comment about our modern clean room and bathroom. Our entire were pleased to read your comments about them. And we do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London.
Your team at the Mercure London Paddington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great place to stay so easy to catch transport tube or buses. Staff were very helpful when we arrived the first time in August about 7.30am our room was ready & again in September we stayed for 8 days after traveling around Europe. Staff let as have late check out as flight wasn't till 6pm

Room Tip: King bed room large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you so much for your Great comments on our hotel. The team and I are delighted to read that you had a great time with us and we do very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Your Team at the Mercure London Paddington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late October, room was small, but that's standard for London hotels, room was very clean, staff were great and location was very central to everything. Especially Paddington station which gives you access to stansted and Heathrow airports. Great hotel for the money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattrx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experiences at our hotel. We do apologise that you found our room smaller than expected. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience in our hotel. We were pleased to read your good comment about our staff. And we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Your Team at the Mercure London Paddington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times when in London on business. The reception area has always been welcoming and I have never had to wait for than a few minutes to be checked in. On two occasions the room that I booked was upgraded free of charge as they had superior rooms available which was a nice surprise. I chose to have breakfast in the restaurant next door each time, and there is a large choice of continental and cooked english breakfast items to choose from on the menu. The rooms are light, airy and contemporary and have always been very clean. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: check with the reception desk as to whether you can be upgraded for no extra charge on the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Liz
Thank you for your fantastic review on our hotel and we were so pleased to read everything was perfect for you and you will recommend us in the future.
We do hope you consider using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great location for getting back to LHR....Excellent rooms...and attentive staff. I have not stayed at this location before, but it will be on the top of my list for my next visit to London and the Paddington area!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank standard09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on our hotel and we were pleased to read you enjoyed our location location.
We do hope you consider using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#395 of 1,068 in London
3,820 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,068 in London
927 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Paddington Hotel

Property: Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Address: 144 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Paddington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Paddington is perfectly situated for anyone visiting London for business or pleasure. Only being a few strides from the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station and 3 London Underground lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Crown Hotel Paddington
Quality Crown London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing